5th ODI - India Vs. Pak - Kanpur -Apr 15th

Re: 5th ODI - India Vs. Pak - Kanpur -Apr 15th

I like your sig catty. Has a deep meaning :rotfl:

“Cat’s motto: No matter what you’ve done wrong, always try to make it look like the dog did it.”

i was not generalising i was refering myself as hume.and thats wat m y interest in cricket is.sorry for misleading u

CONGRATS to all my Pakistani friends,

:( Match was already lost when Sehwag, Tendulkar and Dhoni were dismissed by Rana, Not to take anything away from the Pakistani teams performance, they definitely Played to win, and win they did, and win they deserved. Congrats again.

Afridi, what can I say, this guy is an enigma, I have always said he needs to be around for a few overs, and he can turn the match any which way he wants, just yesterday I was saying that he should come later, down the line, preferably in the slog overs, todays innings by him was a once in a blue moon type of thing, it is not consistent, and I still stand by my comment.

Waise I have to concede, that No matter at what number he comes to bat, he comes with intentions of Batting, and not worrying about the outcome, which, making the game so much more entertaining and a pleasure to watch. which is where quite a few Indian Batsmen can take a lesson from him.

102 from 46 with 10 4's and 9 6's, now that kind of numbers will make any Bowling side shiver in their shoes.

Rana on the other hand is another story, he is one Bowler that I thought is a fluke, and didnt have much respect for him, but boy oh boy has he proven me wrong!! he has consistently performed, and he is not scared to be hit for runs, he bowls not to slower the run rate, but he bowls to get wickets, his attitude reminds me of Waqar who unlike Wasim never worried about being hit, where as Wasim whenever got taken for a few runs would immediately start bowling defensively.

He is one Bowler who may become the Terminator for Shoaib Akhter, (Sorry Raindance Bhai):D, nahi lekin jokes apart, this series will definitely be an eye opener and also a wake up call for him, he will and should realise that no one is indispensable, and he is because of the team. and not the team because of him.

Thank God I am not allowed to stay up and watch the game, warna tension ke maare My blood pressure pata nahi kahan jata.:( Theek hai folks enjoy it while you can in the mean time I am gonna watch the Indo/Pak DVD of India's visit to Pakistan:D :p :D

Congrats again to all Pakistani Fans, and yes you do have reason to gloat and to rub it in:D .

ok irem ji aap jo kahati hain to theek hi hoga

He is my enigma:blush:

:slight_smile: thanks yar

bye, and sorry if i said anything mean to u…or abt YOUR afridi.. :smiley: :slight_smile:

tc, bye :wave:

khuda hafiz

:kaboom:

:crying: :crying:

Ro mat beta nahi to Afridi aa jaaiy ga. :stuck_out_tongue:

I guess mothers in india can now use afridi’s name (instead of gabbar singh’s) to put their kids to sleep when they wont and make them eat their dinner when they won’t.

and girls will be using afridi’s name to get out of any relations:D

Shahid Afridi opens the inning for a set plan which he has been ‘Very Consistent’ with, also keeping in view that he does not waste too many dot balls before reaching his exit point of the innings. He is sent ahead off the regular openers for a quick fire 30-50 runs
and as such his wicket fall does not create a dominos effect any more.

Any thing beyond that is a “Free bonus sachet for meat tenderizing rub”

Most of the time he exceeds my expectations :salute::clap:

:jhanda:
Pakistan ZindabaD - Baqi sab eskay’baD

great game...i wish i had paid to see afridi's ining....who is this rana naved hasan? how old is he? i think he has been consistent

Shahid Afridi - master of the chaos

The Pakistan View by Osman Samiuddin

April 15, 2005

Everything is rendered meaningless. The pitch, the field, the captain, the bowler, strategies, bowling changes, opening partners, the nervous nineties, traditional thought … everything goes, such is Shahid Afridi’s joyous disregard for convention.

When India instigated a stirring fightback late in the morning to eke out 249 on a suspiciously (and thankfully) unODI-like pitch, the target held fears. Low bounce, a bit of grip, Anil Kumble and Harbhajan Singh in tandem, new captain - game on. Pakistan’s start, we said, would be crucial. A breezy fifty here, maybe with a cameo from Afridi, and it could get interesting. But Afridi rendered it all irrelevant.

Two initial overs were played out with decorum, nine runs were scored respectfully. Then madness broke out. Afridi first picked up Lakshmipathy Balaji off his shins over square leg. A couple of balls later, a dextrous flick in the same area brought another four. Balaji adjusted his radar, pitching the next ball straighter. He’ll block it, I thought. Afridi disagreed, picking it up straight but dizzyingly high. Aha! Caught at mid-off then? But the ball kept going, reaching higher and travelling further still. He was indeed caught - but by the ballboy two yards behind the boundary. To conclude the over, he part-slashed, part-drove past point; no-one saw the ball until it crashed into the boundary boards.

OK, so far, so normal. A breezy cameo 20 meets an abrupt end. Ah, here comes Anil Kumble, bringing with him three options for Afridi: stumped, bowled, or caught slicing between mid-off and cover. The first ball was directed over and beyond square leg. Well, it was a waist-high full-toss, and got what it deserved. Soon he will perish. Next ball, Afridi showed us his unique interpretation of the sweep. The ball looped outside off, fullish, so Afridi bent down and, with a cross-batted flick, sent it over midwicket.

Kumble went round the wicket to bring the ugly miscued, sliced slog to mid-off’s hands into play. All went to plan, except someone forgot to factor in Afridi’s forearms. The shot sailed over long-off, landing and dribbling to the fence. When he stepped out next ball to lift, casually, between long-on and midwicket for a fourth six, finally we sensed that something might be up.

He soon pushed Zaheer Khan for - hold your breath - an utterly orthodox defensive push down the ground for four and something was indeed up: his 50, off 20 balls. Until then Zaheer had avoided the carnage, but Afridi disregarded the fact that the next ball was on a good length, and sent it soaring over midwicket. It was his 200th six, in 204 one-day matches.

**And on he went, smashing everything and everyone. Dinesh Mongia, who we all thought might do a bit, was greeted, mockingly, with a forward defensive. The next ball landed atop the shamiana [tent] enclosure where the Pakistani fans were seated at long-on, and it brought the team 100 up in the 10th over. The rest of his innings, before and after, will be remembered as a blur, a flurry of unreal machismo.

What happened? Fields were changed, maybe, and I think bowlers were too. Did some balls turn? Others may have bounced awkwardly or gripped dangerously, but so what? Afridi remained Afridi, disregarding. Occasionally, between balls, he would diligently practise a defensive stroke, elbow high and straight, stance upright … and then forget about all that as the next ball came down. The nineties, usually so tense, were barely considered: the ten most vital runs in batting traversed uncaringly, with three fours and a couple of singles somewhere among them.**

One image will remain, of absolute tranquillity amid the chaos: Afridi, standing at the non-striker’s end, in the 14th over, as he approached his 100, gloves off, both arms swinging freely. Was he keeping them loose? Or was he pausing for breath, taking stock maybe as he contemplated what turned out to be the joint-second-fastest 100 in ODI history (he already owns the fastest)? More likely he was allowing us to pause for breath and take stock of what we were witnessing.

The hundred arrived – his fourth in all, but his first in exactly three years - with his tenth four soon afterwards to go with nine sixes. The very next ball, cynically disproving those who tell him to pay heed to defence occasionally, he was bowled, prodding forward to Harbhajan Singh. He’d faced 46 balls for 102; his opening partner Salman Butt – yes, he was also playing – made 21 in the same number of balls. When Afridi left, the match withered. It became meaningless, it became conventional … we lost interest and didn’t really care how it would end. For 75 minutes, we didn’t watch cricket, we watched Shahid Afridi toying with it.

^^ What a great Icing :hehe::k: , Good Job Afridi :salute: Mashallah :smiley:

WOW... Some hitting that was.......took me time to get back to normal to come and post..
Anyway with India bashing it would have been difficult to praise Afridi with out getting abused........ :-)

One of the best I have every seen, clean clean hitting, no chances...........

This what brings people to sports......

Shivangi, you are sounding more and more like girl from one of the x-rated movie with Afridi as hero... May be you won't mind that as well......... :-)

Rana Navedul Hasan has been performing very good in ODIs since Akhtar’s departure from Australia and bowled beautifully again yesterday. He is around 27 years old I think.

Mashallah, whata great inning Afridi played. Good to see we reached the target in 43rd over. All players were struggling (see SR) but no sir, there is no such word as “struggle” in Afridi’s dictionary :salute:

Now Pakistan is leading the series 3-2 :k:

:jhanda:

I dont think Pakistani players were ‘struggling’ but they were playing it safe and ‘milking’ the bowling because of the start they got so that explains the strike rate. Wicket was slow and turning but not to ‘struggling’ extent

:jhanda: + :jhanda: + :jhanda: - 2

PS: :hula: Shahid Afridi & Pakistan Zindabad! :hula: