7 Foods That Keep You Young

Re: 7 Foods That Keep You Young

When rest of the body cells benefit............then Taste buds can be over ruled......:)

similarly One has to aquire the taste for Karela.......it seems Karela(bitter melon) are the most beneficial Veggie around........

Especially for controling ones blood sugar!

what's the use though because almost all of these foods(olive oil, chocolate, nuts wine) are so fattening so what's the use of having all those antioxidants if we end up all Goodyear blimpy?

i eat most of that stuff, except the last 2 :blush:

I luv them allllll except Wine :halo:
i wonder how wine tastes like though :hmmm:

it depends on the quantity and how you use them, quantity needs no elaboration.

use may need some explanation

olive oil drizzled on grilled chicken is one thing, sois having that as part of salad dressing.

deep frying pakoras in a vat of olive oil is another.

Muniya, esi baatain share nahi kartey... supply demand ka issue ban jata hai.

:slight_smile: From what I hear the EXPERTs tell us…it has “PISS POOR TASTE”…:smiley:

I agree with the Wine part. It's consumator never gets old. Death comes before the old age :)

**Not So..............all you need to do is STOP drinking soft drinks with *HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP. HFCS actually makes you "more hungary"*

All the other foods in their natural form like whole grains will satisfy the Hunger Urge......

Cut out all the COKE,..... PEPSI, ..... any drinks with HFCS....you loose around 15 to 20lbs per year!......NO MORE BLIMPY....:)

actually I don’t drink soft drinks much and i’m on the thinner side but all I was saying is that too much of some of the items in the list, just because they might be good for you from one aspect, obviously isn’t good either since they are still high in fat. We just have to use our heads that’s all…but I think fish would have to be the perfect food(except for all that mercury in it:hinna:)

Mercury is mainly found in bottom feeders…Crab, Flounder, Cod etc.

Fish like Herring, and Salmon that lives off Herring,…Halibut…Tuna… do not have any significant amounts of Mercury Compounds in them…been eating Salmon for past eight years…the only Mercury I have is what the Dentist put in years ago to fill cavities…:smiley:

Karela is bitter gourd. Bitter melon is something different. But yes they are both great in controlling blood sugar level...along with fenugreek (methi)

I am sceptical about chocolate keeping you young...maybe just mentally you feel young (or happy) but physically I cant see any benefit.

As for wine ...it makes you think you are young...

^na wine doesn't keep anybody young(might make you woozy though), the alcohol in it is definitely bad for the liver so even if it has some antioxidant magic in it, it's better to not drink it than drink it.

how are chocolates good for u?.. dont they contain a lot of saturated fat and sugar?..

forzenfire and others, a small amount of dark chocolate, i.e. one with high level of cacao is a great antioxidant. fiond the ones that are not flavoured using hFCS and have a nibble thats all that is being said. Chomping down on king size twix or 3 musketeers is a diff thing.

the benefits of red wine have been proven scientifically. now no one is askign ppl tro become winos and walk around with cheap hooch in a brown paper bag swigging away day and night but a small amount of red wine has health benefits.

The point about it containing alcohol is a valid point from a religious angle and we should then see where else can we get the same benefits, whether its grapes or reservatol supplements.

good point here are levels of mercury in diff fish.

Top 10 fish and shellfish consumed in the United States

Mean mercury level in parts per million (ppm) Omega-3 fatty acids
(grams per 3-oz. serving)
Canned tuna (light)
0.12 0.26–0.73
Shrimp ND* 0.27
Pollock 0.06 0.46
Salmon (fresh,frozen) 0.01 0.68–1.83
Cod 0.11 0.13–0.24
Catfish 0.05 0.15–0.20
Clams ND* 0.24
Flounder or sole 0.05 0.43
Crabs 0.06 0.34–0.40
Scallops 0.05 0.17

Other common seafoods

Mean mercury level in
parts per million (ppm) Omega-3 fatty acids
Lobster 0.31 0.07–0.41
Grouper 0.55 0.21
Halibut 0.26 0.40–1.00
Oysters ND* 0.37–1.17
Mahi mahi 0.19 0.12
Herring 0.04 1.71–1.81

Fish with the highest levels of mercury (about 1 ppm Hg)

Mean mercury level in
parts per million (ppm) Omega-3 fatty acids
Shark 0.99 0.90
Swordfish 0.97 0.70
Tilefish (golden bass or golden snapper) 1.45 0.80
King mackerel 0.73 0.34

Advice from the FDA
Women who are pregnant, planning to become pregnant or nursing — and young children — should not eat these fish. Everyone else can eat up to 7 ounces of high-mercury fish per week.

Fish with about 0.5 ppm Hg

Mean mercury level in parts per million (ppm) Omega-3 fatty acids
Fresh or frozen tuna 0.38 0.24–1.28
Red snapper 0.60 0.27
Orange roughy 0.54 0.002

Wine:hmmm::hmmm:

Here we have the full story…Thanks Peer Ji…:slight_smile:

But somewhere it also stated that the contamination in Fish is mainly in the Skin? so as long as we avoid eating the skin…the actual Meat has less contamination Right?

In all of the above Numbers the first number is the quantity of Mercury and the second number is the Omega 3’s

thanks X2 for the list of merc content in fish...really helpful:)