Re: 3rd Test: India v Pakistan at Bangalore - Dec 08
Was there any criticism regarding pitch conditions from the commentators?
Expert analysis from the box:
Gotta love Aamer Sohail: "Bowlers... they struggled." "Umpires... they had a hard time".
Was there any criticism regarding pitch conditions from the commentators?
Gotta love Aamer Sohail: "Bowlers... they struggled." "Umpires... they had a hard time".
Keep dreaming Mr.Ali_Re****
Read what happened last time when we toured Australia
http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/ci/content/story/137524.html
So Pakistan managed to hold on for a draw despite the best efforts of their batsmen. From 144/3 they slipped to 154/7. Even England would have been proud of that
After all a terrifyingly painful series has ended. Our team has been consistent in loosing at occasions and also performing very very poorly on and off the field. Helped India to make and break new records that were held for decades.
Being a brave Pakistani and the nation full of sportsman spirit Well done to India !
lol saieen is like thali ka baigan aur lota.jidhar plada bhari dekha udhar hi ludak jaata hai.
I feel pity on him (at times).
Inzaman and Sohaail should be in the commentary box for once together. I would love it.
Except for **Misbah's **reincarnation as the next Inzimam for Pak , nothing else has really been gained from this series by either team.
This was one dismal Test Series.
Poor captaincy by Kumble (yes, India won the series I know) and abysmal bowling/fielding by both teams.
Too much should not be read into some performances like Arafat's and Ishant's 5 wicket hauls. Ishant Sharma was horrible with the ball really....bowling more than 90% of his deliveries short and wide outside off. The substandard pitch with its unpredictable bounce accounted for most of Arafat's and Ishant's wickets.
Kumble's captaincy was not tested eough by Pakistan - but during crunch situations he was found wanting. I feel he handled Harbhajan badly, over-bowled Ganguly at the expense of other bowlers (including himself) and in the second innings in the 3rd test - he did not show any urgency to go for a win through an early declaration (proved costly in the end).
For Pakistan, Yaseer Hameed and Faisal Iqbal need to be out of the team asap. Hameed is an easy prey with his faulty techinique and Faisal Iqbal showed his lack of skills in the 50 he scored....for the people who did not see his innings, don't be fooled by the scorecard - he was Plumb LBW once - not given by Rudi. He scored majority of boundaries either through edges or only because of the attacking field set by India - most fielders were crowding the batsman leaving the boundaries unprotected. And finally he stupidly gifted his wicket by going for the big one - when runs were hardly of the essence for Pakistan.
And about Shoaib Akhtar - PCB must decide on how they want to deal with him in Pak's furture games - once and for all. His absence for the most part of the 1st innings both in Kolkata and Bangalore helped India bat Pakistan out of the game right-away (with 600+ scores). Now he may have shown a great deal of commitment when he bowled and seemed like the only bowler to threaten India - but quite simply - he is a lot of expense on the balance sheet. I mean his body language outside of his short spells of tear-away express bowling is that of a man who thinks he can get away with anything. He is not inclined to run after the ball to the boundary when fielding, did not look like he was serious about his batting...and even when he bowls - he is wincing in pain every few balls, getting treated by the physio on the boundary lines etc....not a good sight. If I was Shoaib Akhtar, I would really be looking for other career options.
Kumble said this at the presentation ceremony :
"I'd given up bowling seam-up 25 years ago and didn't think I'd have to resort to it again, in my hometown, but the pitch warranted it."
If only Kumble had resorted to Medium-pace bowling in the 1st innings also, Pakistan wouldn't have scored those 500+ runs.
On this wicket, all that was required was wicket-2-wicket pace bowling and leaving the pitch to do its thing but pacers from both sides squandered this opportunity.
Thankfully the pain and agony has ended. I cannot recall a worst bowling performance by our bowlers in a series. My GOD that was pathetic.
^ yea usually its the batsmen who give it away but have to say in this case, they saved the game twice for us
Spot on Some1
couldn’t have said it better … u forgot Sami (did dhobi Bhai threaten u ???)
For India: Commeth Australia commeth Agarkar ![]()
i hope they include Murli Karthik for the tests
Good luck India down under coz u’ll need every bit of it
Except for **Misbah's **reincarnation as the next Inzimam for Pak , nothing else has really been gained from this series by either team.
This was one dismal Test Series.
Poor captaincy by Kumble (yes, India won the series I know) and abysmal bowling/fielding by both teams.
