3rd ODI: England v Pakistan at Dubai (DSC), Sat Feb 18, 2012

Re: 3rd ODI: England v Pakistan at Dubai (DSC), Sat Feb 18, 2012

They could do even better and bring back Shoaib malik.

Finn is English Asif. He bowls line and length and made all the difference. Had he played in Test series the result would have been in England's favor for sure.

nazar legh gaye team ko :(

well as I said in one of my earlier posts, we can not do much of analyses here... because the players on bench are even worst . razaq, junaid, sohail tanveer, tanveer ahmad, shoaib malik, rana naveed, kamran akmal ... i mean what is out there? ZERO..NOTHING...oh sorry i forgot..we have psycho zulqi back home as well!!!

Now if there are legitimate talented players out there which are not part of this current team amid politics, then that is a different story but as far as I know we don't have much of talent behind home...so we are left with the current lot and somehow we need to straighten the balance.....

the biggest disappointment is in the fast bowling department... gul is obviously all time pathetic..cheema is way too old....wahab is apparently under depression after spot fixing charges and news are that he is not focusing on his game...and frankly speaking junaid is a bit of disappointment as well unless he plays a full county season and learn how to swing the ball both ways...but I am not impressed by his action...he will not get much of swing..he is just another saleem jafffer in making ....and as i type all this, my heart cries for mohammed aamir...yes he made a mistake and he shd pray price for it and shd never come back to the team before 5 years but man what a talent he was...and that freakin jawari asif was also special.....just look at the english bowling attack throughout the series including test matches and then look at ours....simply pathetic....

anyway, in this current scenario just sit tight.....just push some players up and down but don't expect much. It will be a bumpy road ahead so lets fasten our belts.....if anything, just find some good fast bowlers or otherwise you will lose every single test match in NZ, AUS, SA and England. This batting will never go beyond 200....

and all of us shd be thankful that the ODI whitewash has exposed the reality otherwise idiots like ramiz, waqar and aamir were yelling on the screen that this is a special Pakistani team and something really special is going to come up...

what pakistan did in test matches is absolutely SPECIAL ... no doubt abt it ... but had one english player played the way cook played in ODI series, Pakistan would have lost all 3 matches.... just one innings from an English batter would have exposed us right there... but the english team played absolutely pathetic but that is not our problem..that is their problem....what we shd realize that the brilliance of 2 spinners cannot compensate for inherent shortcomings and strategic deficiencies in our portfolio... they are still there and will ultimately put us into place.

Same could be said of Pakistani bowlers, had even one of them bowled with same zest and commitment England would have lost all three ODI's. Lets not blow our team away like this and start saying that the whitewash was a fluke. I dont buy it. It is height of emotionalism and us unable to take a defeat. We beat the pants off the best team in the world. Let no one forget that. It was not even close, absolute destruction of the number one team. difference is that English didn't become emotional like us and start destroying their team. really we need to keep things in perspective. To start calling the whitewash into question is just not on.

well not sure how can you call me emotional? if i were emotional, I would have been jumping up and down on this forum after Pakistan defeated england 3-0...

yes like every other Pakistani, I was happy as it was no mean feat but to me there were enough signs that we had a lot of problems....if englnad was getting dismissed cheaply, at least there was a reason..facing ajaml on a turning track was no joke, especially for Englishmen..but when our batting keeps on getting dismissed for less than 250 (even 100) on slow wickets with no appreciabole bounce or seam, then that is a matter of serious concern...our fast bowling department was not firing either and broad/anderson and now finn have bowled so much better.....

like I said before, what we shd realize that the brilliance of 2 spinners cannot and should not compensate for inherent shortcomings and strategic deficiencies in our portfolio... they are still there and will ultimately put us into place especially when we will go abroad and yes there is no immediate solution..this is a new team and will take time...i am actually happy with the test team except we need better fast bowlers.....the fact that we gave continuous chances to azhar and asad are now paying dividends...I love the way azhar, misbah and asad play...who care if they are slow..,at least they brought some stability....

but ODI team balance is completely out of shape and their is no immediate solution as bench is weak....all we can imporve is the batting order....that is all I have said in all of my posts..not sure what is so emotional about it.....and not sure who suggested to destroy this team? yes englishmen are learning from their mistakes and we shd do the same even when we won....

Agree with most of what was posted except the bench strength part.

We DO have young players who have a lot of promise - however they are not given sufficient opportunities to make it at the international level. For example, if the selectors and the team management gave some young players like Ahmed Shehzad, Nasir Jamshed, Hammad Azam, Umar Amin, Azeem Ghumman, Sharjeel Khan etc to name a few as much of an extended run as they have given to the likes of Farhat, Malik, Razzaq, and even Younis Khan for that matter, then I am sure those batsman would have done a way better job that Farhat, Malik, Razzaaq, Younis etc in ODI cricket.

