‘Chappell could’ve been a better choice as Pakistan coach’ - Imran Khan

Re: ‘Chappell could’ve been a better choice as Pakistan coach’ - Imran Khan

:rotfl: :rotfl:

:biggthumb

^^ :hehe:, now thats much closely looking dracula :smiley:

as credible imran khan is, i'm really questioning his statements in this article.

i mean-- yes we didn't perform that well today, but our record has been pretty good under bob woolmer. also, inzimam has made some ridiculously questionable moves during the games (such as not putting asif in after lunch and killing the srilankan side)... but what's important is that the team has a LOT of respect for him.

he's the most senior member of the squad and people have the same kind of respect for him that the team did with imran khan in '92. we've thrived under bob woolmer's style . just look back at 2005.

some of our key players are in bad form right now. i think the key is getting them out of their slumps.

He is a legend and i like him but he always wants to be different...I really don't know YYYYYYYYYYYY???

imran bhai sathiya gaye hain bibi ke gham mein

LOL!!

I completely agree with Khan sahab on the issue of defensive tactics. Its bad enough with have supremely maatha captain, in the form of Inzimam, who'd rather be sleeping on his charpai or eating aalo ke parathay, then be shepherding a national cricket team on the field.

Woolmer is supremely talented coach who has created a revolution in the team by bringing professional coaching techniques (big change after Miandad's streetsmart ways). That is all fine and dandy. I think sometimes the team selections are questionable but fine. Team experimentation is fine. Improving Afridi's shot selection is a big big achievement. Having Akhtar motivated is great. One thing he is certainly lacking is an attacking approach to the game strategy. Even while he was the coach of SA that was a known thing. Woolmer doesn't publicly refutes his defensive style, either.

I think now that Woolmer has laid a solid foundation for Pakistan team, and Inzi has united the team under him (after the fracas of '03 WC), post WC-2007, when Inzi will retire, and when Woolmer's contract ends (he has indicated he doesn't plan to stick around), Pak Cricket Board will be well-advised to seek a professional coach (gora, kaala, peela, bhoora, whatever) who can also add a solid dose of attacking cricket to our national team.

Considering -

If, let’s assume for a moment, that we slip under our sheets and hand the World Cup over to the opposition on a silver platter (as we normally have done countless times in the past), who, I ask, would be responsible for that tragic nightmare? Who in this planet will be bold enough to come forward in front of an entire nation and admit that it was all his fault from the very beginning; and he should be publicly hanged for such incident? Certainly not Bob Woolmer. Inzamam? Well, thinking back to all the Captain’s Corner on GEO interviews he has been advertised in, the ghostly written articles that he has posted for The News where he blindly and openly refused to accept criticism from any side whatsoever, post-match conferences with his “supposed” knowledge of the game, on-the-field mishaps while arguing with the umpires and whatnot, ‘who’ exactly is going to come forward and accept the blame? Who will say, yes, I am the culprit, hang me!?

dhobi bhai.. u completely lost me there. What are you saying?

^ mai samjha mail akela kho gaya hoon :hehe:

I am lost myself too. :)

Meh. I was merely in one of those sarcastic frames of mind where absolutely nothing Inzamam has achieved so far in his captaincy (and not batting) career seemed to click in my mind, as I sat and remembered all the mishaps that have taken place throughout his captaincy reign, openly and publicly, either with him being portrayed in the dead center of the picture, or in some way, shape, or form, involving him in one fashion or other. And I sat here and thought, what if all these people (ex-cricketers, arm-chair critics, news reporters) are saying is true (which is a surety), and if, assuming at a snail's pace, we go on to lose this next World Cup directly due to these "harmless" (yes, another politically corrected word) activities, what will be the reaction of that person who will be responsible for this blunder? More or less, how exactly will that person going to react to this tragedy? Are we going to see another column in The News a week after, with headlines screaming "Imran Pai made me do it"?

Dhobi_bhai’s above bhaari post reminded me of this…](http://pakistantimes.net/pakistantimes/about.htm)

:slight_smile:

Well, first, an extremely…curiosity-filled theme at the very top, to say the least:

***We might not be the history makers, but we could say that we were there when it was shaping and we reported.

***I hesitantly stopped reading right after this statement (a bull’s eye, in my view) and re-thought my previous frames of mind I was in. Coincidentally, they all collided together like pieces in a kaleidoscope; a near-perfect scenery to describe the current state of Pakistan cricket.

In any case, I started reading, and stumbled upon the following:

- “In fact—as we look at it—the birth of ‘Pakistan Times’ and it’s propel to stay alive is a modern David and Goliath tale about how an inventive web-newspaper can take on into a giant module of cyber medium—with an eventual goal—to win with optimal zest.”

And rest assured, PT is not the only one surviving in these hot and humid conditions.

All in all, as Some1 Jee indicated, a bhaari post, coupled with The bhaari-est post of them all will make for a rather sleepless night. I might as well head myself to the Jokes Forum and shed off some of the bhaariness which is currently measuring close near my proximity.

Gah.

:clap: Jiber-Jabber :clap: arent we? :rolleyes:

Just for you. :stuck_out_tongue:

With abundance of raw talent and basic nature of aggression of most of the Pakistani players, or the strength of fast bowling which needs aggression,
Greg would have been a good choice.... Better? I don't know since haven't seen much of Bob..
Greg is also known to groom youngsters with the team, i.e. Nabi, Piush Chawala, VRV all are travelling/travelled with the Sr. Team. That's invaluable experience...
With raw talent of pakistan, this can really help..

chappal puts insecurity in players mind no wonder our test team looks like $hit these days

Faisal is right on with his analysis, I agree completely.

Khan sahib has gotten a bit carried away with his well acknowledged Inzimam bias. You would be a fool if you think Woolmer is the one calling the shots. It's Inzi behind the scenes who has absolute control over everything. Heck, Inzi even decides who should and should not be bowling coach, whether we need a fielding coach and who should be the manager! There is no replacement for Inzi as of yet and he rules the roost as far as the PCB is concerned.

Now that being said, it's not fair to compare Chappel and Woolmer. The first thing that Chappel did was get rid of Ganguly so he could control the team through Dravid. Woolmer is naturally defensive and coincides perfectly with Inzi's laid back zero risk policy. A coach with a different mindset simply would have been unable to continue. The only reason Woolmer and Inzi have got along as far as they have, is because their mindsets don't differ much.