Too much should not be read into some performances like Arafat's and Ishant's 5 wicket hauls. Ishant Sharma was horrible with the ball really....bowling more than 90% of his deliveries short and wide outside off. The substandard pitch with its unpredictable bounce accounted for most of Arafat's and Ishant's wickets.
Kumble's captaincy was not tested eough by Pakistan - but during crunch situations he was found wanting. I feel he handled Harbhajan badly, over-bowled Ganguly at the expense of other bowlers (including himself) and in the second innings in the 3rd test - he did not show any urgency to go for a win through an early declaration (proved costly in the end).
For Pakistan, Yaseer Hameed and Faisal Iqbal need to be out of the team asap. Hameed is an easy prey with his faulty techinique and Faisal Iqbal showed his lack of skills in the 50 he scored....for the people who did not see his innings, don't be fooled by the scorecard - he was Plumb LBW once - not given by Rudi. He scored majority of boundaries either through edges or only because of the attacking field set by India - most fielders were crowding the batsman leaving the boundaries unprotected. And finally he stupidly gifted his wicket by going for the big one - when runs were hardly of the essence for Pakistan.
And about Shoaib Akhtar - PCB must decide on how they want to deal with him in Pak's furture games - once and for all. His absence for the most part of the 1st innings both in Kolkata and Bangalore helped India bat Pakistan out of the game right-away (with 600+ scores). Now he may have shown a great deal of commitment when he bowled and seemed like the only bowler to threaten India - but quite simply - he is a lot of expense on the balance sheet. I mean his body language outside of his short spells of tear-away express bowling is that of a man who thinks he can get away with anything. He is not inclined to run after the ball to the boundary when fielding, did not look like he was serious about his batting...and even when he bowls - he is wincing in pain every few balls, getting treated by the physio on the boundary lines etc....not a good sight. If I was Shoaib Akhtar, I would really be looking for other career options.
Good points and I absolutely agree to the bits about Akhtar and Arafat. Akhtar seemed like someone who was playing for himself rather than the team. I like him but I find his attitude at times very disappointing and frustrating. But then as you mentioned he was THE only bowler who looked like picking up any wickets. Even when he seemed to be trying hard he did not show enough urgency to go for quick wickets or bowl with the same passion as say a fired-up Waqar Younis or Imran Khan. That is the least you should expect from your main strike bowler. Arafat had a promising debut but I still have great reservations about his bowling. I have said enough about Faisal and Hameed in the past. They should never be a part of our test team. I would even prefer Kamran Akmal over them as a batsman. The less said about Sami's bowling the better.
You very rightly mentioned Misbah's rebirth as a batsman but I think Ganguly also deserves a word of praise for his consistent batting. I have never seen him bat with such purpose and authority throughout an entire test series.
Some1 bhai,
I will have to disagree with you on Ishant Sharma, yes he was not consistent enough with his line and length really I dont think anyone cares about his 5 wicket haul, but he has got the talent for the international scene. He was the only bowler to trouble misbah when everyone else had given up. He has decent pace and his height only helps his cause. Throughout the test we saw a vast improvement and I think with more experience he can get better and he definitely needs to taken to Australia.
How can you say that?! We are not in full strength and still fighting pretty well...
boss the thing is that u cant always use the reason of missing players the players that are playing do have some credibility to be in the team like pakistan where there is so much competition to be in the team and as well as india c`mon they are also not playing with 2 of their main batsmen as well as 2 of their strike bowlers from the last 2 test matches as well as RP singh who has recently caused pakistan a lot of trouble, so that is the reason i said that, I am a die hard fan of pakistan but facts are facts.
Sir, agreed. They played the better cricket on the tour, but are not the better team. If you'd compare Australia with Pak, I'd say Australia is the better team.
You see a difference?!
no no thats not wat i meant, i meant india was a better team as a unit in this tour. Pakistan rulz otherwise ![]()
Thank God, this series is over. What a pathetic batting+bowling. If it wasn't for Misbah+Akmal we would have lost 3-0.
But what really bothers me is that nothing will change. PCB won't do anything to find new talent so at least we have one backup for every player. With current team lineup we're gonna need backup.
MISBAH, AKMAL and welcome back SAMI, good series for them and on the other side ofcourse DADA came out as a gr8 player infact for me DADA was the deserving player of the series closely second is MISBAH
Good for Miandad, he was'nt the coach this time around, else he would have taken all the heat. For Lawson, win or loss, it will always be cool. Nobody discusses his coaching anyways.