A 28 yr old called me an aunty

hmmm...you've got a good point. it seems that titles like chachi, khala, aapi, baji are used within family only so we think you have to be a blood relative to get one of those titles. i personally can't use the term appi or baji without feeling reallly awkward unless its for my first cousins whom i grew up calling baji. to me baji means someone who is close to your age and who shares all your secrets, jokes around with you, takes you out for ice cream, etc. Not necessarily a stranger who looks a bit too young to be declared aunty.

@Lucid Chaotic: i LOVE you!!! :lifey:

NJ - embrace your auntihood :mehr:

Re: A 28 yr old called me an aunty

touche maroushie

I once had an UNCLE with a 90% white beard call me BAJI…:konfused:

I was more appalled than upset…so I went back and made it a point to call him UNCLE!

^Why don’t I have such experiences:bummer:

once i was making so much noise my sister called me BAJA :naak:

I was depressed for many days :naak:

^ and you complained abt me :whistling:

I was speaking about my heartache :naak:

if you are the sister of my mother, even if you are younger than me, you are my aunty … right?

:nahi: tlk uncle that would be khala

That would be a khala which is aunt but not an aunti.

What the ..?

what is the difference between aunt and aunti

here
*If you are addressing a middle age female, and you do not know her name, in South East Asia, Singapore, or Malaysia, the spelling is Auntie. In some North American Native cultures the use of the name “Auntie” for any woman older than you (usually between the ages 20 to 50) is a sign of respect and affection.

If you are addressing the sister of your parent, then it is a slang term. The proper word to use would be aunt. If you choose to use the slang, both spellings are listed in the Encarta World English Dictionary. *

Seriously TLK

Aunti is your mom's friend and not related to you by any means....

Aunt is your mom's sister, your dad's sister - khala, phophoo

jesus

Aunt/Aunty are the same.exact.thing.

it's us, desis, who have attached all these connotations to the word.

lifey - it's true.

But we can't call our mom's friends.... Mrs. Iftikhaar, and Mr. Aslam.

sigh it is so much easier with Bob, Edna and Jim and like sara said "hey you"

my neighbor,shes 25:D but looks older because she got married early and has kids (5,7)

i call her aunty and so did my elder sister who was just her age
its not how she looks, we just call her aunty=/.dont know why.

that’s what i’m saying. why can’t we just say mrs. blah and mr. blah:bummer:

^haw haye...

just kidding you can. I just see it rarely done.

hello aunty ji :shikra: