A book everyone should read!!

www.al-islam.org/guided

Then I was Guided

this book was writtin by a scholer who once was sunni, it got references from Quran and authentic sunni books like bukhari, muslim etc

u should all read it and think about it

Oh i read the book and even have a hard copy. Interesting book.

so did that book do anything for u?
did it make u wanna search for answers?

It made me believe that what I am doing is right. To say that I became shia would be incorrect, to say that I am a sunni would be incorrect.

I was a muslim, and still am a muslim, with better knowledge of some areas.

Of course some of my shia friends say that I am more shia in my thinking than sunni and others dont.

As I said in a prior post. I continue to focus on the essence of religion and not the rituals, be it sunni or shia.

thats great fraudia, what kind of opinion do u have for the first three khalifa ?

salam Fraudia,
my question to you is not about the khalpha's or anything like that but it is about imamat?
if you have read the book did it convince you of the principle of universal imamat? if not why not, what did you think his arguments lacked? if you accepted the concept of imamat who do you consider as your imam now?
I know you are not in London but for those who are reading and are in London Dr Tijani, the person who wrote Then I was Guided is going to be speaking in a conference this weekend at Islamic Centre in Maida Vale on Saturday and Sunday, I think it also goes in to Monday but am not sure.

Allah hafiz.

Awesome book, also check this book online:

http://al-islam.org/peshawar/last.html

mein shair to naheen.

What I think of the first 3 khalifas is inconsequential, because as I mentioned in another post. I dont follow the khalifas teachings, I follow the Quran and the prophets teachings. To be blunt about it, I am very neutral about Khalifas as well as all Sahaba. What they did will be in their deeds, whether the became shahees on the battlefields or were great leaders or conspirators. Whether I like it or dislike them, it does not change my view of Islam and what Allah's messenger brought to us.

Imaamat, in essence I agree with it, its this agreement of mine which my shia friends base their view on that I may be more shia in my views than I know. One bluntly told me that you can call yourself a sunni but by what you said, you are shia.

And my answer to that, always has been and always will be "No, I am a muslim"

fraudia bhai,
hope you are doing great by the sadqa of mohammed o aale mohammed (s.a). Did you get my mail brother?

truly yours,
mein shair to naheen.

Shaer

I did get your email, I also read that other thread with interest and sadness. I dont think that I found out anything new in the thread since I have read the instances of Karbala in detail. However it is always sad and distresing to realize the disarray the Ummah fell into due to corrupt power mongers so soon after the death of the Prophet.

I will also look at the websites you mentioned. Thanks for all the information.

jazakAllah brother fraudia.

Also, I'd like to mention one very important thing here that I am very openminded and I do not believe in enforcing or imposing my ideas on others, so be cool and e-mail me anything you really wanna know regarding Islamic history. The same invitation is to Pristine, Degas, nomaan, and Malik. We might have minor differences and its a part of human nature because we all are different. But we can always discuss these things in an educated and decent manner and even resolve minor issues for everybody else.

This is the way our dear Imam Jafar Sadiq (a.s) used to discuss issues with Abu Hanifa, and other students.

And offcourse quran itself talks about not making things too complicated and hard in religion and discussing them.

mein shair to naheen.

[This message has been edited by shair30 (edited October 12, 2000).]

Shaer

That is the intent of this whole site, promote understanding, cooperation, among people, to bring people together etc.

I must say I am very surprised (pleasantly of course) that the last few threads discussing Islamic history and beliefs have progressed in such a mature and civilized manner.

I mean its good to see that we can agree in a civil way, as well as disagree in the same way.

I am fairly open about my questions and interests, so I will probably ask the questions here because this way others who have the same queries, or others who never thought about a certain issue will learn something as well.

Kami

sure brother kami. so kami is for kamran? I feel better calling you kami than fraudia.

good book. nice analysis:
www.al-islam.org/guided

Shair.

Shaer

Kami is good enough

anyways I had one more question. Every Imam bargah that I have been to has this separate room with a “mazar” for Imam Hussein. Why is that? also why the name Imam Bargah and not Masjid. I refered to it as Masjid in front of some Shia friends and they corrected me to refer to it as Imam Bargah.

