Forget it you guys !!! , Its not curtains yet ,

Re: A Case for Shoaib Akhter

---------cvabn-----------
:smack2:

You covered it all , Yes !

Our PIE THROWERS got 3 wickets already :jhanda: ** LARA ON DUCK **

captain filhal tu mujhay appkay reply ka sense samhj nahin aaya hay. Yes I was defending statements from the great crickekers because i still respect them as our greats unlike some other people who think they should go to hell now since they have retired. They said that he is a match winner and i agreed coz i know he is one.
And the above mentioned senstence which you have quoted meant that if somelike you cannot admit that he is a match winner then he also can’t claim that Pakistan lose because of his failure

Kaneria, the only other test level bowler besides Akhtar in the current team. I do not deny that and have never done so.

True. And I don't consider Rana to be a test level bowler at all. Shabbir and Sami are just OK bowlers (could be better if playing with brain). But still together they all put so much efforts to get the things done. And nobody claims that he did it all alone. Didn't we see it in India already?

Read this sentence and tell me what it means:
“How can you blame one player for a defeat when you are not ready to accept that fact that one man can’t be a match winner.”

By the way, when I said what I said about Imran and Wasim, I only intended to mean that they were wrong on that occasion, but what came out was different thing.

fkhan2-- I dont think captain1 or smooth_guy or any other guppies are trying to deny Shoaib's credentials. I myself am a big fan of his bowling when in full flow and Pakistan is always better served when he plays full fit and in full throttle. I have always defended him when he was unjuslty accused of feigning an injury. I dont think he would ever do that.

But when he returned from Australia, his comments disappoitned me to say the very least. 11 wickets in three matches, none of them match winning one and he had the guts to say that ' I was the only one who did that and i was not supported by any one' Hello mister, Kaneria got more wickets than you, won accolades all over.

Now If that doesnt piss any player off or harm team spirit, then I dont know what can. And die hard supporters are defending THAT attitude? sad indeed.

I value him as a player and I wish he was picked if he was fit. But our physiotherapist declated him unfit and if we think that even HE was against his inclusion then all I can say is time to grow up. Shoaib has gone to England and he is not even playing for second eleven and gone there to regain full match fitness. I wish he comes back soon and takes reins of our bowling dept because we need him (at least in our test eleven) but he has to acknowledge other players efforts. They are not as talented as him but they fight with him.

^ amen and thanks for saying that more elaborately.

Well said.

-----------------------cvabn----------------------------
Now this looks like a ligit but repeated allegations. But, True! and I whole heartedly agrre to them, and I am not even defending him on this, all my replies are on the record for being prompted by the posters and seldom initiated by my self , True or false , ? you tell me Sire !

What else he says or does do not make the others saints and pure, why diss your national player like this , isn’t public humiliation good enough ? that in his case ha sbeen over done due to India in Pakistan hype, and over done in Shoaibs case ,

Hi there to ya all....

If we cud only focus on performance and set aside the who said what and what was said, then only can we make an objective argument. Unfortunately, for Shoaib his critics hv latched on to his bigmouth antics and are unwilling to accept his performance as a fast bowler. One reason for this negative backlash was the propaganda carried out by the Shoaib haters fan club in the board and team management. They hv cried foul on so many occassions that feelings against Sa have been cemented.

Shoaib deserved plenty of criticism for his brash behavior off the field, but his on field performance cannot be questioned. Niether was he ever involved in any dressing room or off the field tangle with any other team player. Can Inzi supporters pls stand up alon with Afridi, Yunus Khan, Razzak, Yuhana. All current players hv crossed the line one time or the other. It happens OK, deal with it. So why the emotional outburst against Shoaib Akhter?

-------cvabn---------
Thats what I have been repeatedly saying , and I am with ^ it again ^ , :k:

Thankyou saby bhai. Your post is no surprise since one can expect some mature comments from you. I know he is not an angel. He has some problems which he needs to sort out. Yes some of us are his supporter but but but the most important thing is that we also wish and wantt the best for the team and so it is our view point that he should be in the team. Other people like captain or smooth bhai also want the same for pakistan. No one on this forum cannot question the loyality of anyone towards our team. But what pisses me off is so much hatred towards shoiab akhtar.Sometimes it appears that it is endless. I don’t care what he is involved off the field but on the filed he has the potential to turn this attack into a more lethal one. There has to be a way of controlling such a brat and keeping him out is not the best solution. I don’t worshiip shoiab but i worship my team and thats why want him in the team.
And saby bhai we knew there was something fishy at the time of team slectiion. It was cliamed that he was out on fitness ground. but there was no fitness test. . Inzi came up with another controversial statement later. I just want to ask you something. It was evident that PCB and the management didn’t want to include him in the team of whatever the reason was, fitness or discipline or some other reason we don’t know. So was it difficult for PCB to instruct comptom to tell everyone that shoaib was not fit?? even If comptom has suggested that he is not fit then what was the harm in conducting a test just to shut shoaib akhtar mouth and the media who said that his test was never taken.

Let me quote you from that thread
They are “past” greats, start listening to “present” greats like Inzamam, Bob. **
** Imran should mind his politics and Wasim his commentating and wine ads.

Jee tu app kya keh rhay thay

--------------cvabn------------------
Koi faida nahi , abhi aik ‘sharp’ sa reply aye ga, aur phir phussse , :rolleyes:

Shoaib Akhtar’s demolition of New Zealand in NZ - Dec 2003

In case anyone forgot:
Batting first, New Zealand made 366 in their first innings and shot out Pakistan for 196, thus gaining a huge 170 runs first-innings lead. In the second innings, they were cruising at 73/2 and everyone (including the commentators) was debating what target NZ should set for Pakistan. Should they declare when the lead is 350 or 400 or 450? Enter Shoaib Akhtar.

From 73/2, New Zealand tumbled to 103 all out. Pakistan needed 274 to win which Pakistan achieved easily enough, but not without a lot of drama and tension. At the end of 4th day, Pakistan had reached 246/3, with both Youhanna and Inzimam batting with fifties. Pakistan needed only 28 runs to win, and they could’ve asked the umpires to extend the play by 30 minutes so they could score the winning runs. But neither Inzimam nor Javed Miandad (the coach) knew about the rule. And neither bothered to check next day’s forecast which predicted rain.

The fifth day was started with rain. The play was suspended for some time, but when it finally resumed, Pakistan achieved the winning runs within 4 overs. At the post match interview, Stephen Fleming publicly called for hiring ‘the best’ (referring to Wasim Akram) to coach NZ to bowl reverse swing.

Anyone got the video link of that match (the Game, Raindance.. if it’s anyone it’s gotta be one of you)?

New Zealand 2nd innings R M B 4 6
MH Richardson c Moin Khan b Shoaib Akhtar 41 186 132 5 0
L Vincent lbw b Shoaib Akhtar 4 19 10 0 0
*SP Fleming lbw b Danish Kaneria 24 70 57 2 0
RA Jones c Moin Khan b Shoaib Akhtar 7 48 34 0 0
DR Tuffey run out (Mohammad Sami/Danish Kaneria) 13 56 35 2 0
SB Styris b Shoaib Akhtar 0 1 1 0 0
CD McMillan not out 3 49 23 0 0
JDP Oram lbw b Shabbir Ahmed 3 20 15 0 0
DL Vettori lbw b Shabbir Ahmed 0 8 5 0 0
+RG Hart b Shoaib Akhtar 0 4 3 0 0
IG Butler b Shoaib Akhtar 0 3 4 0 0
Extras (lb 4, w 1, nb 3) 8
Total (all out, 53 overs) 103

FoW: 1-8 (Vincent, 4.3 ov), 2-43 (Fleming, 21.2 ov),
3-73 (Jones, 34.2 ov), 4-95 (Richardson, 44.2 ov),
5-95 (Styris, 44.3 ov), 6-96 (Tuffey, 45.3 ov),
7-101 (Oram, 49.5 ov), 8-102 (Vettori, 51.4 ov),
9-103 (Hart, 52.2 ov), 10-103 (Butler, 52.6 ov).

Bowling O M R W
Shoaib Akhtar 18 3 30 6 (2nb, 1w)
Shabbir Ahmed 17 5 20 2
Mohammad Sami 4 1 12 0
Danish Kaneria 9 2 18 1
Abdul Razzaq 5 1 19 0 (1nb)

http://live.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/2003-04/PAK_IN_NZ/SCORECARDS/PAK_NZ_T2_26-30DEC2003.html

Re: Shoaib Akhtar's demolition of New Zealand in NZ - Dec 2003

I think i did mention about shoiab's NZ demolition in one of the thread today.

OK I think i have got an idea. Why don't we start posting in this thread of brahmachari99, shoiab akhtar's famous bowling spells of his career??
So as to remind people who have short term memory problem:D

I think i'll start

I hope you guys remember the super challenge series of 2002, the 3 ODI series against australia in australia. I guess if not the biggest it was one of the biggest pakistan victory against australia beating the world champs by 2-1 in their own backyard.The way pakistan bounced back in that series after a crashing defeat in the first ODI was really applaudable. There were several ipressive performances during the series such from wasim akram ,younis khan, imran nazir and youhana but one man stole the show in the end during the 3rd and decider ODI, yes none other than our own shoiab akhtar:D sending 5 of the top aussies players to the pavallion making it a one sided match in the end.

28 march 200, pakistan vs south africa....
pak were bundled out for 168....

south africa started their chase of the small target with ease....
at 74/1 in 16 overs they had already established their firm grip on the match....
and then came the turning point....
shoaib akhtar's 3-wicket maiden....
the first ball of the over, a bouncer to boucher, who goes for the hook and only manages to edge it to the keeper....
second ball straight on the middle stump but benkenstein manages to block it....
and he manages to somehow get a touch on the 3rd ball....
4th ball, shoaib does what he does best....
a fast delivery pitching outside off and moving in at great pace to rattle the stumps....
5th ball, klusener manages to save his stumps from the thunderbolt but his bat breaks and he gets a new one....
last ball, klusener does not get his bat broken but has his stumps on the ground....

and after exerting all this energy and single handedly getting the match back for pakistan, he limps off the ground....