3rd Test - Eng vs Pak - Leeds, 4th-8th Aug.

Re: 3rd Test - Eng vs Pak - Leeds, 4th-8th Aug.

Would it be possible to find out who is that other person? :smiley:

• Whispers * Mod Poweeerss. :smiley:

There are still two days in which Pakistan has chance to win the game. Class batting by Muhammad Yusuf and Younis Khan with tremendous partnerships as usual.

Faisal Iqbal makes me proud everytime he goes out to bat, regardless of the number of ducks that are still floating in his pond!

Monty bucks the trend at headingly destroying Pakistan line-up!!! See story @ Cricinfo.

Assalam O Aalaikom dhobi_bhai,

How are you? Pleasured to talk to you after long time. Indeed, someone needs to replace him. Now I realize Faisal Iqbal should relax. Hopefully there are some other batsmen available. Dhoabi_bhai you are a nice person who abide the rules, should be a Mod.

Take Care,
Allah Hafiz!

Walikum Assalam Bhaijaan.

Great to have spoken with you as well! :)

this might be the last time we ever see mohammad sami.

at least for a few years. he might pull a shahid nazir and make a return 6 or 7 years later.

so make the most of it tommorow. and just remember when he first emerged with his fast bowling. =)

lol.

England will most likely be playing for a draw now and will not be declaring anytime on the 4th day. If everything goes well for them tomorrow they will be scoring around 325 runs and few more on the final day before a possible declaration around lunch making sure that Pakistan cannot chase the target.

Dismissing the entire english team could be expecting too much from our bowlers, however it is not impossible. Pakistan can hope to win if they can get some key players out quickly. In that case, even though if they fail to get all 10 wickets tomorrow, they will put breaks on run scoring and will have a realistic chance of chasing on the final day. If that happens, Inshallah, it will be the 9th time in the history of test cricket, that a team scoring 500+ in the first innings will lose.

However there will also be a possibilty of Pakistan collapse while chasing, since it will be the final innings on the final day and chasing even a target around 250 is a daunting task.

I say there is 50% chance of a draw, 30% chance of Pakistan victory and 20% of English.
:jhanda:

Yousaf is just 13 runs short of 1000 this year and 5 short of 500 in this series.Younis is 52 short of 1000 this year. He just needs 66 runs in his next innings to have a average of 50.Their partnership was 24th best of all time,and 3rd best for Pakistan,best ever outside Pakistan for any wicket,Out of 64 ,300+runs partnerships in test cricket so for ,Pakistan has 11,Which is 2nd best only after Aus (14).Danish scored only 2nd double figure score of his test career in 52 innings,First one in last 41 innings.

Danish Kaneria looked more comfortable than Kamran Akmal !

But not to hate on Akmal... he was put into an extremley tough situation, with Inzy tripping - literally - and then being "stuck" with tail enders.

I think Akmal's a great batsmen, but he's still young and he needs other decent batsmen in order for him to excel. He's extremley versatile because he plays good with all of our 'elite' batsmen, but in my opinion, he still has ways to go in carrying the game with tail enders.

Kaneria's little moment of fame was highly entertaining.

I was actually surprised to see Sami playing Monty really well, maybe Panesar was tired by that time or just took it easy but Sami handled him with more confidecne than top order batsmen and if Sami had not decided to blindly slog, he would have played a LONG inning.

The funniest moment today - Inzamam's out. For those of you who did not watch his out, please do so. He was not even get out before and he jumps into the wicket hitting his chest on.

As much as I am delighted that Pakistan got a small token lead, I must say that I was pretty annoyed at the way "the collapse" surfaced again. We gave away our wickets and failed to press on from a position of advantage. At 447-3, a lead of 150+ was very much in the offing. Inzi found a funnier way yet to get out, and Iqbal has added another duck to his tally. That being said, I was pleasantly surprised by the fight shown by our tail. I have been saying it before, that the way our tail folds, we miss out on a crucial 50+ runs every innings. Who knows, they could be the difference in the end.

Today will be d-day for the bowlers, they will need to stand up and be counted if Pakistan are to make a match of this. If we can trigger a collapse somehow, and restrict the lead to 250, we have a great chance in this game. The problem for Pakistan is that the onus is on them to force the game, as England will want to sit back on their 1-0 lead. I don't anticipate any daring declarations. If we can eke out a 2-3 wickets early in the morning session, the panic will definitely start to creep in the English dressing room.

Day 4: Some cracks on the pitch...overcast...showers?

Pretty good conditions for seamers...take advantage... :)

5.4 Umar Gul to Trescothick, no run, DROPPED, Kamran Akmal has dropped him. A terrific ball from Gul rising on Trescothick who feathers an edge. Gul goes up to celebrate but Akmal, with iron gloves, clangs a sitter

How are we suppose to win match if we keep doing stupid things like this. :mad:

did not Akmal drop again?

What if now Trescothick makes a 100...

Someone please arrange a british passport for Sami... :D

yaar what is this BS, Akmal needs to be dropped, he is getting worse and worse by the day. Dumbass can't even catch sitters these days.

I saw the replay he hit the wickets with his elbow while trying to sweep Panesar and get disbalanced and almost fell over the wickets. Check it Cricinfo

We’re not simple as that…England going over 5 runs an over, they can probably bowl at Pakistan for 10-15 overs today if they keep up this run-rate. Akmal should be dropped, he’s dropped quite a few catches this series, and even is dropping straight forward balls, we need to take those catches no matter what, playing zulqurnain wudn’t be a bad choice.