3 THINGS THAT CONFUSE ME

hello everyone now i will try my best not to use abreviations :smiley:
if i do dont kill me i cant help it sometimes because i am so used to it:bummer:
anyway back to topic oh yes sorry if its been posted before also because i dont know im not that used to the forum

1)now we have heard/read that a guy and a gal should not shake hands according to islam??? "heard " it doesnt mean it has to be true so i still dont believe it and i want proof can some help me??? plz post a quranic verse or a hadith that forbidz a man woman shaking hands:(

1. male-female friendship is it allowed according to islam???i read in this book that it isnt but i dont believe it because alot of people are inventing their own islam nowadays so …
    plz post prooof like quranice verse or hadith
    btw i have to add something to this
    men and women live on the same planet
    same country
    same town/city
    study in same schools,colleges,universities
    and work in same places
    so dont you think that friendship is totally natural i mean you have to come accross them and so what if you become friends???

2. i heard and read that once a man intends to marry a woman he is not supposed to meet her???(or the other way round)is this true if it is plz post proof again quranic verse or hadith

btw after what we heard no shaking hand no friendship no meeting da person you like to get to know him/her properly so you can take a step ahead in your life herz some more questionz and conclusion that came into my mind
what are you supposed to do i dont know if you meet some-one nice and that person proposes to you and somewhere in ure heart you say no how can i trust him/her & dont even know him/her forget it!!!
but then there is yes that claims so what meet him/her more often get to know the person more and then decide if they’re your ideal person and if they’re the 'sumone that was made for you"
what are you supposed to to then apart from arranged marriage???cuz u cant be their friends or meet them so obviously arranged marriage is left lying for you???

sorry guys i hope i didnt offend anyone by this but these questionz just poped in my mind i thought i should post here since there are alot of intelligent people here
hope it wasnt too difficult either:(

Re: 3 THINGS THAT CONFUSE ME

i'm not sure abt the 1st n 2nd question but the 3rd one i know

that u can meet the person u want to marry at least once :)
. and it is allowed to have a pasand ki shaadi in islam....

Niyal is ritE!

I totally am sure bout the shaking hands and friendship..they r totally forbidden in Islam..no matter what kind of environment it is .. it is not allowed to b friendz with Na mehramZ!

U can c the person before marrying them..but like u cant really meet them often..u can do Nikkah and then u can meet or go out..!

Sorry i dont know NE hadiths..quranic verses on the top of my head..but im sure they do exist!

I'll beleive it when I see the verse. I read through Surah Al Nisa, assuming something on this topic would be there and I only found verses that condemned "lewdness" (excesive sexual desire) but thats very different from friendship and some @%@$@% Mullahs think its the same thing cause their heads are full of sex and they're so ugly they never have a chance with women so they invent a part of Islam that doesnt allow other guys and girls from getting together.

Anyway I havent gone through the whole of the Qurans translation yet so I could be wrong but I doubt it. Not allowing well-meaning friendship is something that doesnt make any sense to me as friendship instill consideration and understanding to some level about the other sex, which almost all pakis lack which would lead to discrimination, disrespect, line marring on streets et ect ect.

PS: There is nothing wrong with shaking hands. It is a custom that is the english equivivalent of saying Asslam o Alaikum so i think it should be rather encouraged.

1. Prophet (pbuh) used to avoid physical contact with na-mehram women, same is the order for all of us. However there is nothign wrong with shaking hands with Mehram relatives i.e ( son, bro , father , mamu ,chacha father in law, nephew etc) same for guy, they can shake hands with all mehram relatives

I guess this make quite a large number of people you can shake hand with, so better wash hands afterwards

1. If the guy and girl know and observe the limits, friendship should not be an issue.

2. guy and girl should meet once, at public place before the make the decision of marriage. This is allowed and prefered in Islam

this is not religion forum, if you need reference then post it in religon forum

Only really seriously paindu morons will actually marry/get engaged to someone they've never met, spoken to or seen, "just because ammi said so".

remember that divorce is allowed in islam…but it is frowned upon in desi culture…

if people do not like each other after marrying they can just divorce…
halal way of dating is marrying after meeting once…and divorcing if things goes wrong…:wink:

thanks for your replies everyone they helped in making things more clear
my 3rd question is answered
but 1st and 2nd arent't really i wil be waiting for more replies

There is no debate about western-style dating, it is definitely not allowed. Islamically, we are allowed to meet someone, and get to know them for the purpose of marriage; however it is not to last more than a few months, (not like 5-6 yrs throughout high school/college/work :rolleyes: ).

Shaking hands, even eye contact, those are usually under interpretation for many people. Eye contact and a firm handshake are necessary for maintaining good relationships in the social and professional/academic world. I personally would have no problem shaking hands with someone who extended their hand to me, though I wouldn’t extend it myself. I find it rude to refuse someone who does :slight_smile:

Zainab, doesn’t it terrify you to say that you are sure about certain things yet you can’t prove them? Are you really ready to say things and attribute them to God? Have you ever even picked up the Quran and read it in a language that you understand?

Frenchy, none of these things are accurate, there is NO proof for any of this in the Quran, the Quran doesn’t forbid ANY of these things. I don’t know about hadith though because I don’t believe in hadith, I am of the opinion that if the Quran doesn’t forbid something, hadith has no business forbidding it.

Lastly, what kind of sick people are we dealing with, why is every contact between male and female autmatically considered sexual in nature? Just because you shake a woman’s hand doesn’t mean that sex is on! I think, that people who say things like this need to get their minds out of the gutter.

:slight_smile:

Praissenoor, Divorce is allowed in Islam but it is considered an extremely unpleasant thing. They say, “Aasmaan bhi kaanp uthta hai aik bar Talaq ka lufz sunn ker”, it’s considered that bad. Various reasons ofcourse: the one on top of my head is in our cultures it involves the families of boy n gal, plus future of kids etc. However, where it just doesn’t work, people have to take that step too.

I agree :slight_smile:

and how do you expect it to work when the two people have met just once before marriage:D??? :rolleyes:

thats so true!!!
divorce isnt the way either???
do what the hell are you supposed to do then???
you cant meet someone or become their friends b4 marriage to get to know the person better and take a big step ahead in your life,make a final decision!!! so like i said arranged marriage is left for you:confused:
its soooooo confusing!!!:frowning: :frowning: :frowning: :frowning: :frowning:

Before getting married one should always make istikhaara and follow that. You can’t go wrong that way.

exchnge letters or emails to check the compatibility??:halo:

serioulsy my dear young compatriot :blush: …that’s why arranged marriage are made for:halo:!!
they are saving hassles and honor of both girl and boy…:wink:
hope you can trust your family inshallh

your right thats what arranged marriages are for but its not easy for people who dont know each other and the convoz over the phone arent gonna solve it bcoz thats what most ppl tend to do

Prophet Muhammad's first marriage was a love marriage so I am not sure why all these restrictions.