3rd Test Pak Vs Aus !!

This is the team I would go with for the Zimbabve tour. Lets hope for the best !

Saeed Anwar
Hasan Raza
Yousef Youhana
Younis Khan
Abdul Razzaq
Shahid Afridi
Rashid Latif
Wasim Akram ( Vice-Captain)
Saqlain Mushtaq
Waqar Younis (Captain)
Shoaib Akhtar

12th Man should be Faisal Iqbal, and if Hasan Raza goes on a bad roll, like Misbah, then he can be replaced by Faisal.

Hassan Raza is not an opener, why would he want to open, a better idea would be to open with Younis who has been batting at no 3 and in recent matches batting at number 3 means batting ten minutes after the match starts. He can probably be tried in that slot.

Also Moin should be brought back in place of Rashid.

Although I do want Moin back...but I put Rashid up there because there is little hope that he actually will be called back...thats why I put Rashid up there...and about the openinig...I think Hasan Raza is a solid player, who will stay at the crease for a long time, and if he opens with Saeed Anwar, then it will be a good combination, as Saeed is a relatively fast player and has a strike rate of over 80.0 I think keeping Younis in the middle is good untill Inzamam comes back, and when he does, we will see what to do...lets hope the opening problem gets fixed soon.

Originally posted by ehsan: *
**Hassan Raza is not an opener,
* why would he want to open, a better idea would be to open with Younis who has been batting at no 3 and in recent matches batting at number 3 means batting ten minutes after the match starts. He can probably be tried in that slot.

Also Moin should be brought back in place of Rashid.

Whsan bhai, there isn't a such thing as an opener, all current era openers started out as mid order batsman.
Saeed Anwar, Mark Waugh, Tendulkar, Gilchrist, they were all mid order batsman, it takes a right mind to take that spot and unfortunatly Younis Khan doesn't deserve it. He is always in a hurry to score runs, once he hits a four he gets carried away with his famous sweeps. We need someone like Anwar who score runs and keep his wicket at the sametime.

I dont know why we even expected our team to win. The team is too inexperienced to expect that result. Hasan Raza and Faisal Iqbal did well, and hopefully the following series with our senior players back would be a much better performance :k:

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
Whsan bhai, there isn't a such thing as an opener, all current era openers started out as mid order batsman.
Saeed Anwar, Mark Waugh, Tendulkar, Gilchrist, they were all mid order batsman, it takes a right mind to take that spot and unfortunatly Younis Khan doesn't deserve it. He is always in a hurry to score runs, once he hits a four he gets carried away with his famous sweeps. We need someone like Anwar who score runs and keep his wicket at the sametime.

Who says Anwar started out as a Middle order batsman ?? or Mark Waugh Sachin Tendulkar or Gilly as an opener in Test Cricket ?? Saeed Anwar has played 98% of his test innings as an opener, Waugh,Sachin,Gilly have played 99% of their innings as Middle order batsman.

Opening in tests requires different skills than a middle order batsman. Of Course Basic of the batting still remain the same.

Who says Anwar started out as a Middle order batsman ?? **
Saeed Anwar debut

Mark Waugh
Mark Waugh debut

Sachin Tendulkar
Tendulkar debut

You have a nice day :slight_smile:

if any batsman cud be sent in as an opener, pak wud have definitely thrown in their best batsman (i.e. inzi) for the task....

only the number three batsman, can be used as an alternative opener....

and in our present players, i dont even see a single number three batsman....
we never had any after ijaz ahmed....

Pakistan 221 & 196/8 (64.4 ov)
Can they avoid innings defeat?I get the feeling they can..
Hasan Raza and Sami doing good...

For thosewho actually watched the game on TV....

How exactly did Hassan Raza play. Did he show any sort of proffesionalism.

HASAN RAZA OUT...

I take my quest back..

65.5 Bichel to Hasan Raza, OUT: Short and rising delivery outside the
off, Raza caught in two minds, to leave or not to leave? Manages
to steer it to the right of Gilchrist - who dives and takes it in
one hand- a good catch!

aakhir hai to pakistani na....
double minded ho kar to khelna in ke blood me hai....

Pakistan 203 all out.

** Australia win by an innings and 20 runs**

A comprehensive victory and total demolition of the Pakistani team in the series. A whitewash of the series.

Warne man of the series for his 27 wickets.

oh come on, atleast appreciate the guy for his effort… It WAS a professional performance by him, I htink that you have the impression whoever gets out is non-professional??? wowoww good man :k:

arey bhai mere…

itni lambi innings khlene ke baad…when a person is in a complete rythm, the eye is all set. Or phir esi harkat. Ek baat ka pata hai keh they’r balling outside the offstump, thats how they want you to get out…

Phir bhi ullooN ki tarha…

Hasan raza played well defencive innings. I think the best of all was faisal iqbal. showd real talent. Unfortunately got run out . shud be given more series

http://www.cricinfo.com/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2002/OCT/078492_CI_22OCT2002.html

Australia complete clean sweep with ease
Agha Akbar - 22 October 2002

Pakistan must have heaved a sigh of relief. The rout has been savage and comprehensive, but the torture is finally over. Australia go back Down Under, hot and tired but none the worse for their exertions. Which weren’t considerable today anyway, as the Pakistani batsmen didn’t keep them in the field for very long, losing by an innings and 20 runs.

It went into the fourth day, but only just, for an hour or so. Only the last rites remained, and once Hasan Raza (68, off 154 deliveries, 11 fours), was snapped up by Adam Gilchrist off Andy Bichel’s short one, it was all over. Nine deliveries later, Mohammad Sami holed out at mid-on essaying a pull to give Bichel his third wicket.

With eight wickets in the match and 27 in the series, Shane Warne walked away with the man-of-the-match and man-of-the-series awards.

3-0 winners for the second successive time against Pakistan, a team which has often expressed ambitions rather too loudly, with little to impress when it has mattered, of being the pretenders to their pre-eminence. Australia go on to another Ashes campaign, and though England has promised stout resistance, Steve Waugh dismissed it, with a casual remark and a shrug: “They’d said it the last time too”.

For Pakistan the whitewash has not just been a massive blow to the ego. While everyone from the cricketing establishment, including skipper Waqar Younis, is looking at the ‘plus points’ from the series, nobody is sure of the complexion of the team which leaves for Zimbabwe in about a week’s time. We can be sure of more uncertainty.

hey, we made it to fourth day, and reduced margin of loss to innings and 20 runs ONLY, cool :k:

I hope Hasan Raza keeps his performance and does not constipate like Misbah who played good in first test and the rest are all junk i.e. Imran Nazir, Taufeeq Umar, Imran Farhat… they need more exposure to “good bowling” and fielding as well.

You know how to change the topic - We are discussing TEST CRICKET and not ODI cricket. in ODI even Ian Botham and Kapil dev opened the Innings for England India respectively - Doesn’t make them opener.

Check the Records of Saeed Anwar in TESTS - and also tell me how many times he has opened. Also check the record of Waugh and Sachin.