Re: 91% of Pakistani's do not support suicide bombings.
it would be good to get further drilldown ability to see the distribution of that 9% across provinces, urban vs rural, education levels, etc etc.
Fully agree with you on this, 9% means close to 16 million.
Huh! Yaar aap ne to statistics ki taang tor di
That 91% is of the people they sampled. The people they sampled could represent just 1% of the population meaning this 91% could really mean just 0.91% of the people.
well if the statistical sample is valid then the findings can be extrapolated to teh entire population with a reasonable confidence interval.
Yaar if the statistical sample is even 50% of Paki population I can accept a fair extrapolation lekin pichlay 60 saal ki tareekh mein hum aaj tak pakistan ki aabaadi ka concensus to theek tarah kar nahin sakay or 91% ka opinion poll le kar uchal rahain hain ... is ko kehtay hain &&((^(^
Huh! Yaar aap ne to statistics ki taang tor di
That 91% is of the people they sampled. The people they sampled could represent just 1% of the population meaning this 91% could really mean just 0.91% of the people.
of course 91% is the number of people who were sampled, but such stats can/have been used to extrapolate (of course there is error margin) ... just like you hear Bush's rating going down to 55% approval (not sure what it is now) it doesn't mean that they sample whole nation (US) and out of those 55% approve of him.
No wonder even with the approval ratings down the moron still gets elected as president. Numbers are numbers and they can be made to sound whatever you like. Percentages do not mean anything unless they are benchmarked and different parameters such as social class, demographics, area of residence, household income, educational level etc accompanies them.
but that is a sample selection criteria issue, if the sample selection is right then the extrapolation is very valid.
I mean when you look at media usage or you look at customer sampling which are then used by major corporations from anything ranging from product development, to promotions, media spend etc,..its a science.
any further details about this 9% who approve, are they concentrated in certain areas, are they certain ethnicity and certain educational level? I have some suspicions but they are just that.
I can almost say with conviction that you will find a significant proportion of this 9% concentrated in NWFP and Baluchistan areas bordering the rugged tribal belt
Also worrying is how some people start believing the propoganda of extremists and spread rumours as facts.
Man we seem to be going around and around in circles. Anyway the exact death toll is probably somewhere b/w 100 (as the govt. claims) and 1,000.
Besides I never presented my figures as facts. That is a moot point. That's why my thread title had an exclamation mark in it
This is a huge generalization and very irresponsible remark. Their are Jehadi tanzeems (some of them banned now, officially) whose roots are in Punjab, also. Putting each and every person of NWFP and Baluchistan (and FATA, too) under 9% is not fair
how many punjabi, sindhi suicide bombers have there been?
in the sunni-shia suicide bombings, all of the suicide bombers are from the NWFP areas.
how many punjabi, sindhi suicide bombers have there been?
in the sunni-shia suicide bombings, all of the suicide bombers are from the NWFP areas.
A lot of the Mujahideen that fought in or contnue to fight India are from parts of Punjab...
Anyways, lets not categorize people, im sure you dont like people stereotyping ALL Muslims...
^^ thats true
but you have to admit, uneducated people are more inclined for suicide bombings than educated people
Why are they uneducated for so long? Who likes to "take" electricity revenue from NWFP?
funny how rapidly the approval ratings fell when suicide bombers started bombing their own instead of just jews, hindoos and amreekans..
true they shud nver have supported them to begin regradless of who it targeted, muslims or non-muslims!
funny how rapidly the approval ratings fell when suicide bombers started bombing their own instead of just jews, hindoos and amreekans..
this is exactly the reason why I said, the more suicide attacks the tribals launch the more people will turn against them
in the end, its a win-win situation for Pakistan
it was a NIMBY deal, and armchair politics, when push came to shove ppl opened their eyes.
thehray jo chhotay se dimagh walay... why did approval ratings fall in Bengladesh? Jordan? How many suicide bombing took place there? What about "approvals" for the time during 2002-2007? That is a big gap to conclude that approval dropped just recently.
acha captaan jee, baray dimaagh to aap ka hai, why dont you go right ahead with explaining the sudden change in muslims' opinion on suicide bombing in jordan and "bengladesh"? can't muslims in these countries have seen how their fellow muslims are slaughtering each other in eye-raq, afghanistan, pakistan and such?
What is the difference between placing a bomb, dropping a bomb by aeroplane or putting a suicide belt and blowing oneself... to me the difference is in only the delivery system! The only point of interest is who is the target.. if innocents its a big crime.. if its a combat there is no difference!