30 strangest deaths in history

Death by Embracing the Reflection of the MoonChinese poet Li Po (701-706) is regarded as one of the two greatest poets in China’s literary history. He was well known for his love of liquor and often spouted his greatest poems while drunk.
One night, Li Po fell from his boat and drowned in the Yangtze River while trying to embrace the reflection of the moon in the water.

Death by BeardAustrian Hans Steininger was famous for having the world’s longest beard (it was 4.5 feet or nearly 1.4 m long) and for dying because of it.
One day in 1567, there was a fire in town and in his haste Hans forgot to roll up his beard. He accidentally stepped on his beard, lost balance, stumbled, broke his neck and died!

Death From Holding a Pee InDanish nobleman and astronomer Tycho Brahe was one interesting fellow. He kept a dwarf as a court jester who sat under the table during dinner. He even had a tame pet moose.
Tycho also lost the tip of his nose in a duel with another Danish nobleman and had to wear a “dummy” nose made from silver and gold, but that’s another story.
It was said that Tycho had to hold his pee during one particularly long banquet in 1601 (getting up in the middle of a dinner was considered really rude) that his bladder, strained to its limits, developed an infection which later killed him!
Later analyses suggested that Tycho died because of mercury poisoning but that’s not nearly as interesting as the original story

Death by Conductor’s Cane
While conducting the hymnal Te Deum for French King Louis XIV in 1687, Jean-Baptiste Lully was so focused in keeping the rhythm by banging a staff against the floor (this was the method before conductor’s baton came into use), that he struck his toe hard but refused to stop.
The toe developed an abscess, which later turned gangrenous, but Lully refused to have it amputated. The gangrene spread and killed the stubborn musician.
Ironically, the hymn he was conducting was in celebration of the recovery of Louis XIV from an illness.

Death by DessertKing Adolf Frederick of Sweden loved to eat and died from it too!
The “King Who Ate Himself to Death” died in 1771 at the age of 61 from a digestive problem after eating a giant meal consisting of lobster, caviar, saurkraut, cabbage soup, smoked herring, champagne and 14 servings of his favorite dessert: semla a bun filled with marzipan and milk.

Death by Jury Demonstration
After the Civil War, controversial Ohio politician Clement Vallandigham became a highly successful lawyer who rarely lost a case.
In 1871, he defended Thomas McGehan who was accused of shooting one Tom Myers during a barroom brawl. Vallandigham’s defense was that Myers had accidentally shot himself while drawing his pistol from a kneeling position.
To convince the jury, Vallandigham decided to demonstrate his theory. Unfortunately, he grabbed a loaded gun by mistake and ended up shooting himself!
By dying, Vallandigham succeeded in demonstrating the plausibility of the accidental shooting and got his client acquitted

Death from Biting One’s Tongue
Allan Pinkerton (1819-1884)[wiki], famous for creating the Pinkerton detective agency and developing investigative techniques such as surveilling a suspect and doing undercover work, died of an infection after biting his tongue when he slipped on a sidewalk!

Death by Orange Peel

Bobby Leach [wiki] wasn’t afraid to court death: in 1911, he was the second person in the world to go over Niagara Falls in a barrel. The daredevil went on to perform many other death-defying stunts, so his death is especially ironic.
One day while walking down a street in New Zealand, Leach slipped on a piece of orange peel. He broke his leg so badly it had to be amputated. Leach died due to complications that developed afterwards.

Death by Overcoat Parachute Failure
In 1911, French tailor Franz Reichelt decided to test his invention, a combination overcoat and parachute, by jumping off the Eiffel Tower. Actually, he told the authorities that he would use a dummy, but at the last minute decided to test it himself. It was no surprise that he fell to his death.
There’s even a YouTube

Re: 30 strangest deaths in history

Interesting read.. let me come up with my comments on these methods / reasons one by one. :)

:frowning: I heard that 'Bhooke ko chand bhi chappati lagta hai, but this is strange. Why he wanted to embrace moon? Kaash! I could read chinese and then read his poetry to assess whether he also compared his lover with moon. :hinna:

:hmmm: Sharai dadhi rakhta to bach jata.. But why he kept so long beard, when there was nothing like ‘Guinness Book of World records’ :konfused:

There used by a cloth tail (extra meters attached to queen’s attire) and there used to be separate maids for curtailing that extra meters. Later, this term ‘tail curtailing in short TC’ became equivalent to flattery "khush aamad’. We still say to our colleagues ’ Tu boss ki TC karne ka koi moqa na jane dena’ :hehe: This extra cloth may also have been reason for incidents like that.. One I remember was with the eldest daughter of Mughal emperor Shahjahan.

DA very interesting.................

Bach ke rehna re Ninja bach ke rehna re..

Devi ji are you sure it was orange and not banana :faizy:

i read some where that an eagle was carrying a turtle and suddenly turtle slipped out of eagle’s hold and fell on some greek poet’s bald head and he died…:teary1:

Also what was that condition in Amitabh’s movie ‘Aks’ for killing the Rakshas? Something like he will be killed not in day not in night :konfused:

Are you sure eagle was carrying turtle and not Kangaroo :rotfl:

that was inspired by story of Narsimha from hindu mythology who killed a rakshasa...who can not be killed during day time and night...and out side his home nor inside his home..and neither human nor animal can kill him....so narsimha killed him during dusk..as it was neither day nor night...and at the doorstep (chaukat) as it was neither part of home nor out side..and narsimha was half lion and half human..:)

:emmy: Na koi marta hai na koi marta hai.. Ye main nahin kehta geeta main likha hai.

or rat…:omg:

waise apne geeta parhi hai?

Yes I read that many said it was banana after lot of confusion but everywhere ppl say it was orange

aapne movie narsimha movie dekhi hai?

I have not watched tht film

Nope.. But I read parts of Bible when I was in 5th class. I had a habit of searching books where ever I go. Once in our Nanihaal, I find Hazrat Yousuf’s (AS) story as mentioned in Bible in the books of my Mamoo and all the time Ammi stayed there, I kept on reading that.. I could only understand a part of it, because it was in difficult language.

No just heard the name from u right now

Means you missed something, Its amazing.. 'Banda ye bindas hai' song was very much famous in those days. I heard, they were in process of making sequel.

But Orange Peel has never been that slippery. Ninja may have more experience of slipping from Oranges :omg:

Living in india and specially hindu neighbor hood developed good sense of hindu mythology....
though it is not scholarly knowledge but its some time better than my hindu friends.......:D