I was given a file to call up this lad who had been involved in an accident and get some details of him. I tried his mobile, left a message and as per routine i called the second number he had provided. His mum picked up and she had broken english so when she was like Sumaira? Sumaira who…i thought i’d go for urdu ( i knew from the guys name and auntys lehja she was desi ) and i explained to her that Aunty i need to get some details so we can claim commpensation in relation to an accident. The lady was panicky but as best as i could i reassured her and i thought all her worry was cute. Bless me.
Today my manager came over and said the lady had collapsed - her son had been on the phone saying i was unprofessional for telling his mum coz he hadn’t wanted her to know.. My manager and all the other senior staff were of the opinion that had he not wanted his mum to know then why give her number on the form- which was quite consoling for me but not enough.
Complaints give you such a gutted feeling no? I’m taking it in my stride and taking extra care to avoid mentioning the reason for the call but some people demand to know. Uff i know what you guys mean with job stress, the jungle etc now..
I couldn’t but honestly i thought Aunty jee might have appreciated that i took it upon my self to communicate in urdu and that too with such politeness, courtesy and sweetness. I thought she owuld have been well impressed and would have told Ibrahim that the kuri from the wakeel daftar was so sweet - apni zuban wich gal kithay si…but god forbid meri koi tareef karay
i think there is something to say for poor old Ibry. If he wasn't at home, then perhaps u just shud have left it there. the reason he gave the number might have been that it was a shared number...so coincidentally his mum picked up
Disco Duck ji, I kind agree with Nescio. If you were unable to get Mr. Ibrahim on the phone, you should have just left a short message with dude's mother, for privacy reasons...
I agree with Nescio. Perhaps you should have just left a message for Ibrahim to give you a call back and left it at that. Oh well … mistakes happen! I have screwed up a few times at the office as well. Everyone occassionally messes up so don’t worry about it. At the end of the day, it’s experience.
well being a professional you are, you should never share any information with anyone except the person for whom it is intended. these things should be taught to people working in professional environments.
Disco, you are not expected to know everything when starting with a firm. We all make mistakes and now you will know what not to do next time.
I made the mistake of telling a coworker my salary at my new job I have, and now he is jealous that I make more than he does, although his job is a lot easier and stress free than mine. Sooo, thanks to me, he is going to have a chat with his boss about a raise, and they are already thinking to lower his pay for other reasons. He might just quit, for me opening my mouth about my salary (athough this isnt really the reason). he saw my check so he probably woulda figured it out. I take it as a mistake, and have realized I should not be so open next time. Hota hai. You live you learn. Dun feel so bad. smile
Nes, Mehnaz, Zain - in restrospect i do feel a bit of a goof for telling her now. And funny thing is i have done that to 20 people every day for the last 4 weeks
Munni, lol, i know. I’m a lil gutted, i have to keep learning by mistakes and i wish i could shortcut the whole experience thing and be all knowing :o
Kakay, you mean ol’ horrd thing. Just coz i hate your picking out of toilet habit doesn’t mean you call me inexperienced…puray doh maheenay kaam kya hea mainay..arrite
Ever heard of customer confidentiality ducko? He was prolly pulling an insurance scam - insurance scams seem to be the in thing to do with young paki guys nowadays. Whatever happened to good old dope dealing?
^^ customer confidentiality.. is something different.. if you are giving any contact details then by doing that you are permiting the concern authority to contact you on that number... (Data protection act 1974) unless mentioned in advance the authorized person at that contact.
DD not to worry you have done nothing wrong, if he didn't want her mum to know about that then why did he gave your company that number in the first place. .. as far as unprofessionalism is concern, you did the right thing by explaining her in her language, afterall every good compny tries to communicate with the clients in their own language, if any of these language barriers appears. but next time don't give up customer details to any one.. :) unless the contact is authorised to get hold of clients details.. ... double check with your companys privacy policy...
You're very wrong KK. She had no right to discuss the claim details with anyone but the client himself. Even advising someone that a claim has been made is breaking confidentiality (Data Protection Act 1998)
:) SS... am sure you are well aware of data protection act 1998, but when it comes to insurance claims, and when you do give any contact details then you authorise that person to access all the details, because the claim could be much more worse .. ie the client himself could not be in the shape to be contacted, in that case the next of kin or the alternate contact CAN access the claim details...
DD i dunn think you did something wrong, specially because he had listed her as someone who you can talk to, now how she reacts to any news is out of your hands. Maybe the sahibzada should have listed someone who would not pass out like that, or maybe he is tryignt o get some money from yer company as well.
anyhow..kamran got it right. if the insured gave consent for soemone else to be notified, then ibrahim munna cant come crying why his mommy was called.