What can india do to fight this racism and discrimination of worst kind against those poor Dalits? Are they not Hindus? One wonders if Mohandas Karamchand ever fought for the rights of these people as well? Or was he fighting just for Brahmins?
This news item describes how 200 million souls of india’s population (Dalits make up aprox. 20% of india) are treated in their own country.
" *More than 60 years after Independence, untouchability is alive and thriving in India’s hinterlands. Pockets of social change have been but mere drops in an ocean of casteism and prejudice. This was borne out in a survey by National Law School, Bangalore, which was reported recently. Following this, TOI correspondents did a reality check in eight states across India.
Dalits are still segregated with little access to temples, water sources and upper caste areas. And ironically, even in Radhanagar in Hooghly district, the birthplace of social reformer Raja Ram Mohan Roy, there are separate crematoria for Brahmins and non-Brahmins. And in a bizarre case in Waganagere village in Gulbarga district of Karnataka, 120 Dalit households were forced to draw water from their well even after a dog fell in and died. During festivities, not only are they served food separately, but they have to bring their own plates and tumblers. Gulbarga, incidentally, has 126 cases registered under the SC/ST Prevention of Atrocities Act 1989 and the Protection of Civil Rights Act 1955, the highest in Karnataka.* "
constructive criticism and freedom of press working together to improve the situation… well done TOI…
regarding the issue… yes u cant change things overnight especially in far flung rural areas…and that too of practices which are there from time unknown… but as people get more educated things will change…
Re: 60 yrs on, Untouchability still alive and kickin in india
^^ Why are Dalits considered lesser human? Where is that india shining?
If one is to believe indians, india is the superpower, the most civilized, most prosper country of the world and God knows what.
For a country where 200 million people are not considered human (add 200 million more people of other religions), is this justified?
If one is to believe indians, india is the superpower, the most civilized, most prosper country of the world and God knows what.
For a country where 200 million people are not considered human (add 200 million more people of other religions), is this justified?
well i guess u heard it from the wrong people (unless ur not making it up) regarding India being the most civilized most blah blah... but yes it is civilized, it is prospering and yes if things go as it is now.. it could become a super power in another couple of decades.. .
regarding dalits and others.. these things do happen.. especially in rural areas.. and the government has setup effective steps to counter these issues.. we are still a developing country.. overtime these issues will be overcome especially with support of the press and other ngos..
now what about pakistans treatment of its hindus, christians and maybe even different sect of islam like ahmadiya, shia etc.. cmon.. these things happen in every developing country cos people dont have much work other than creating trouble..
^^ india is supposed to be the largest democracy in the world, no?
But if 200+ million people are considered untouchable, how can she even call herself "democratic"?
not sure what democracy has to do with cultural practices... but if ur talking about dalits in politics yes we have a few politicians leaders... more than that they have special privileges to get jobs and other stuff aimed at their social upliftment.. . and it has gone to an extent that the general populace has to struggle for getting jobs.. either way it is good..
absolutely agree that untouchability, racism, degradation cannot be justified and the all india society is guilty of this crime against humanity.
dear Marasi_Dee can you please confirm if islamic societies have given up the same tendencies in last 1400 years...a reply without any justification is welcome.......
atleast its not as bad as bombing each other. what about the discrimination of shia/ahmadi muslims in pakistan?
Not bad? lolz
How amusing is this.
How is your day today? no Salaam no hell how :)
If you think that i will be defending violence against shia, ahamadi or anyone innocent that you are the most innocent person on this GS :)
Think again because i am smelling grudge. Kia baat hai ji? Sabh theek to hai na?
So you do not mind discrimination against the Dalits in India (almost 200 million) and you do care about shia's and ahmadi's?? hmmmmm afsoos ki baat hai meri jaan!!
One person who isnt considered human in India according to U is CHIEF JUSTICE OF INDIA, another one is speaker of Indian Parliament, another one is Chief Minister of most populous state of India, and the list is endless in case U want more. Judging a whole nation of more than 1000 million ppls is not justified, specially when the the guy playing judge is................anyways, leave it.
Agreeeeeeeeeeeeeed judging few lunactics who are bombing innnocent people like in india mumbai does not mean all the pakistanis or muslims are bad. very good masha Allah
Re: 60 yrs on, Untouchability still alive and kickin in india
A bit curious - do Pakistani authorities censor newspapers from India and control how and when they are released? Looks like you picked up a August article from an Indian newspaper suddenly in mid October.
On the untouchability problem itself, I am touched that so many Pakistanis are very worried by it. I would welcome suggestions from them as well as to how to get rid of the problem.
Come on Marasi, Mo293 and happyheart - give us your suggestions
when last time mayawati took oath, some upper cast hindus also touched her feets..they had no option....had to do it for getting birth in the ministry....
but the question is how many upper cast hindus are ready to marry or marry their children in low cast families???