saby i can’t go yaar…got too many tests coming up next week…and they start early in the morning…i’ll try for the final day…(if the australians last tht long!..hehe!!)…
otherwise i’ll have to watch it on the telly…![]()
ooo thats sad…
you know in pakkistan we cant go to watch matches…
yeah i hope austriala dont last that long ![]()
Shoaib in Sharjah = The most destrucitve bowler in the world.
This is going to be an interesting battle to watch.
Australia having trouble with their bowling selection regardless of winning the last test where Pakistan are assured of their starting lineup.
I think the starting lineup for the match will be.
Imran Nazir
Taufeeq Umar
Mizbah ul Haq
Younis Khan
Faisal Iqbal
Abdul Razzaq
Rashid Latif
Waqar Younis
Saqlain Mushtaq
Shoaib Akhtar
Danish Kaneria
My main worries about the batting lineup is the long tailenders, none of the can stay on for a long period of time to support the other specialist batsman like the way Bret Lee stayed on to give Damien Martyn some runs in 2nd innings of first test.
My I'm quite impressed with this lineup and maybe a winner as well.
http://sports.yahoo.com/m/sk/news/reuters/20021010/reu-australia20021010.html
**Pakistan target Steve Waugh on 150th appearance **
SHARJAH (Reuters) - Pakistan will target Steve Waugh in the second test starting on Friday in an attempt to make the Australia captain’s 150th test appearance as uncomfortable as possible.
Waugh and his twin brother Mark both made second innings ducks in Australia’s first test win and have come under further pressure to justify their places in the Australia team.
“No doubt Steve is a great player and has played some fine cricket at the highest level but we are not in mood to give him, or for that matter, other players any inch,” Pakistan skipper Waqar Younis told reporters on Thursday.
"He is in for a hard time that I can tell you. Like every batsman he also has some weaknesses and we have some plan to exploit those gray areas.
“Steve, like his brother Mark, is under pressure these days and we know that. We will try and go after them.”
Steve Waugh discounted any suggestion that the test would be a special landmark.
“It’s just another test for me,” he said. “The idea is to play well, score some runs, captain the side well and win the match for Australia.”
REVERSE SWING
Australia, for their part, need to counter Pakistan’s express bowler Shoaib Akhtar, who took five wickets in 15 balls in the first test.
“He did turn the match for a while, but in the end we won. That’s what matter in the final analyses,” Waugh said.
Younis said his young team had fought well in the 41-run defeat.
“We lost but it was a touch-and-go affair. The youngsters in the side stood to the task well. It won’t be easy for Australia, we make them work hard for every run,” Younis said.
The Pakistan captain said he would be relying heavily on his bowlers’ ability to reverse swing the ball.
“There is not much humidity here, though the sun is blazing. The weather will be dry and I hope we can counter the Australian with our reverse swing,” he said.
Pakistan will go into the test with two spinners in Saqlain Mushtaq and Danish Kaneria.
Australia, who have lost Jason Gillespie through injury, will probably choose between paceman Andy Bichel and untried off-spinner Nathan Hauritz.
“Because of the heat I think some part-time bowlers will have to bowl,” Waugh said. "We have played in similar sort of conditions before in Pakistan and Sharjah and I don’t think Pakistan will have any edge.
“We may go in with two spinners, but we haven’t decided yet on the final XI.”
Teams:
Australia (from) - Steve Waugh (captain), Justin Langer, Matthew Hayden, Ricky Ponting, Mark Waugh, Damien Martyn, Adam Gilchrist, Shane Warne, Brett Lee, Andy Bichel, Nathan Hauritz, Glenn McGrath.
Pakistan (probable) - Waqar Younis (captain), Imran Nazir, Taufeeq Umar, Abdul Razzaq, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul Haq, Faisal Iqbal, Rashid Latif, Saqlain Mushtaq, Shoaib Akhtar, Danish Kaneria.
Umpires: Srinivas Venkatraghavan (India), Steve Bucknor (West Indies). Match referee: Clive Lloyd (West Indies).
Our bowlers can target the Waugh brothers as much as possible but they are forgetting that the Waugh brothers aren't the one for the past year who have been doing the biggest damage to the opposition but the likes of Hayden, Langer, Gilchrist, Ponting are.
My opinion is if they can get 2 openers out earlier on the day, things might go a little easier, the pitch looks to be very flat mainly assisting the batsman.
Waqar needs to do something out of ordinary to prove that he can still be a good bowler along with being a captain.
well For me Ponting and Hayden are the key wikcet for pakistan!
especially Ponting, this guy likes pakistan a lot!!
*Originally posted by saby: *
well For me Ponting and Hayden are the key wikcet for pakistan!
especially Ponting, this guy likes pakistan a lot!!
true that
3 hrz more, but i have to go to school tomorrow mornin:(
GOOD LUCK PAKIXTAN:hula:
u serious...3more hrs...i thought its startin tomm...didn't get this friday thing....neway thatz cool
Pakistan team: (from)
Imran Nazir, Taufeeq Umar, Abdur Razzaq, Younis Khan,
Misbah-ul-Haq, Faisal Iqbal, +Rashid Latif, Saqlain Mushtaq,
*Waqar Younis, Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Sami, Danish Kaneria,
Naved-ul-Hasan, Hasan Raza, Imran Farhat, Mohammad Zahid.
Australia team: (from)
JL Langer, ML Hayden, RT Ponting, ME Waugh, *SR Waugh,
DR Martyn, +AC Gilchrist, SK Warne, B Lee, GD McGrath,
AJ Bichel, NM Hauritz, DS Lehmann, BA Williams.
Imran Farhat shouldn't even be there....y the hell is he there...just to score 2 runs in one innings n 5 in the second...damn man
let's see who does aussies play...bichel, hauritz, or williams....
IS ANYONE GONNA BROADCAST IT......if so plz IM me the link n stuff....g2g bed now
Once again Cricinfo time is screwed up.
It says the match will start at 6 GMT, meaning the match will start at 12 AM Central and 1 AM Eastern, but the real time is 1 AM Central and 2 AM Eastern.
Pakistan has won the TOSS.
Aap sub ko pehlii jeet mubarak ho.....
good on ya Waqar
Pakistan has won the toss and elected to bat first on a flat Sharjah Track
Good decision by Waqar.
Kaneria is playing for Sami and Pakistan going in with same lineup with the exception of Kaneria obviously.
Chalo bhai, a typical Pakistani start with pathetic display by Imran Nazir.
**0.6 McGrath to Imran Nazir, OUT: a perfect start, a ball on off, Nazir
went half forward and prodded, edged to Warne at first slip
Seems like the first time Waqar has used his brain!!
*Originally posted by Paradoxurus: *
Seems like the first time Waqar has used his brain!!
Not really.
Look
*Pakistan has again sent in Razzaq at the one down position
Brett Lee to bowl with the new ball
Yes our famous Razzaq bhai has been once again sent in to play at 3rd.
**1.1 Lee to Taufeeq Umar, OUT: Gone!, a ball that was on length, came
forward and an inside edge onto his stumps, again both openers
gone
Nahiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii
OOPS!!
opeenr once againt failed :(
ahhhhh
you dont have a replacement for Imran Nazir?? I am surprised he is still in the team..