5th ODI - India Vs. Pak - Kanpur -Apr 15th

Re: 5th ODI - India Vs. Pak - Kanpur -Apr 15th

Now that Mr. Dravid is in Ganguly shoes lets see if he bats normally as Indian crowd is unforgiving

Rainy and Game, both shut your mouths. You guys have been dissing this young team ever since the squad was announced for India. :mad3: I say go to your hideouts and come back when your hero makes a come back into the team. Seriously you guys have no rights to comment on current team, that has produced beyond their abilities.

It is already satisfactory performance for a realistic person like myself. I never expected the fight back this team has shown in the series. They guys are playing for Pakistan and have great attitude :mash:

--------------x----------
Thanda ho , tay tata na pee :blush::k:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=173484

Sir ji, I back my words and still think that Inzi could have been better in last few matches of VB, we were so close. Him, bad luck and some umpiring cost us the finals.

But we have seen a different Inzi since Banglore test. I would say, he is improving and learning from his mistakes. Still have lots of room to improve, but the good thing is he has realised that he has to mobilize in the field and cut some quick decisions instead of waiting for opponents to make mistakes all the time. So its a changing behaviour on the captain side. But the over all team has played well so far, specially hunger for win is clear even with limited abilities and experience.

Inzi’s captaincy was impressive in the last game. Even though the bowling was mediocre and we got thrashed on a batting strip, but you could see Inzi blocking the gaps. As the pitch wasn’t doing much, he took the slips out and placed short midwicket and cover resulting in Sehwag’s wicket. Short-leg was on the left of the umpire due to the slowness of the wicket. That’s all good captaincy.
I feel they should have 2 guys at gully position for Sehwag, bring the fine leg up and safeguard runs square of the wicket for the Indian openers. That would save a lot of boundaries in the first 15.

Smoothie bhai, daanto to na yaar! I’m loving the spirit this team is showing, but I still think we are a bowler short, especially in test matches. Regardless of you hating on the great fast bowler :smiley: , Shoaib will be back for the West Indies tour. So let’s enjoy his return when it comes!

I have no doubt about Shoaib’s abilities and him being the best bowler for Pakistan. But I was pissed off on both of you how you guys humiliated the weak team we sent to India. And the attitude that Team management/ PCB is miss handling Shoaib’s case etc etc. Believe me after not getting a recall for the ODI series (inspite him saying he’s available and has gained match fitness) he must have learned the much needed lesson. And if Pakistan levelled the ODI series, it will be a bigger lesson for him, how an underdog team with limited talent gave a fight to the second best team in the world. Both in test and ODI. Only because of decipline and determination, which he lacks the most.

I hope and wish he will come back as an insaan in the team and will play like others are playing. Also he has time to get more match fitness so he can bowl a full 6 over spell in tests. No player is bigger than the game itself.

:jhanda:

Smooth man you ask for too much. :hehe:

It's actually good India didn't sweep the last two odi's. Will anyone bother attending game 5 and 6, if India was 4 up at this point?

Thats a pretty big IF, Atlantis.

so what do you guys think…seems like that this time we may see some low scores…i mean < 300…

http://www.indianexpress.com/full_story.php?content_id=68320?headline=Wicket~favours~first~bat
Wicket favours first bat
Veteran pitch doctor Chhote Lal puts 280 as winning figure
G.S. VIVEK
Send Feedback E-mail this story Print this story
Posted online: Thursday, April 14, 2005 at 0037 hours IST

KANPUR, APRIL 13: Welcome to Green Park Stadium for the fifth ODI. And then, in the same breath, welcome to chaos. As usual, it’s the wrangling between the Uttar Pradesh Cricket Association and the civic administration over matters ranging from passes to security that has kept the city in tension.

Locals believe this time, just like the importance of the match itself, the fight behind the scenes couldn’t get bigger than this.

Advertisement
Citibank
However, the game must go on. And, talking cricket, the pitch and outfield look in good — if not excellent — condition. The outfield in particular had been a cause for concern of late, but the relaid grass is evenly spread.

The wicket, according to Anand Shukla, BCCI pitches committee member, and chief curator Shiv Kumar, is batsman-oriented; spinners, they said, will get slow turn as the match progresses. ‘‘The bounce will not be as high as the one we saw in Jamshedpur but it will be good for the batsmen to play on the rise’’, says Shukla.

He goes so far as to predict that the previous highest score of 259 (India vs England in 1989) at this venue should get a beating.

Legendary groundsman Chhote Lal, who has prepared practice and match wickets here since 1979-80, says the match will be decided in favour of who bats first. ‘‘It will be difficult chasing’’, he says, ‘‘a total of 280-plus should be safe.’’

