4,955 villages provided electricity in 2006-07.

Mashallah. Great progress on providing “Roti, kapda and makan” to the people. :jhanda:

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\11\06\story_6-11-2007_pg7_43

4,955 villages provided electricity in 2006-07’

ISLAMABAD: Around 4,955 villages have been electrified during year 2006-07 and the Multan Electric Power Company (MEPCO) has completed electrification of 5,001 houses, said MEPCO chief executive on Monday

3 Likes

Re: 4,955 villages provided electricity in 2006-07.

the economic growth was very apparent...I dont know why most people can't see the bigger picture

For those people in the villages this is a life altering sitution...imagine finally getting this now thought of basic necessity of life....and yet people r still blabbering about oh he did me wrong..blah blah blah......the rest is all white noise

You will be surprised to see how much progress there has been in the villages in the last 5-6 years. Now so many people in villages now have access to all the leading technoligies - the internet, cable tv, landlines, mobile phones, apart from all the basic necessities.

Alhamdulilallha. So much progress under President Musharaf and his govt. Long may it continue. Ameen.

That is really so good to know..Its just that most people dont look t that and keep on complaining about what has gone wrong...

Yup very true.

Is this a Musharaff admiration club we have going here.

Even gas for cooking has reached quite a few places.

and here we had to live without electricity for hours [sometimes even for 8-10hrs] and we were in cantt lahore…some progress i say. shut off electricity in major cities and transfer it to villages…shabash hai…:k:

Only if some electricity + bulb was provided to Musharraf's empty head we might have done a lot more.

Yes, that's true.

Yes. It is about time the villigers too enjoyed what has been the pleasure of many in the cities.

Yeah. You need to leave.

Too many bijli chors in the cities. Village folk are more honest. :slight_smile:

call it whatever, but its true specially villages got much developed in last 8 years or so.

native villages of my parents, got electricity first, then telephones and internet, streets, and now natural gas is being supplied.

and I am sure this was like a dream few years back like calling village relatives directly. worst or good yes mushy and co has delivered somehow better than the previous lot.

it also make sense to provide basic utilities to villages as 70% of the population live in rural areas hence the votes! and these will be handy in next elections.

when villagers decide to vote that take these things not who is at the top or which party is ruling pakistan or its emergency or martial law or the democracy. they will simply vote for party or person/MNA MPA who made that happen in their area.

@mr saieen
yes this is right if we have less electricity villages have same rights to have access to this, if ou switch off one blub in your city home, that will be enough for little house in village. be considerate Pakistan has much developed cities compared to remote areas and they need to brought up comparable level if not equal to cities. indirectly this will also help to get rid of suicide bombers and exteremism.

Yaar, if you give people one of their rights, it does not mean that you can take 2 others.

Yes. Very true.

Aalsi, your original article mentioned almost 5000 villages provided with electricty, and this referred to those areas covered by just the Multan Electric Power Company (MEPCO). Quite impressive in it’s own right.

But for the whole of Pakistan, all remaining 37,000 villages without electricity will be supplied by the end of this year, under the under the Prime Minister’s Roshan Pakistan Programme.

There are a total of 127,568 villages in Pakistan and 90,489 have been electrified by 2004-05. There are 37,079 villages still without power. However, electrification work is in progress in 6,838 villages which will be completed by December. Electrification work in the remaining 30,241 villages would be completed by December 2007.

http://www.pakistanlink.com/Headlines/Oct05/07/06.htm

That is one hell of an achievment by this government, which has unfortunately got little noticed. Well done to Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz and his govt. :k:

Well it is great achievement.... now can we have electric power in Karachi please (no load shedding)?