‘Chappell could’ve been a better choice as Pakistan coach’ - Imran Khan

**‘Chappell could’ve been a better choice as Pak coach’
By Khalid Hussain

KARACHI: Cricket legend Imran Khan believes Pakistan would have been better off with Australian Greg Chappell as their coach instead of Bob Woolmer.

“I think that the combination of Inzamam-ul-Haq as captain and Bob Woolmer as coach becomes too defensive which is why I think a more attacking coach like Chappell would have been better for Pakistan,” said the former Pakistan skipper in an interview here on Monday.

Pakistan, a naturally flamboyant side, has become quite a defensive team under the seasoned Woolmer, an Englishman who shot to international cricketing fame as a successful coach for South Africa. Woolmer’s stint as Pakistan coach has been less impressive in spite of the fact that there have been several good results as well.

However, Imran is not too pleased with the Englishman’s defensive tactics. “Pakistan can do better if they resume playing attacking cricket,” said Imran who led Pakistan to their only World Cup triumph in 1992.

Imran said a more aggressive Chappell, an Australian, could’ve proved to be a better coach with this Pakistan team. The cricketer-turned-politician is of the view that Pakistan should not face many problems in winning the two-match Test series in Sri Lanka. He points out that even with spin wizard Muttiah Mualitharan on their side, the hosts are not a balanced squad and the Pakistanis should go on to win the Test series comfortably. Pakistan triumphed in the three-match One-day International (ODI) series 2-0 against Sri Lanka earlier this month.

Imran said Pakistan committed a mistake by dropping tearaway pacer Mohammad Sami from the touring squad, saying, “I believe Sami should’ve been in the team for the series against Sri Lanka as the tour would’ve helped him in getting ready for the more important assignment in England this summer.”

Pakistan are to play four Tests and five ODIs in England during a marathon tour to be held from July 1 to September 10. Imran added that there are just around four or five bowlers in international cricket today who can bowl over 90mph and Sami is one of them.

One of world cricket’s most famous personalities, Imran is not a big supporter of the Twenty20 version of the game. “Twenty20 matches do not benefit cricketers in any way,” he said. “Already there is a lot of cricket being played all over the world and there is no room of this new version,” he added pointing out that the players are already at a bigger risk of injuries than ever before because of too many ODIs.

Commenting on South Africa’s record chase in an ODI against Australia at the Wanderers, Johannesburg earlier this month, Imran said he wasn’t too surprised by the stunning outcome of the high-scoring thriller, pointing out that one-day cricket is a batsman’s game and any total is achievable on batsman-friendly wickets.

The News

As much as I have agreed with Imran Khan’s comments that he made in recent times during editions of Straight Drive about sorting our batting order and things of that nature, I, quite simply, fail to agree with the false theory made above. Clearly, it is an insult to a coach, who has proved to be clean as a whistle, and was rather an effort to bring down a positive morale of a man, who has constantly worked wonders ever since he has stepped foot in Pakistani camp. Looking at the present scene and situation from a more overall point of view (a big picture, if you will), it is definitely not the coach who has been rather defensive; it is the captain Inzamam himself! After the huge loss to India on our home soil, a large number of fans brushed the heavy defeat under the carpet, but the facts are facts and Imran did a very decent job of pointing out those facts during his stint on Straight Drive. However, a direct attack on one of the most successful and proven coaches in world cricket is far from receiving any votes, in my honest opinion.

All in all, even though it might seem as though Chappell is more ‘attacking’ via his mindset compared to Bob Woolmer, the latter is touted as a successful cornerstone from which Inzamam commanded traffic and, in turn, spread the sense of respect and discipline amongst the team on a more frequent basis than ever before. If anything, that should be one of the most prominent elements that one should always keep under consideration.

As for Mohammad Sami, well, turn me upside down and paint me blue.

Re: ‘Chappell could’ve been a better choice as Pakistan coach’ - Imran Khan

Dhobi_Bhai, I was going to open the same thread and you beat me to it.

Once again agree with your comments and regard it as a insult to the coach. Bob Woolmer has a proven record behind him. What has Chappel achieved as a coach? He has plenty of critics including those in Australia who do not regard him as a good coach.

There is so much a coach can do and its up to the players to learn. Succesful teams are built around good coaches, captain and of course the players themselves. So to finger point Bob Woolmer is not fair as the captain and the players equally need to take the responsability.

I personally feel that if Pakistan had a better captain who knew what the priorities of the Pakistan are, is clear in his mindset and not in favour of a certain player would also have helped Bob Woolmer produce better results.

Look at the work done by Nasser Hussein and Duncan Fletcher working very closely and thus have produced a competitive side. These results did not come overnight and has taken a lot longer then Bob Woolmer has been in the job.

I will not be surprised if he leaves after the World Cup and it will not be easy to find someone of his calibre. We may end up going to the likes of Javed who were even more defensive.

yaar in logo ka aur koi kaam nahi hay siwaye “he is wrong”, “he should’ve done that”, “he should’ve batted in that position”, “he should/not be the coach” bla bla … they are becoming boring now :yawn:

He has to issue provocative statements to stay in public view. Loser.

Excellent post Rock_Express Bhai, and I fully agree with the above mentioned. :)

One must feel that if there would have been just a pinch or a drop of hint in the air which would suggest Inzamam as how to go about in changing with the dynamics of the game, we, as a team, could still very well be the single force, out of the current lot, and stand tall-to-tall with the world's cricketing giant, but once again, it is due to the shoulder of responsibility that the team members have taken it upon themselves to perform their level best for the team, especially since the captain is not fully equipped with heavy artillery to face oppositions based on his merit.

Especially since the captain is not fully equipped with heavy artillery to face oppositions based on his merit. This is what Imran Khan should be looking for. No clue as to why he stopped in the sidetracks and got side-lined with a coach as successful in his career as Bob Woolmer.

well i agreed wid all of imran's comments regarding the teams batting order etc, thru out the india series n on str8 drive. however i think it is totally rong of him 2 attak bob like dat becasue bob is one of the greatest things thats happened 2 the pak team in a long tym,.as 4 the 'defensive' approach,..so far it has been quite succesful,.we haven done bad as a team and insha allah the world cup will b ours under inzi n bob. Inzi is a great captain n he's lead us 2 manyy victories,.no1 can deny dat so jus bcos we lose a few,.we shudn degrade dem like dat,.........

:rolleyes: :what:

That's the key right there. Yes, we haven't done bad as a team at all.

Although individual performances vary quite considerably on this matter.

If he keeps on making such remarks people will lose respect for him.

He should keep his mouth shut and only make constructive comments.

Imran Khan lately has given some bizzare statements but I don't want to jump to the conclusion here that he has totally gone nuts.
It is possible that Khan sahib did not mean to insult or degrade Woolmer but is just comparing him with Chappell , and I agree that Woolmer does have a defensive approach when you comapre him to Chappell.
Now that doesn't mean that one should take credit away from Woolmer of his acheivements. But one needs to think that Inzi who is simply not capable of attacking cricket, why continues to underperform as a captain even in presence of Woolmer.
I admit that the role of the coach is outside the field and not in, but that doesn't mean that he has no role at all. So many times we have seen Inzi making a mockery of a situation and allowing the game to slip away because of his defensive approach.
Don't get me wrong here but an attacking coach will not allow that to happen again and again, and I guess thats what Imran Khan meant.
Again that doesn't mean that Inzi/Woolmer combination is not working. This is something really stupid to say because Pakistan has perform wonderfully well under this combination.

You always have demerit along with merits and I guess the only demerit of this combination is that at times Pakistan approach can become too defensive and Inzi plays the major part there.
It is highly likely that the combination of Woolmer and Younis well be just perfect for Pakistan.

Very well said overall!

Prediction...Hypothesis...Predictions and again Hypo's, just leave the team alone, Like woolmer said "we have plans and we implement them" and the rest is history. We have praised him against England for making changes and we mocked him against India and now in Srilanka but we can't do anything. I dont know if I am right or wrong but there is a saying "Defense is your best attack"

in other words, let him learn and implement, he has different style, that we have come across. he is laid back, you can say that he doesn't take initiative like in the recent past when Srilanka were I think 35-5 or something like that, is he the only one? no I dont think so.

and last thing on Imran Khan, he is a politician and not a cricketer any more, who knows maybe one day he will say that Arun Lal is the best option for the team and he can bring out the best in Sami :p

When Bob Woolmer was appointed, did Imran Khan say at that time if Bob was good choice or Greg Chappel was a better choice?

The other question we should be asking is why was Bob Woolmer a succesful coach with South Africa and Warwickshire before that? After all those years banned from international cricket and making them the second best team in the world - he must have got most things right.

One of the reasons I think it was due to working alongside Hanse Cronje with South Africa and Dermot Reeve at Warwickshire. Hanse Cronje may not have been most exciting player to watch but was a very smart cricketing brain as was Dermot Reeve and I thinkWoolmer's combination with these captains transformed South Africa's & Warwickshires fortunes.

I always wondered if Inzamam is so lazy when actually playing on the field, what he is like when they are training - this is where his input is so important as well.

^ Training (Inzamam)? what is that?

Eating biryani yar:D

Fromhereto here .

God bless. :smack:

Kya baat hai Dhobi_bhai;
Acrobi 123: Quoting you with respect
and last thing on Imran Khan, he is a politician and not a cricketer any more, who knows maybe one day he will say that Arun Lal is the best option for the team and he can bring out the best in Sami :p

*Lolz.....(I guess bringing Sami back after a dismal performance against India and Eng would mean we are lacking pace and variety in Pak and that' s not what he's out for. Sami is out for getting his form back. If Imran Khan needs more conviction, Dhobi bhai's comments on GS Cricketnama are more than enough to keep Sami out.) *
First, Dhobi bhai and Rock_Express, very will articulated opinions and agree with you guys most part.
I think it's not the best time to bash against Bob Woolmer. I respect Imran Khan from the depth of my heart and love his comments as he's one of the few Cricketing genius's ever produced. I agree with what he said about our batting order and making Inzi more "active" rather than defensive in the field. But, Woolmer/Inzi combination has worked for Pak and it's been producing some really good results. Inzi was never the smartest Cricket captain nor he would be in the future. He's still as lazy as he can get but the team has unity and they all work well under his command. Bob Woolmer can do such off the field and it's up to the player and their leader to get things done in the middle. Just a comment on the ongoing test between Pak and SL, Inzi could have utilized his fast bowlers more efficiently and booked SL for less than even 150. Rather, when SL was some 50runs for 5 down, Inzi brought on spin and a smart captain would never have done that. Would it have made a difference had we been under Greg Chappell? Well, *the grass is green always on the other side. *
Pak is now well made up team with good professors like Woolmer and Waqar and they should be given hope. That's all it takes to turn the tables around and let Woolmer work with this team and let him do his job. I would regret it now that we won't have Woolmer after WC 2007 and I'm not sure if we would ever be able to get a coach of the calibre of Woolmer. Under his coaching, Pak has definitley seen big improvements and I believe in him and our team to do what they weren't capable of doing,let's say may be 3 years before.
Umer

Another one of your fantastic posts, Umer Bhai. Keep up with your heartily efforts. :)

Here you go :