A 28 yr old called me an aunty

Re: A 28 yr old called me an aunty

ha ha Lucid- I had forgotton that thread.

But I am an aunty, bhabhi, appi to many.... as I stated - just not to a 28 year olds. I guess there is a first time for everything....

down the hill... down the hill....

That is one stinky side of our culture we have to be smiling about.

To me, in my heart, person as old as my father/mother is an uncle/aunty.

But i never call some one that... hmmm I did it once or twice... but after they called me son first.

I adress people with respect most of the time… however sometimes i meet the occasional few who have no regards for my words… so if i was to call someone brother or uncle it is also a way of letting them know they are safe with me.

If they get smarmy over it then that is tantamount to a declaration of war and thus they can expect anything from me… :hehe:

jub they are elder than you you call them aunty…

lollll Do not be stressed out if a guy a little younger than u called you aunty. My dear, I got married at the age of 20, and after that every woman I met whose kids were my age or even older than me called me aunty. Was it my fault that a certain neighbour of mine whose daughter was still unmarried at the age of 26...well she used to call me aunty too. Even shop keepers who saw me with my kids.I used to get quite irritated when things like that happened. And once i had a kid, i was the ultimate aunty! Unfortunatley this is a sad fact but it is a part of our Pakistani culture...(one of the things that i hate about our culture) that people without thinking develop these relations of aunty and uncle in a second. One of the many things i Like about Western culture is that they would call you by name and not uncle or aunty. Respect for someone comes from within the heart , not by calling aunty or baji...

As soon as you have nephews and nieces then you become Aunty… :smack: it’s not that complicated.

I am a proud phuppo and khala :chilly:

My Husband feels proud to be called an uncle, almost as if it has something to do with being all macho, while I would hate it, esp from someone a similar age. Would make me run to the mirror and have a good look at myself.maybe a makeover is in need.

inferiority complex i guess:hmmm:

lol ur post made me laugh makeover part is funny :hehe:

Who is offering to give me a makeover?

Gina will njgal:@:

I have heard this from so many people.. this that called me aunty.. offensive... or called khala or baji..

It doesn't matter to me what anyone calls me. Sure a person my age wants to call me an aunty.. honestly to me personally, it doesn't matter. I don't see the big deal in it. Keh dia, so what, not the end of the world. I am sure I call people by names they don't find appropriate. I've never been told not to call someone that...

I qualify for calling you aunty too, do you want to be the chachi or massi ji (massi ji gets more respect innit).

Gina is loooong gone dear :naak:

Milly - don’t you get smug with me lass. I am not married to your chacha :snooty:

njgal gina kahan gayen?

omg...I hate it when people call someone aunty for no reason. This lady does it to my mom...her kids are all the same age as us and she still calls my mom aunty. Tawba!

Personally, I pay no attention to it if children my nieces ages call me aunty...now if they're older like in their 20s and such...it should be baji.

You know, I really think in some remote areas of Pakistan- its done to show respect. I have a funny story. In NY, sometimes we go to this run-down Pakistani place in brooklyn because their food is cheap and really good. The guy is in his twenties and whenever I'm in jeans, he'd call me auntie. Once I went in with shalwar kameez as we were visiting someone in the area and he called me bajee, I have no idea why. I figured it's just his way of showing respect.

On the other hand, I once called a guy 4 years older than me an uncle. I was 7, he was 11- but in my defence, I was always the tiniest and he was mA big guy- so I got confused. His mom later complained to my mom and we still laugh about it! :D

Tell me if I am generalizing here but I haven't seen this confusion in Pakistan. Do you think it's a "western desi confusion" thingy.. like mixing up aap and tum.

maybe some kids don't grasp the **concept **of an aunti versus a baji.

I have seen some household where you don't take the elders name. Everyone is a chacha, mamo, khala, aunty, uncle - even they are not related to you.

I think my children are confused too because they keep reffering to their desi elders as "so and so's mom".

My mom is in her mid-40’s … and my brother-in-law’s eldest brother is even older than my mother :omg: (his mom is ~70 methinks) … so on my sister’s wedding, they kept on calling my mom, “khala ji” … and mom didn’t quite like it hehehehe