Here is a tinge of green but it’s just dead rolled grass. Not like the green he left in his very first Test wicket, which West Indian fast bowler Malcolm Marshall exploited. “I still remember that match. Malcolm bowled a bouncer and Gavaskar’s bat left his hand. Everyone fumed at me during lunch, asking my why I left grass on the wicket.’’

India have played eight of the nine ODIs staged here, winning six. One of those two defeats was when India — captained by Kapil Dev — were dismissed for 78 by new boys Sri Lanka, back in 1986.

The one player who should be looking forward to Friday is Sachin Tendulkar, for whom this is a happy hunting ground. ‘‘Sachin’s innings here against Australia was one of the best ever played at this ground’’, Chhote Lal remembers.

‘‘If I’m not wrong, he hit six sixes in that innings. I was sitting besides the sight-screen and all of them flew over the screen. And then, even that wicket was crumbling a bit in the second innings.’’

An ominous bit of detail on a man who seems to be finding his form again.

Yes sir. I give you my word that even if India had won last 4 matches, you would have seen a full crowd in last 2 matches…Not only a full crowd but a jam-packed crowd…dude, Indians love cricket with great passion…Did you forget that every stadium was full for all five days in each and every test match…Cricket is at its best when it is played in Indian stadiums…jam-packed crowd roaring all over with great passion is the best sight.. Not like loser Pakistanis who hardly show up in stadiums. They even didn’t show up during the last India-Pakistan series. I still remember that there were hardly few hundred spectators in the ground for most of the times during Multan and Lahore test Matches. Indians were so surprised and there were quite a few articles addressing this problem. Shame on Pakistani spectators who never show up in stadiums to support their team…and if they every show up, they bend their back to support the opponents….seriously what type of losers are we…..

I always enjoyed Inzimam's batting from as far back as I care to remember. His Capt10-C under Miandad suffered few a lot to a laughing stock in NZ.
His ability to muster backup plans was nil for obviouse reasons.

At start of the Australian tour we all had reservation to his ability and the new young team that is out there. But I can say this that I have not seen any historical examples to back up in saying that Inzimam has has shown remarkable recovery in his tactics and ploy to his game, almost fit for a chess player.
Only if he can also improve his diplomacy and communication drawbacks he would surpass any need for change in Capt10-C.

Same goes for Shoaib Akhter who you still care to call him as 'Actor'
Therefore your point of 'Us' pissing you off with our posts is null and void.

On the contrary we set an example of "standing by our men" and believe in forward looking getsures / hope for betterment of the game rather then what happened yesterday and how many puppies the 'aussie bitch' delivered.

True! Fans are unforgiving and expect positive results regardless of any thing.
Be it Rana/ Sami or a player who spent long hours under the scorching sun deserves our little forgiveness at certain times rather then to play in the hands of the cruel devilish world out there.

My firm stand on Shoaib's case can be seen in parallel to Maradona - Ronaldo - Backham etc. call it loyalty to the flag and the team if you may.

Lets enjoy and appreciate these youngsters working their herat out for constant wins. Knowing how we feel and react. :(

yo, is shoaib akhtar gonna play in next 2 ODIs??

At least im sure u will bother now and keep away from crunch matches.We 'll closely monitor ur presence tomorrow:D

One main problem is Afridi's bowling. All of a sudden he has lost the bowling form and is going for alot of runs without taking wickets. And for sure u cant drop him.

Afridi is just fine. He usually gets clobbered on batting friendly pitches where every other bowler is being helped over the boundary as well.

I like the team we have right now. Strong batting lineup till number 8. We can further strengthen it by bringing in Mohammad Hafeez in Kaneria's place. So far Kaneria isnt getting much out of the pitches and is being hit all over the ground. So why not have Hafeez instead of him who will give away roughly just as many runs but at the same time give a much needed support to the batting lineup.

I have noticed Inzamam's captaincy is much better with Younis Khan in the team. I think Younis brings a lot to the game and notices every little thing the opponents do...and the way he go Sehwag run out was brilliant by Pakistani fielding standards...and I think he helps Inzi a lot in the bowling and field changes.

Having said that...dont jump on me and say im trying to say Younis should be the captain or Inzamam hasnt improved as captain. There is no doubt he has improved and will continue to improve but Younis is definetly playing the VC part perfectly and helps Inzi out in everything unlike Youhana.

I think we should play another fast bowler instead of Kaneria, both of the reserve fast bowlers swing the ball quite a bit and they have more control than Rana and Sami.

I would go with:

Salman
Younis
Malik
Inzi
Yoyo
Razzaq
Afridi
Akmal
Sami
Rana
Rao/Nazir

Batting order can be changed according to the match situation.

i think kaneria should be replaced by hafeez or arshad, as afridi and malik are giving alot of runs