Re: Shoaib Akhtar’s demolition of New Zealand in NZ - Dec 2003
Nevertheless he turned the match into paki favor by the firey spell. SA were all out for 101 and shoiab was man of the match:D
Re: A Case for Shoaib Akhter (merged)
I do have the video of Shoaib's 11 wickets in New Zealand that led to Pakistan's victory. He is a match winner on his day and doesn't even need any help from the other end if he catches rythm.
------------------cvabn----------------------
**Yes you did fkhan2, **
fartguru and you swept it back out from under the carpet, which was so conveniently brushed aside by the forum statisticians.
This incident was quoted by me several times in ‘Javed miandad the coach and Inzimam the cap10’ threads last year.
In Shoaib’s case I did not see it necessesary to bring it out and confuse the already confuse people on this forum, especially a certain respected member who loves to pluck “baal ki khaal” at will, going back and fore with ‘I said like this’ ‘You said like this’ tandem.
And then there’s another respected member who would agree to any thing that
that saby bhai, or ehsan bhai would say , bas awein !!! unko ‘feel good’ ki zarorat hai,
Many are not receptive to the opinions of others and rather undestand a point that coincides with their own. Other opinions are null & voided.
Some say I don’t make sense at all. I say yes you are right.
My senses are not fed through yellow journalism or garbage community newspapers that are so readily available in any ‘desi convenient store’ in North America & Canada or the corner desi shops/restaurants in UK & Europe.
My senses are purely mine and I think Shoaib is getting a rotten deal here.
I confess that on 2 occasions I spoke with Shoaib quite recently and once last year and that’s all I’m prepared to say on this.
One can 'Claim to appreciate his good efforts’ in some strangest of choice words, and in the same breath, hurl curses and accusations as well going as far as being called a traitor by non other than a senior player.
Some are directly heads-on with him on the ego matter and others are simply pi$sed off with his peculiar life style.
" Well Mr. Akhter, this is accounted as the hazards of being a public figure"
I say lanat hai! Is this the kind of broad-minded sense that one wishes to hear or see time after time?
I admire that performance from heart and I know he is capable of doing that. But the question is how often he has used his capability? Most of the times we see him breaking in the middle of a series. Be it India’s tour last year or Austrailian tour last winter. He breaks in the middle of a series all the time. In NZ too he fabricated an injury to get time off for ski jetting (don’t dare to challenge that we all saw his pictures). That shows his lack of commitment.
Raindance
Its tough going against popular opinion particulalry when it becomes charged with emotionalism and sensationlaist ideas. Standing firm in what u believe will be painful but eventually truth shall prevail as it already has started to seep thru the cracks of our mediocre pace attack.
Remove Kaneria from the side and what do u hv? Nothing to brag home. Shabbira is a decent bowler but will be facing chucking charges. Razzak can function on wickets which help him otherwise he is just a stock bowler. Rana, well what can I say. ALL the fuss created around him, poor chap he’s a decent hard working committed but AVERAGE bowler who will always struggle in test cricket. Lo and Behold, what do we have…Shoaib Akhter and Mohammed Sami, both are genuine fast bowlers in need of management which is more appreciative of their skill sets. Relying on stock bowlers will work once in a while but eventually we will have to rely on the specialists and one is called the Rawalpindi Express…
Re: A Case for Shoaib Akhter
Now read my words again, lets see if anything can sink in:
“By the way, when I said what I said about Imran and Wasim, I only intended to mean that they were wrong on that occasion, but what came out was different thing.”
And you conveniently forgot to explain your own problem of words, read these words and try explaining what you meant:
“How can you blame one player for a defeat when you are not ready to accept that fact that one man can’t be a match winner.”
yaar, saal mai do saal mai ek baar kar leta hai, kaafi nahi hay?
Captain bhai i guess you only read your own post in a thread. I have already explained what i meant. Go and search for it rather asking same thing again and again just to increase the number of your daily posts:D
Jee mujhay tu aik hee bat samgh aarhee hay aap kay statement say jo aap nay imran khan aur wasim akram kay lyay dya, that they should go to hell. Why do they need to poke their nose in cricket matters since they are people from the past.
okay fine, grepped it, now who here blames Shoaib Akhtar for Pakistan’s losses?
you can beat a thickhead
and you beat me!
lagta hay session start ho gya hay sootay ka:D
The series concluded with the pie throwers Danesh, Shabbir, Razzaq and Afridi won us the first test victory in 17 years. Also the first ever ODI series win that too with a 3-0 white wash :k:
The current WI side which we faced was probably the weakest ever so don’t forget the we also missed a perfect opportunity to beat WI in WI in a test series for the first ever time.
Yeah but without Inzi and Malik we were equally weak, even weaker than them. You always forget to mention the reason behind it. If we had a little strength in batting the result would have been different.
In any case, whatever we have achieved is still historic and nobody can deny this.
--------------cvabn---------------
Not taking any thing away from the boyZ , WI is the weakest side ever on the record, and my colleagues at work share this thought by adding that WI is not even close to what is expectyed of them to reach former glory.
I added; If BD are desperate to record their 1st test victory ever they should be playing WI while she is down and out. like right now.
myself, and allow me to say fartguru, fkhan2,bharamchari,game, and many more are the most ‘relieved’ people on this forum for one simple fact that our concerns where more than your ‘shove it up Shoaib’ attitudes.
Proof ; Soon after the match was over read all the posts about ‘Pie throwers’ and Shoaib basher remarks.
While we were celeberating as well (mind boggling realy)
LOL this reminds me of the era when ‘ashes’ were retrieved to make a fiercly contested trophy of it. LOL
Get it ?
You forgot to mention youhana. We were extremely unlucky to miss inzi and youhana in the batting department (won’t count malik because he can’t be a permanent member of the team) and shoiab akhtar in the bowling department. Otherwise we would have achieved an even more historic victory by beating them for the first time in WI.
--------------cvabn-----------
^ Yes, a comprehensive victory!
Thats how high the bar should be raised for quality performances in Pakistan cricket.
Bowling department and a certain batting section needs to drop anchor sooner the better.
Forget about WI and have a little time out before recieving the moaning English at home.
That would be a real feast and a grueling test indeed.