Why does Imam Hassan not get as much attention as Imam Hussein? He was also a grandsone, also was shaheed by conspirators, and would also be the leader of youth in jannah. So why only Roza-e-hussein and not Rozah e hassan? or so many other ahle bait who were shaheed in Karbala?

I have not found answers to this in any book.

Good questions Kami bhai.

First of all there is no comparison between infallibles (12 imams, bibi syyeda, and Prophet Mohammed s.a.w.w), except that ** Prophet Mohammed (s.a.w.w)** has higher status, all other masooms are equal. Therefore, Imam Hussein and Imam Hassan are both equal in status, offcourse they will be syyeda shabab-e-ahlejannah or “the leaders of heaven’s youth”(youth referring to all the pious people going to heaven, does NOT mean only young people. When people will go to heaven, they will all be in their youth or shabab).

Coming back to your question, yes Imam Hassan played a very significant part before Karbala (under the thread Khitab-e-zainab). If Imam Hassan would have been in Imam Hussein’s place, he’d done the same sacrifice and vice versa for Imam Hussein, so that clears up the issue. The only reason Imam Hussein (a.s) gets discussed is because of the intensity of pain and scarifices he went through, nothing else.

Regarding your other question, every imam bargah must have a mosque alongwith it. Putting it another way, a mosque is a fundamental part of any Imam Bargah. These are just different names attached, the important aspect is only this that a mosque is a place where we go and pray. an imambargah is a small room next to a mosque where a majlis (gathering to enlighten the teachings of karbala) is held. They both have their own significance.

An issue with praying is that, one can pray anywhere as long as the place is pak or clean. I’ve been to sunni mosques several times and prayed there (though I really dont like to use the word sunni or shia mosque, I’d rather use the word mosque or house of Allah).

Wassalam,
Shair.

[This message has been edited by shair30 (edited October 16, 2000).]

feel free to ask me any more questions brother fraudia, pristine, degas, malik, mariah, and others. be back in an hour.

take care you all.

shair.

Shaer

you are not allowed breaks

yaar, you did not answer about the grave/mazaar in the imaam bargah.

is it always for Imam Hussein, atleast in all Imam Bargahs I have been to. Also what is the significance of it, why is it there?

Are there Masjids which do not have Imam Bargah attached to them?

Sorry brother, I got busy with my project.
well, back from break now.

Coming back to your question kami bhai, there are shia mosques that do not have an imambargah attached to it. It is not mandatory to have it.( though again I hate to call it a shia or sunni mosque cuz it is only the house of Allah, nothing else).

The whole point of having such a resemblence of Imam Hussein or any other martyre’s grave is to have a better understanding about events. Mostly, these zareehs etc build inside the imambargah have some mud from karbala brought in there to remeber imam hussein and other ahlebait martyred there, nothing else. It is so important to look at the ** soul of an action** while performing any religious act. Therefore, the focus should be zaat-e-ilahee (Allah) even when one remebers Imam Hussein and his sacrifice because all he did was for Allah and only Allah.

I know, I try my best to answer your in depth question as much as I can, but I am still a talib-e-ilm. If you really want to get deep into this discussion, then I’d recommend you discuss these issues with a ** reliable and learned scholar**. I DONT mean any zakir or khateeb, I mean a genuine Alim, e.g: Talib Johari or Allama Aqeelul Gharawi or Maulana Sakhawat Hussein Sandralwi. Allama Aqeel ul gharawi comes to Karachi in Muharram and he is very liberal alim who does not believe in accusing, abusing or hurting other sects. His way of talking is firm but ** polite**. I’d suggest that you meet him, he will be giving muharram majlises at the residence of Ali mutaqqi jafree sahab, next to Imambargahe Shahe Khurasan.

yours,
Shair.

[This message has been edited by shair30 (edited October 16, 2000).]

kabhi aey haqeeqate muntazir nazar a libase majaz mein
hazaron sajdey tarap rahey hein meree jabeene niyaz mein

iqbal