Re: Rana unfit - Butt Ousted - Afrdi & Arshad/Malik In
I doubt Rana is injured....it's just a polite way of saying he's been made to sit out. We should definitely play Arshad Khan regardless of which other spinner is playing.
Khalil doesn't warrant a place in a club side, I don't care how green the wicket is. Afridi is a much better option. Indians will get tied up by spin.
Except for Inzi and Youhanna the only other experienced players are Razzaq and Afridi other then Younis Khan offcoarse. And Salman needs to go not just this one game but for ever. The same goes for Taufeeq Umar.
So I think the team should be Yaasir,Younis (if they are smart they would play Malik here) ,Inzi,Youhana,Asim,Akmal,Razzaq,Afridi (if there’s no Arshad Khan),Khalil,Sami,Kaneria
Those are our only real choices
drop useless sami bring in khalil although he's crap but their is no other reserve medium pacer. play sialkotia and now icc has cleared him, he can be the all rounder drop razi. + he'll give danny support in the spin category. now reh gayee openers ki baat, the likely replacement yasir hameed is as pathetic at good shot selection as the current openrs @ the mo' so it won't make a difference if yasir plays' or sit's it out!
i agree. bring in khalil. that guy has more swing and is a very controlled bowler. I agree and beg to bring hameed. take younis out. razzaq can be just for a moral suppot as he is not a test player. but should keep him after last innings
Re: 2nd Test - Pakistan vs India - Kolkata
I don't have time to read the whole thread. Can someone just tell me who won the Mohali match?
Sorry to be off topic
^LoL… its ok, i guess..
Result: Pakistan forced a draw against India (highly unexpected)
Lets hope the result for the second test is in Pakistan’s favour. ![]()
I agree that Razzaq is one of the most senior player but what's his role in the team??? I think we need another bowler to have any chance of bowling India out twice. You can't expect much from even Sami, Rana or Khalil and we are playing Razzaq. I think Arshad Khan can provide the much needed assistance to Kaneria.
Kamran Akmal and Razzaq won the Mohali match.:)
Result cannot be in Pakistan's favour unless we play with 4 specialist bowlers.
Razzaq and Afridi are NOT gonna win you a test with their bowling so i would like to see Arshad Khan and Khalil instead of Razzaq or Afridi.
i agree on arshad but not on afridi. he should be brought in as a batsman for first 3 garbage cans we have
As per Woolie, they are going to play five bowlers. chalo shabash apni teams phir se edit karlo :hehe: Kamran Akmal’s flawless batting has stablished him as a cornerstone in our otherwise fragile batting line up. This is allowing team management to drop one batsman and to play a bowler instead. And its gotta be Afridi for Salman. The rest will remain same.
http://www.htcricket.com/htcricket/7679_1278871,001600980007.htm
5 bowlers will be fantastic, we should really go for a win rather than filling up with batsmen or all rounders and put all the pressure on poor Kaneria. I do agree on Afridi but not as a bowler, he will THRASHED by indian batsmen (you can mark my words).
Arshad Khan is the one who can help Kaneria attack more and he can take more wickets than our fast bowlers as well.
Please back your claims with some logic or analysis. HOW?
Oh Thank you thank you! Pakistan forced a draw? Is that good or bad?
Pakistan will win this next match Inshallah, Mere dua'eey rayegha nahi jayen ghey. Someone just keep me updated.
I have seen Arshad Khan in domestic, he is a very accurate off-spinner and bowls very well to keep batsmen quiet. I know our domestic is rubbish but no one can take 500 wickets in domestic just by balling rubbish. Secondly the Mohali wicket is good for finger spinners and that’s why Harbhajan has AWESOME record on this pitch. Indians are very good players of spin but they do struggle against good off-spinners.
We saw Kaneria keeping them quiet on one end but then they had Sami and co to provide them with FREE hits and that’s where Arshad Khan will be useful.
It all sounds good in theory and let’s hope it works out well for us.
Mahnoor,
Yes, Pakistan had forced a draw against India at Mohali.
It is good because in both innings our opening failed quite miserably. Now if we don;t get in trouble by playing specialist batsmen and hoping for them to score runs for us while they throw their wickets away. :(
Inshaalla, pakistan will lose the 2nd and 3rd test - even if the Indian team tries their best not to win!![]()
Pakistan set sights on series win
Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq feels his side can win the series in India after drawing the first Test in Mohali.
A superb batting display on the final day means the tourists will go into the second Test, which begins on Wednesday in Calcutta, on level terms.
"I think we can win the series. The fightback will help us in the series. It was a great morale-booster.
“But we need to improve our catching and our top-order batsmen should also deliver,” Inzamam explained.
Pakistan team manager Salim Altaf says his players have answered their critics in style and will go to Calcutta on a high.
“Before we came here we were almost written off but our boys played exceptionally well,” he said.
“They now know their potential. They are looking forward to the Eden Gardens Test. It will be a good match.”
**Danish is the jewel in our attack, he’s very precious **
**Pakistan coach Bob Woolmer on leg-spinner Danish Kaneria **
Pakistan do have a concern over their top three batsmen, who struggled in both innings at Mohali.
It needed a seventh-wicket partnership of 184 between wicket-keeper Kamran Akmal and all-rounder Abdul Razzaq to secure the draw.
But Altaf said there are unlikely to be many changes to the batting order, although Younis Khan - who made nine and one - is most at risk.
“Our top-order failed. One of the openers [Salman Butt] failed in both the innings,” Altaf explained.
"Even Younis Khan, the vice-captain, failed in both the innings. So, he is under pressure.
“But there are not going to be any dramatic changes.”
Meanwhile, coach Bob Woolmer has heaped praise on Danish Kaneria, saying the leg-spinner was “already up there with Shane Warne and Anil Kumble”.
Kaneria was Pakistan’s leading wicket-taker in Mohali, his 6-150 in the first innings taking his tally to 108 dismissals in 24 Tests.
“Danish is the jewel in our attack, he’s very precious. I rate him like a diamond ring,” Woolmer said.
"Danish is showing that he’s one of the best leg-spinners in the world.
“Fame only comes after your career is over, but Danish’s got age on his side. He’s doing very well at the moment.”
Story from BBC SPORT:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/go/pr/fr/-/sport2/hi/cricket/4346591.stm
Published: 2005/03/14 08:48:40 GMT
© BBC MMV
^ LOL. What more the does the guy have to do? He has bailed our asses out of a sling time and again.