A Case for Shoaib Akhter (merged)

Re: A Case for Shoaib Akhter

Raindance bhai I am pretty sure you have an idea that most of cricket fans in pakistan give their view and take a stand on the basis of the current situation. Do you really expect that people will be remembering what shoaib has done in the past?
These are the people who can forget team’s or individual awesome performance in one series and will be ready to hang them after a below par performance in the next series. Some of these will also claim that its their birth right to treat the players like that. Some will say that we don’t give a damn if he is the only bowler in the current weaponary who has the potential to be a match winner and who can destroy an opposition within couple of overs. Some will say we care less if his record is the best among all the current bowlers we have in the bowling department. Some will say how dare he say things such as if he was the member of the aussie squad he would have been more succesfull. These people never said that he shouldn’t be in the squad when he gave that statement on 2003 because at that time he was the permanent member of the side and at that time Pakistan didn’t win the test match at Banglore. For people who always come up with the Banlgore example, let me remind you guys, India had the upper hand during most of the series and 5th day of final test provded a special and memorable performace on a deteriorating pitch where spinners picked 7 wickets. Otherwise the performance of the bowlers was average and sometime below average in that test series. An average batting lineup like WI in the last 3 innings were able to score alomost 400 runs everytime. If some one is still thinking that this bowling lineup has the potential to dismiss a sound batting lineup twice in a test match than he is lving in a fools paradise.
I am sick n tired of reading comments such as oh we are able to win without shoiab. Believe me it gives an impression that you are more concernced about pakistan win so that you don’t have to be embarrass in front of people to whom you said that pakistan don’t need shoiab akhtar anymore. In a way its shows you own mentality and your own self created hypothesis that you think that shoiab is bigger than the team.

Sir, I would say you are too new on this board to comment on past behaviour of Pakistani fans (on this board atleast). Shoaib has been criticised on this board whenever he showed his auqaat. Be it ski-jetting in NZ on a missed ODI morning, total failure during last year's Indian tour of Pak, breaking down in Aus and generally whenever he lets out the arrogant non-sense from his mouth. Go and search in the database and then come back. He has been praised for his performances as well.

Same with Inzi, Afridi, Malik and Younis incidents (while they are IN and playing wonderfully). Nobody is above the team.

-------------------cvabn---------------
Just like clockwork.

Well then,bhai sahab, what is so wrong with what you have quoted above? NOTHING!
ITS NOTHING at ALL<<< to make some one as furious as you sound,it must be either based on one face-to-face incident or a ‘General attitude’ of some one who wishes for wishful things in life , no matter how weird they might sound,who are you to take them away from some one who wishes to be an 'Aussie" or a Manchestrian with a cockney accent !!!
That’s my whole point,
Why does it bug some one for what he blabbers with his mouth ???
It pisses off many people, that’s great news! , prolly that’s why he says these things to get on one’s bad side ??? , ever thought about it ???

Respect!!! Did he disrespect any one ,??? That’s news to me, his bowling partner according to 'his’ standard did not bowl well , then so be it,these people should also get on the ‘Horn’ and contradict any such statement if they have the guts or little vocabulary to do so,
His arrogance works for him may be, if you don’t like it , suck it up !
That how it goes, time after time after time again, while he enjoys his life where ever he is and where ever he goes, I am sure its nostalgic for him not to play for Pakistan,
And you know what ? , Why should he,?
Pakistan is playing well without him, right?

But I’ll not sit here and read scandalous quotes and news items with not a penny’s worth importance,

Shoaib Akhter is a Pakistani player ,that’s how I see it,You keep your opinions about him and may be hang him to death when you get a chance,
and I will hang on to my opinions , and not only about Shoiab but about all the injustices to old and new players PCB’s paindoo mangment has mishandled.

^ are you familiar with terms like "Team", "Team player" etc?

--------------------cbvabn-------------------
ask Lara , he will tell you , !!! Yet he still playes for west Indies,for bad and for worse,good and for riches

Smooth bhai, not sending him to West Indies without giving him a fitness test to prove himself isn’t fair either, is it?

It is not. I said that already several times that its not fair, and I was disappointed too (despite of the fact that I want a complete cleansing of any ME&MYSELF germs that are left in him) and these drop outs are doing the job. But still we needed him. But this can't be made as bargain or black mail if you will, truimph for him. It was Tauqeer Zia who spoiled him. He needs to get into his chaddi ASAP for his own and team's good. If he can't, let him play county for the rest of the life. Even when he was dropped from WI tour, check out his statement. ME&MYSELF has not worn off from him. We had gizzillions times better players than him in past, and we never saw this kind of arrogance.

did he diss his team-mates in public? or did he say I’m the only one up against all 4-5 bowlers of any (all) teams? or …

-----------------cvabn-----------------------
So is this a CRIME than ??? , Those 4-5 bowlers are not even on the records for
saying what you wish to say here,The greats of pakistan Imran,Akram,Younis
could speak ON BEHALF of these “Goongay” bowlers and linch Shoaib from the nearest tree, on the contrary ,‘All seems to be fine’ in these ‘GREATS’ opinions,app ko kiya dukh hai bhai, ??? , :rolleyes:

And Yes, Lara did , you should read cerribian papers also when get a chance,

^ no, its all fine and dandy (in your books) to diss your team-mates and claim to be the solo player up against opposition, good going :k:

Bhaijan, I am new on this forum but have been following Pakistan cricket for the past 18 years in all my senses. Unlike some people who only base their statements on the basis of knowledge which they get from NAWAI WAQT or DAILYJANG. When I said something about the crickets fans, I didn’t target few people on a forum called GUPSHUP. I was talking about pakistan fans in general who always have behaved immaturely when they were expected to behave mataurely. I have been on this forum since March 05 and most of time I have read post against shoiab from the “ANTI SHOAIb CLAN”, so how can I believe when you say that he has been praised for his performances as well. Let me prove that from your own single paragraph post.
You gave an example of his ski-jeeting in one single match NZ, but did you acknowledge his efforts in the 2 nd and deicdeer test match at wellington when he destroyed the NZ batting lineup when they were threatning to give Paki a 400+ total to chase in the final innings. Shoiab performance played a big role in pakistan clinching that series. In the same test match inzi almost lost the opportunity to win the match when he decided not 2 take the the additional 30 miuntes which were offered on the 4th day. Go and look at his efforts in that match. For people who are anti moin, they should be thankful to him as well since his century saved the first test match for pakistan.
NOw takling about India, you are so ready to blame him. Have you ever thought what was the performance of other bowlers. How can you blame one player for a defeat when you are not ready to accept that fact that one man can’t be a match winner.
These are the bowling statistics of both ODI and test matches for that series courtesy of cricinfo
Mat. overs Runs WK Avg
Shoaib Malik 5 47 254 4 63.50
Shoaib Akhtar 5 48 264 9 29.33
Shabbir Ahmed 4 36 216 5 43.20
Yasir Hameed 5 1 6 0 - - - -
Mohammad Sami 5 49.4 299 11 27.18
Abdul Razzaq 5 39 245 3 81.66
Shahid Afridi 3 13 87 2 43.50
Naved-ul-Hasan 1 10 73 3 24.33
So do you call these ODI figures total failure???

Test matches
Mat Over runs WK Avg
Umar Gul 1 25 96 6 16.00
Imran Farhat 3 19.1 100 3 33.33
Danish Kaneria 2 81.5 248 7 35.42
Shoaib Akhtar 3 86.2 297 7 42.42
Mohammad Sami 3 123 435 7 62.14
Fazl-e-Akbar 1 40.4 162 1 162.00
Saqlain Mushtaq 1 43 204 1 204.00
Yasir Hameed 3 1 5 -
Abdul Razzaq 1 15 61 - - -
Shabbir Ahmed 1 31 6 122 0
Now looking at this record how can you blame only guy when the rest of the performance is also in front of you. It evident that there is a clear bias in your statement.

I don’t know what database you were referring when you said go and search there. But looking from your post its evident that you need to go and check the cricket data base when you talk about a cricketer. If you are so concerned by **** coming out from his mouth then i guess we should only play with 11 Naat Khawan in our side so that hur waqt un kay moon say phool jhartay rahain.

So did Graham Gooch ,,, so did Azhar-uddin,,,, so did Nawab Patoodi,,,,,Players against Intikhab Alam ,, So did players agaqinst Miandad,,So did players against Imran Khan,,,So did Younis Khan,,So did Yousif Youhana,,,so did Razak against Youhana,,,,So did Yasir Hameed against Coach woolmer and the skipper,,,,,,,,,this is only a tip of the examples,, sign ,,,, but its just waste of time on you ,, isn't it?

and they repeated their sin for umpteenth times? :rolleyes:

and very recently you were defending statements from Imran Khan and Wasim Akram that Pakistan has underestimated WI by not including match-winner Shoaib Akthar !

-----cvabn---------
Thats exactely my point , in fact THANK YOU !!!
People like who come here and blow things to extra ordinary proportions and then
expect opinions, And I say to them , For a pethatic ^ comments like this ^,
Take my kick and paste it on your butt , bar bar takleef keun dainy , :devil:

^Try making sense in at least one of your posts. You will feel better and so will we :-)

may be Shoaib Akhtar should read this post too, so he can keep quiet in future.

I knew I wasn’t alone in not getting any sense in his post.

------------cvabn-------------
stop cursing a player for sins he commited and does not even play in the team any more,Can I translate this for you in any opther lingo,? , or rather open your ears for outside voices too,

Are you talking about interal revoults in the teams, incidents during the heat of the game or PRESS STATEMENTS?

You need to go back and read Shoaib’s statements once again. He has been doing it for a long time now.