3rd ODI: England v Pakistan at Dubai (DSC), Sat Feb 18, 2012

3rd ODI: England v Pakistan at Dubai (DSC)

Feb 18, 2012 (15:00 local | 11:00 GMT | 16:00 PKT)

Adnan should be in . . .
Hafeez and YK must score in the remaining 2 games if pakistan really wants to win (no chance to drop both of them)

After losing 2 games, we hope this time Misbah and company will win inshaALLAH
Best of Luck :slight_smile: :jhanda:

Re: 3rd ODI: England v Pakistan at Dubai (DSC), Sat Feb 18, 2012

Its hard to come back but lets see :jhanda:

Pakistan & England have played 14 ODI series before this series. Pakistan only won 3 series one in 1974 and other two in 2000 & 2005. 2 series were drawn.

England have won 9 Series (Despite they lost (2 consecutive test series) in 87; 92, 96) but still they won ODI series. Pakistan managed to win both series only in 2005.

[TABLE="class: grid, width: 776"]

Span
Mat
Won
Lost
Tied
NR
W/L
Ave
RPO
HS
LS

1974-2012

[TABLE="class: grid, width: 904"]

Mat

Won
Lost
Tied
NR
W/L

Start Date

Winner

Pakistan

31-Aug-74
Pakistan

Prudential Trophy (Pakistan in England), 1974

Pakistan
23-Dec-77
England

England in Pakistan ODI Series, 1977/78

Pakistan
24-May-78
England

Prudential Trophy (Pakistan in England), 1978

Pakistan

17-Jul-82
England

Prudential Trophy (Pakistan in England), 1982

Pakistan
09-Mar-84
drawn

England in Pakistan ODI Series, 1983/84

Pakistan
21-May-87
England

Texaco Trophy (Pakistan in England), 1987

Pakistan
18-Nov-87
England

England in Pakistan ODI Series, 1987/88

Pakistan
20-May-92
England

Texaco Trophy (Pakistan in England), 1992

Pakistan
29-Aug-96
England

Texaco Trophy (Pakistan in England), 1996

Pakistan
24-Oct-00
Pakistan

England in Pakistan ODI Series, 2000/01

Pakistan
17-Jun-03
England

NatWest Challenge (Pakistan in England), 2003

Pakistan
10-Dec-05
Pakistan

England in Pakistan ODI Series, 2005/06

Pakistan
30-Aug-06
drawn

NatWest Series [Pakistan in England], 2006

Pakistan
10-Sep-10
England

NatWest Series [Pakistan in England], 2010

Oh yaar mjhe kholnay dete thread :smack:

I didnt open and we lost :frowning:

Agar aab bhi haar gaiay to IS ka ban kar daina :fatee: Bismillah to uss he nay key thi :hehe:

Very disappointing effort so far from the team. Hopefully this time they will play like they played in the test series.

I hope Misbah is doing toss-practice a la Inzamam :D

Even if we win the toss and bat, we'll be damn lucky if we win. This is one of the poorest ODI teams to ever come from Pakistan. 2 shaky openers, who have poor averages and even poorer records against quality bowling attacks, a number 4 in Younis who is anything but reliable in ODI cricket, a number 5 in Misbah, who is a fighter but is not suited to ODI cricket, and a number 6 in Umar Akmal who is full of promise but little to show for it. Afridi, at 7, well the less said about his batting the better...pretty much the tail starts at 7 for Pakistan and its also the worse tail in world cricket at the moment, probably at par with Zimbabwe.

Hopefully, once Illyas gets the sack and Mohsin goes back to being chief selector we could see the return of some quality players...for example, an ODI line up comprising off Nasir Jamshed, Ahmed Shehzad, Azhar Ali, Umar Akmal, Asad Shafiq, Mohammad Hafeez, Awais Zia, Afridi, Gul, Ajmal, Junaid Khan would be a terrific ODI lineup to have.

Hafeez is not a opener to rely on against top sides, but his bowling should win him the number 6 allrounder spot / or he could be swapped with Hammad Azam once Hammad improves his bowling. (I've seen him bowl and he needs a lot of work still)

The selectors should also look for an out and out fast bowler, who can bowl at some serious pace. The fast bowling attack is really poor at the moment, Cheema, Wahab, are nothing to write home about and Junaid is still a work in progress.

Gone are the tuk-tuk days of ODI cricket, you need to build momentum from the word go and keep it going for the majority of the innings. The block till you get to the last 10 overs of the innings approach wont win you any games against top attacks.

Even your selection has the same 'worst' tail :)

True but Afridi is at 8 not 7 this time:)

And I think the top 6-7 are more stable at this batting order compared to what we have now.

^ I don't know much about Awais Zia but I'd rather bring Fawad Alam back and give him a proper chance for few series instead of a game here a series there.

He’s an attacking left handed middle order batsman, who can also keep and also opens in T20.

Fawad Alam has a poor technique for test cricket, but I definately agree he deserves a long run in the ODI and T20 team. I also think, Shoaib Malik’s time at the top level should be over. I was a fan of Malik, but he’s not the same player he was in 2007, and its time to move on from Malik. The likes of Alam, Hammad etc should now be given preference over people like Farhat, Malik, etc.

u r late :@:

Sukar hay aap ka khula howa thread b haar gaya hay warna aap ne tu mera jina haram kar daina tha :@:

Have you seen Fawad Alam’s Inning in his First Test ? He played down order in First Class cricket and they brought him as Opener. But he played well and after two more test matches he was out.
He need some more chances in Test Cricket
I feel he is not a nice stroke player for International ODIs.

That was a good knock but more importantly look at his technique. All that shuffling and movement, makes him a sitting duck for a quality seam bowler.

He is good bat in ODIs too, unfortunately he didn't look like pressure material like Misbah or Inzamam. If given consistent chances may be he will get better in pressure situations.

but the video you posted of Awais Zia, he was shuffling too, no?

WIn the toss and win the match today

Its simple

And we've finally WON.............the Toss

After getting screwed twice finally Misbah got a specialist WK for Ajmal and Afridi

No Younis
No Rehman