9th Match, Group D - Pakistan vs Ireland - Saturday March 17th

Re: 9th Match, Group D - Pakistan vs Ireland - Saturday March 17th

I will agree with the team.. I will rather switch the order of Akmal and Azhar... Akmal should come before Azhar....

Why in the heck you would have manhoos sami in the team. He is a curse. I dont even think why did they even bother to take him. He is no good. Hand out the water bottles to the water boy. I would get Yasir instead of useless Sami.

My team in batting order:

Hafeez
Younis
Inzi
Yousuf
Malik
Azhar
Akmal
Yasir
Gul
Rao
Kaneria - He should be sacked and replaced by Afridi in 3rd match and onwards

Imran Nazeer, Sami and Kanaria - All useless one day players!

At this moment, Sami's pace can boost our morale :p

I love him for saying this!
-----------------------------------------------------------
** ‘If Rana is still in the team that faces Ireland, the tour selectors should be charged with negligence’ - Kamran Abbasi**
http://www.dawn.com/2007/03/15/spt5.htm
PAKISTAN were gracious guests as they gifted the opening match of the Caribbean World Cup to their hosts. After restricting West Indies to a below-par total, Inzamam-ul Haq’s team should have pooped the Jamaican party by strolling to victory. But a perfect day, a perfectly friendly batting track, and two crucial points for the next phase of the tournament were insufficient incentives for Pakistan to rise to the occasion. You wonder what it will take to rouse Inzamam-ul Haq’s uninspired team from its lethargy?

As well as West Indies battled in the field the weaknesses in Pakistan’s batting line-up decided the result. Coach Bob Woolmer took a pot shot at his team’s critics earlier this week, suggesting the jibes of former cricketers and pundits were an unnecessary and unfair burden on his team. Unfortunately, Pakistan’s insipid batting display only served to underscore the concerns of the critics.

Wasim Bari and his fellow selectors have managed to send a squad to the West Indies that does not include a single reserve batsman. The on-going failure of Imran Nazir has brought this dilemma into sharp focus. It has also highlighted the failure of the Pakistan Cricket Board to find a settled opening partnership in the four years since the last World Cup.

Worse still, Pakistan look to be confused about their strategy. Having tried Younis Khan as an opener and pushed Mohammad Yousuf and Inzamam-ul-Haq up the order in a warm-up match, Pakistan reverted to their old batting line-up. The problem for Inzamam and Woolmer is that their batting order isn’t working consistently enough, and it is delusional to pretend otherwise.

Pakistan’s main hope remains that their selected batsmen will adjust to the helpful batting conditions and leap out of their slump. But time is running out, and the partnership between Yousuf and Inzamam summed up Pakistan’s gormless batting display. If more of the batsmen had batted with half the spirit that Shoaib Malik mustered then Pakistan would have cantered to victory.

Poor batting accounted for all of the top five wickets, and by the time Shoaib showed what measured aggression could achieve, he had run out of partners. The key dismissal was of Yousuf, who suddenly lost his calm and decided that he would hit a boundary or bust. After failing to learn the lesson of two consecutive swishes, he was undone by a rising delivery that nipped back at him.

All hopes rested on Pakistan’s captain but he brought a strangely subdued innings to a close in a familiar manner, leg before playing across the line. It was left to Shoaib to produce a miracle once Kamran Akmal had continued his run of poor form, but the batting partners left to him were barely able to hit the ball off the square.

Pakistan had surprisingly abandoned their strategy of batting deep with all-rounders, and the tail began at number 8 with Rana Naved-ul Hasan who had another miserable match. His selection wasn’t justified by form because he has leaked runs since his return from injury last September. With Azhar Mahmood and Yasir Arafat available, it was an incredible decision for Pakistan to retain faith in Rana. If he is still in the team that faces Ireland, the tour selectors should be charged with negligence.