The ODI team needs a total overhaul. Younis, Misbah, Azhar are much needed in test cricket but not in ODI cricket. Its time to blood young batsman - keeping in mind the next WC is in Australia and we cant carry 35-36 year old down under. Might as well identify 7-8 young batters, 3-4 good fast bowlers and 2-3 all rounders and keep playing them in ODI and T20 cricket. Build a good young team, balanced and fit for the next WC.

The likes of Farhat, Malik, Razzaq should be dropped for good, and Misbah, Younis, should stick to test cricket till its time for them to hang up their boots for good.

Recalling the same players after a brief absence is just asking for punishment.

Same goes for the seam attack, Gul is always a disappointment when the preassure is on, but we also need to build the fast bowling strength that we had. Where is the next 'Rawalpindi Express' (without the dramas ofcourse)?

Also, the likes of Usman Qadir and Raza Hassan should also be played sooner rather than later to ensure we have a backup for Saeed Ajmal.

An overhaul of the ODI and T20 squad is essential to build a team for the future and the sooner thats done the better it would be for the team.

we know our batting sucks from the very beginning but it was our fast bowlers who always saved the day for us. Now our "fast" bowlers suck as well!!! I mean seriously? Aizaz cheema and gul are the "best" we could come up with? misbah and the selectors need to wake up and stop selecting these old hags into the team over and over again. Its time some young and talented guys are introduced into the ODI squad. I don't care what you say but in ODI's you can't just rely on the spinners to take all the 10 wickets...besides englishmen are learning from their mistakes!

These defeats are best thing to happen at the right time (without sarcasm). The way media and ex-players were praising the team during the test team and blindly over looking the batting woes was alarming for me. People even talked about getting to No. 1 and retaining Mohsin Khan (not that anything wrong with him but the thoughts of sub acha hai was frightening enough) etc etc.

Atleast now they will come to senses and sort out batting issues. The selectors will have to go back to academy and domestic games and search for better openers and more batsmen like Azhar and Shafiq to have backup and some rotation poilcy as well. You can't just play with fixed 4 middle order options and almost zero opening pair. Openers are still make shift after 9 years.

WTH :(

Thats why we need Dav Whatmore First thing he is going to make sure no parchis are in the team and we need a new ODI captain too Misbah is exposed as soon as he a series against a good side

Hafeez Gul Misbah has been pathetic so far in this series

On the other hand we need a new Wicket Keeper from Domestic

Adnan sucks to be honest

KP Well Played Man

He Is a Great Batsman

Hats off to him

We all know we have problems and that our batting line up is fragile is a fact. however every time we lose we start taking the whole team apart. look at some of the comments here, from Misbah being a great captain to what is being said now. Anyone can have a poor series but in our eagerness to destroy our team we go overboard in our comments. I think the team and management also know our weaknesses. This is the same team that recently ended up in the semi finals of the world cup. We moan about our lack of paceman, well it is not easy to find two ready made ones when you have just lost not only two of your best seamer's but two of the best in the world. how many teams could have come back after how our team was destroyed by that idiot Salman in 2010 and perform like they did, first in the world cup and than after that. I bet you none of the teams we seem to be so much in awe of would have performed half of what our team did. Talking about weaknesses every team has suffered recently, look at India now, Australia in the recent past and Windies. Pakistan has fared much better. Give credit where it is due.

What makes you say that?

Agreed!

We give three of these guys at least half as consistent chances as we have provided to Farhat/Younis/Razzaq/Gul/Sohail Tanveer and even to an extent Hafeez and Misbah, we will have a batting line up that will be alot more dependable than what we have had for last 5 years.

After watching/following the domestic cricket I believe that we still have amazing level of talents among our new generations the problem is that in 80's and 90's youngsters used to get chances now they dont get same level of chances because seniors are too busy painting a picture which is gloomy and saving their own spots and people like Mohsin/FIL in management dont help either.

I was expecting this result so not hurt much. But IMHO its time for Misbah to leave ODI or T20 cricket at least :smack2: … They should keep their Test Team aside. Azhar and he gave their wickets in a same manner but the main question “If we drop these players then Do you think other players have ability to play 50 Overs ?” :hmmm:

Of course we have to bring new players like Hammad forward and give them a proper chance …

4th ODI kay liye thread open kar do kah iss say pahlay IS bhai open kar dain :hehe: