A full-strength Pakistan squad named for another 'Tamasha' match in Saudi Arabia

Strong Pakistan squad for exhibition matches

Cricinfo staff

May 23, 2006

Inzamam-ul Haq, Pakistan captain, will lead a Test-strength side against an Asian XI for two exhibition matches in Saudi Arabia in an effort to promote the game in the region. The matches are scheduled for May 25 and 26.

The matches will be played at the Al-Ahli stadium in Jeddah on artificial turf, and officials expect both to be fully sold out. Supported by the Saudi Cricket Centre, formed by expatriates from Pakistan and India, it is hoped that the event will convince the government and locals that interest in the sport is growing in the region.

Younis Khan, Mohammad Yousuf, Imran Farhat, Abdul Razzaq and Mohammad Sami are all set to play for Pakistan, whose side will essentially be their Test XI.

Four Sri Lankans and four Bangladeshis join five Indians to form the Asian XI, which will be captained by VVS Laxman. The team also includes Ajay Jadeja, the former India batsman, who has served a five-year ban imposed for match fixing in 2000.

** Pakistan XI:** Inzamam-ul Haq (capt), Imran Farhat, Salman Butt, Younis Khan, Mohammad Yousuf, Abdul Razzaq, Kamran Akmal (wk), Arshad Khan, Mohammad Sami, Umar Gul, Danish Kaneria

** Asian XI:** VVS Laxman (capt), Gautum Gambhir, Ajay Jadeja, Shahadat Hossain, Venkatapathy Raju, Wasim Jaffer, Shahriar Nafees, Roshan Mahanama, Romesh Kaluwitharana (wk), Kumar Dharmasena, Dilhara Fernando, Mohammad Rafique, Aftab Ahmed

CricInfo

Yes…“rotation policy” and “player burnout” surely must’ve been considered in this equation, no? What about giving that no-good Faisal Iqbal a chance, Inzamam? Is Arshad Khan that important to the team that we have sacrificed quality over useless trash?

Re: A full-strength Pakistan squad named for another 'Tamasha' match in Saudi Arabia

I hate exhibition matches.

Re: A full-strength Pakistan squad named for another ‘Tamasha’ match in Saudi Arabia

Inzi said that the prime purpose of participating in the series is to perform Umrah.

Re: A full-strength Pakistan squad named for another 'Tamasha' match in Saudi Arabia

I wonder how much money they will be paid for their apperance and still they want more money?

Why is that we see Pakistanis and Indians in these types of games? Why don't the likes of Austrlians, English play such useless games.

Good thing they have decided to carry Taaya Arshad's luggage alongwith the bags of the entire set of squad. Poor guy doesn't get to go anywhere, only apart from first-class round-the-globe world tours every other week on company's expense. I figure after a few hours worth of washing away his sins and cleaning away that hideous pack of hair which is now completely hidden inside of his brain cells, he has now a greater chance of coming back in the team for the England tour with a BANG!

Re: A full-strength Pakistan squad named for another ‘Tamasha’ match in Saudi Arabia

“The matches will be played at the Al-Ahli stadium in Jeddah on artificial turf…”

Al-Ahli is local soccer club of Jeddah, so match is being played at soccer stadium.

I remember last year, Pakistan was supposed to play Lashings in Riyadh and Jeddah. Pakistan arrived late, due to visa problems but Lashings never came as they couldnt get the visas at all. People bought the tickets, I don’t know if the organizers returned the money. I heard that Pakistani team didn’t have a place to stay, so Pakistani consulate in Jeddah made arrangements.

:smack: :o :grumpy::mad:

Is that a good idea to play such a game before the start of important series when you can risk a injury to a player?

If you cant do it, your money can :)

Exactly the first thought that crossed my mind after hearing about the artificial truff. Man I was hoping NOT to see Taya Arshad’s name once again :naraz:

hmmmmmmmmmm,.....................i no Pakistan are gonna lose,......................but i do have faith in them,.....its just i am getting a dejavu

whose showing it

It's hard to believe that they are playing in Saudi Arabia in the desert heat.

I can't recall ever a Sharjah Cup game being held late in April or May. On top of it, I'm not sure how it's going to help the Pak team for Eng tour. Anyhow, goodluck to the Pak team.

Umer

Umrah makrooh ho gaya

It's like 45-50 degrees centigrate in Saudi Arabia this time of the year. Now that's what I call player burn out. Oh well, as long as Inzi's chums get a few more bucks.

I think Arshad Khan must be one of Inzi's favourite cricketers.

Array bhai, let the poor guy make some money thru these "exhibition" matches. As long as he does not play in the real tests and one days i am ok with it.
Also i was thinking the guy must not be that bad. After all he has a pretty good economy rate and he has played against professional teams. What i think he lacks is personality. He just does not come accross as an athlete. Looks more like a mid level manager of a local bank of Pakistan. I believe that is where he loses his fan following :-)

as per Inzi, is tour ka maqsad SA main cricket ko popular kerna hai :smack: :slight_smile:

Hmmmm who is to play Cricket there … i mean which part of SA population will play cricket … i can hardly imagine the Arabs playing Cricket … and teh sub-continental folks r too busy with their respective works

so who the heck is the target audience for whom Inzi is talking about making the game popular

I am boycotting this match.