Even though more was expected of Danish Kaneria, the rest of Pakistan’s bowling attack performed admirably. On this form, the loss of Shoaib Akhtar and Mohammad Asif is less of a concern than the fragility and lack of focus of Pakistan’s batting order. But Pakistan lack the extra pace that Shoaib brings. The answer is Mohammad Sami but Inzamam and Woolmer appear reluctant to unleash him.

This loss is not the end of Pakistan’s World Cup. There were worse moments in 1992 and 1999 when Pakistan reached the final. But there is a sense that this time around the Pakistani management are a confused bunch, unsure of their best eleven, their best strategy, and, worryingly, unsure of how to put right their deficiencies.

Inzamam and Woolmer need to react fast. If they think the critics are unforgiving now, a dismal World Cup will show them just how lucky they have been.

Isn’t this the same guy who WROTE " AUSTRALIA ONLY TEAM BLOCKING PATH TO WC" or something…
I love it how bloggers/columnists switch their tone after results don’t favor their predictions…

ab Ireland say bhi agar nahin jeet saktay to phir to I think Pakistan ko WC say walkout kur jana chiyay

kion bhae… akhir Ireland mein bhee khuch bowlers hein , jinhoon nai kafi county cricket khailee hee… woo bhee jeetanay aey hien :halo:

This guy is spot on!

It will not be about winning rather how we succeed. Pakistani batsmen had zero harmony during WC '03, which why they struggled even against the minnows. Ricky Ponting scored a century against Scotland, which means that these games are great to get in form and get ready for next round. I hope our batsmen do the same; great victory would be if one our batsman scores a hundred and two 50's. From bowling stand point, Umer Gul and Sami/ Rana must share 5-8 wickets between them.

Nazir and rana will do great if they play against Ireland only to retain their place for the other important games in the next round where they will fail based on their current form.
Likes of Arafat, Sami and Azhar shud be played in theses games letting them settle down before the next round

Naheen Yaar...
You are right about his pace but I am more skeptical about his line & length.
He was such a talented bowler, but now he is the worst we have ever produced.

someone got to that poor man. may be that robbery 2 years ago at his house...?
oh no that robbery was the result of his poor performance... The darn robbers couldn't stand sami...
nay... I know they weren't robbers at all, they were pakistani team players sick of sami.
Or may be it was when sami was sold on ebay... you guys remember? it was on gupshup. v funny

so as long sami is out i see a chance. this is my personal opinion. I am not doing well in my fantasy cricket so may be I am wrong. I wish, I am wrong, if Sami brings this team to a better standings

Hello Inzi, you may be a man with the plan but the guy leading our team in wc is clueless. He needs captaincy 101 or 'captaincy for dummies'

Tum sirf hamaaraY Sami saY jaltaY ho :naraz:

Ireland in for a major upset...

:rolleyes:

Pakistan better whoop Irelands behind on Saturday to get confidence back.
Lets bat first and set them a 300+ target...
if pakistan plays them as if they are playing Australia, then even if they (Pak) win, it will not get them into the right gear for the Super 8... Pakistan needs to get into the delivering role before the real world super 8 starts...
just MHO.

Oh Khuda kay naik banday, woh Miandad **kumbukht **phir aajaayegaa apna *"Pakistan should have fielded first" qaseeda lay kar.*

^ Hosla rakho DB....InshAllah is dafa naheen aayay ga...

If Younis cannot play as an opener then he should bat at #5. Yousuf should play at #3 position with Inzy at 4. Against Ireland & Zimababwe they can d such experiments but then they will have to stick with it for the rest of the tournment...(again if we'll qualify :()

nope. he is just useless. unless you were abducted for past 3 years, there is no way a sane person can include him in the first 11.

now to the point of ireland.
i dont know but whats the policy if it rains. do they have extra days. lets say that it rains that day is well. boys Pakistan is screwed big time then because a draw with Ireland would not take them anywhere.

this case can also be applied to whoever wins today…

now thats a scary thought. more than having sami in squad.