Pakistan hockey team failed to live up to the tall claims made by team manager Shahnaz Shaikh after loosing to Australia and Australia and lost to India 2-0 in the last league match of the first leg of the Tri-nation event underway at Perth, Australia on Saturday. The win in what was the 100th outing between the two arch rivals helped India to set a final date with hosts Australia on Sunday.
It was surprising to see Pakistan team manager Shahnaz Shaikh expressing confidence and making tall claims of beating India and ultimately ending up to win the final of the Perth event after Pakistan were beaten 3-0 by Australia and later on 5-3 against Australia .
The Indians scored a goal in each half against a Pakistan team that struggled to construct any continuity in attack. The half time score was 1-0 in favor of when Baljit Dhillon converted a penalty stroke in 26th minute, Prabjot Singh consolidated the Indian lead by scoring a field goal in 55th minute.
In today’s other match, the Kookaburras conceded five second half goals in a 7-2 smashing at the hands of Australia ‘A’. The Kookaburras struggled to contain the enthusiasm of Australia ‘A’ and were punished for some indifferent play, with Grant Schubert’s three goals the best performance in a great team effort.
The match was 18 minutes old when Ben Bishop opened the scoring after pressure by the Australia ‘A’ forwards forced a turnover near their attacking circle. The Kookaburras must now regroup before tomorrow’s final against India at 3pm, with Australia ‘A’ to tackle Pakistan at 1pm.
“..The victory was India’s fourth in the five matches played between the teams over the 12 months. India had beaten Pakistan in 3-2 in the Champions Trophy league match; 4-3 in the Busan Asian Games semi-finals and 3-0 in the five-nation Cairo tournament. The only defeat was at the Champions Trophy in the play-off for third and fourth place, when India lost 3-4. ..”
*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
Marginally better then Pak but wayyyyyyyyyyyy better then India, since Pak did defeat Germany in the recent hockey tournament.
And India defeated Pak 4 out of 5 times it played in last 1 year. If Pak is better than India then how come they are beaten by India.
Marginally better then Pak but wayyyyyyyyyyyy better then India, since Pak did defeat Germany in the recent hockey tournament.
dont you have any shame man... you didn same thing one full year then we kno what happened on 1st march.You did samething during champions trophy.since then Indian defeate3d pak 4 out of 5 times.
Lahore Bhai.... Its Pakistani Loss I think which is making Asif Happy ;)
There was a news story I read somewhere - may be someone here can confirm - when India defeated Pakistan in the world cup cricket match (somewhere in Africa) there was such a sense of disappointment in Pakistan - the hockey team captain vowed that they will avenge for that defeat.
Fortunately for India and unfortunately for the Pakistan team, looks like the hockey match between the two teams has also gone India's way.
The only other thing left to try is perhaps have the hockey team play cricket and the vice versa ! :;): (just kiding).
these guys come only when Pakitsan loses, wheather it be cricket, hockey, or kabadi. When Pakistan wins, they are sitting home making their own theories.
Your number of posts tells me you are new here (thats if you are not hiding behind this new nick ). So being new here I’d say bacha hai bolnay do isay bhi.
*Originally posted by Spock: *
Sohail Abbas is not playing right?
Pak Hockey Team minus Sohail Abbas is Equivalent to the Indian Hockey Team Strength.
Oh come on Mr.Spock! With a name like that one would expect better rationalization than that...remember one who admits loss to a better team with class is also a winner. A poor loser loses twice everytime they play.
I only got interested in this discussion because of the immature vow I read the Pakistan hockey captain make when your cricket team lost to India...otherwise a game is a game is a game and only one can win. Why make a game into a test of national pride?
Your number of posts tells me you are new here (thats if you are not hiding behind this new nick ;) ). So being new here I'd say bacha hai bolnay do isay bhi.
Huh? hope I didn't offend you or anyone but what's with the elitist attitude? I say what I like and you say what you like.
*Originally posted by Spock: *
Abey oye sone1, just like indian cricket team - tendulkar = nothing
same goes for (pak hockey team - sohail abbas) = nothing = ila hocky team!
Thats what I was saying, learn to read. It had nothing to do with results...
Abey Spocky,
One Pakistani who would be happy with Pakistan's loss to India would be Sohail Abbas himself.... after all he got a chance to be compared to Tendulkar so Pakis can console themselves in the defeat.
India go down 2-1 to Australia
and Pakistan looses to AUS ‘A’ again to finish 4th :D*
June 01, 2003 15:13 IST
India were defeated 2-1 by Australia in the final of the three-nation Hockey Australia Men’s Challenge in Perth on Sunday.
Earlier, in the third place play-off of the four-team competition at the Perth hockey stadium, Pakistan squandered a 1-0 lead against Australia ‘A’ to lose the tie 2-1 after Schubert scored his goals within two minutes late into the second half.
The Pakistani team, which was without veteran short-corner specialist Sohail Abbas and former captain Mohammad
Nadeem, finished the tournament winless.
All the four teams will be heading for Sydney on Monday to play the second leg of the series starting on Wednesday.
*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
So what?
West Indies had beaten Australia 2 straight times, they are not better then Australia.
OMG - Pakistan looses all the matches in the tournament and infact gets slapped twice by the Australia 'A' team and you tell me Pakistan is better than India which reached the finals and beat Pakistan as well ??
About Australia-WI - May I remind you that Australia has already won bothe ODI and Test series.
Pakistani hockey team is in bad form, specially missing Suhail Abbas was a huge blow, thats like as same as India missing Tendulkar.
Are you telling me Sohail Abbas was not there in all the matches Pakistan lost against India this year ?? Excuses and more excuses. For once accept that Pakistan is not better this year. :)