59.2 Kallis to Taufeeq Umar, FOUR, short and pulls well sees the square
leg drop back to the fence
Now he's talkin...
MUBARAK HO TUM KO YEH CENTURY TUMHAARI.....
SADAA KHUSH RAHO YEH DUWA HAI HAMAARI....
**I may consider Taufeeq to open with Saeed Bhai in the World Cup.
Afridi should learn from this youngster fella. ![]()
59.2 Kallis to Taufeeq Umar, FOUR, short and pulls well sees the square leg drop back to the fence.**
Kallis in now...
acha istaqbaal....keep it up
Well played Taufeeq. Congrats.
**Woah!
Taufeeq on 109. Inzi on 18.
60.5 Hayward to Taufeeq Umar, FOUR, slower ball is wide and ends up a full toss, Taufeeq doesn't miss out and slashes it away to the backward point fence.**
Very well played Taufeeq. Keep it up. But I don't think he's a one day player. Saeed should open the innings with someone else for the WC.
*Originally posted by yaasir: *
Very well played Taufeeq. Keep it up. But I don't think he's a one day player. Saeed should open the innings with someone else for the WC.
I disagree, we need someone to anchor the innings and he will be the man to keep one end while the stroke players create havoc from the other, that is if they can. :)
*Originally posted by ehsan: *
I disagree, we need someone to anchor the innings and he will be the man to keep one end while the stroke players create havoc from the other, that is if they can. :)
Yes Ehsan bhai your right, but if Pakistan is batting second, and the opposition puts up a big score, then you're in trouble cuz a player like Taufeeq can't play fast. And the worst thing, considering the speed he plays at, if he's at the crease for a long time, and then gets out, it puts more pressure on the incoming batsmen. This is Taufeeq's first centuary against a quality bowling team. His other 2 centuries were against Zimbabve and Bangladesh. But, if the choice was between Saleem Elahi and Taufeeq Umer, I wud definetly pick Taufeeq for the WC !!
I think he should open as it didn't take him that many balls to score a century in test against a team like South Africa. He hit lot of boundaries and is a confident player and as someone mentioned even if he is slow he is a confident player and a player like Dravid and Atapattu. They are also slow but once they are settled, they score a big one.
Kya khatay ho, Yasir? ![]()
Taufeeq Umer would be a legimate choice as a opener with Saeed Bhai. I’ve been backing alot Afridi but after having alot of thought, seeing Taufeeq’s figure, I think he deserves his place as a opener. Who’d like to be a opener with Saeed Bhai? Elahi? ![]()
Taufeeq is learning tactics, how to play storkes, stay stable. In case of Afridi, you got to teach the guy, who in the end doesn’t gives a damn[sometimes, he pays off though :p].
Therefore, I think Taufeeq should open with Saeed Bhai in the ODI. Afridi should come as Fall of 1st wicket. ![]()
**Fifth boundry by Inzi. ![]()
63.3 Kallis to Inzamam-ul-Haq, FOUR, cover drive as it hits the pad first and sees them go up but thats never given out.**
Yes Ehsan bhai your right, but if Pakistan is batting second, and the opposition puts up a big score, then you're in trouble cuz a player like Taufeeq can't play fast. And the worst thing, considering the speed he plays at, if he's at the crease for a long time, and then gets out, it puts more pressure on the incoming batsmen. This is Taufeeq's first centuary against a quality bowling team. His other 2 centuries were against Zimbabve and Bangladesh. But, if the choice was between Saleem Elahi and Taufeeq Umer, I wud definetly pick Taufeeq for the WC !!
I think we don't need to worry about fast right now...our team needs players who can stay on the wicket and give us some partnerships...
Taufeeq seems to have more than enough strokes to play fast if the team needs it. He also has great shot selection unlike Afridi. I've seen more than enough to convince me that this lad has what it takes. Great temperament too.
*Pakistan: 201/2; trail by 419 runs. *
Yeah You are right…I guess Afridi would be too much off a gamble in the WC considering we dont even know how Saeed Anwar will perform. So basically, we have no choice, it comes down to to, Afridi, Elahi, and Taufeeq. And I would Definetly not want Elahi to open, Afridi would be alright…but Taufeeq, I guess he would be alright, but keep in mind, this is his first centuary against a quality team. Lets wish he can be a great opener.
*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *
Afridi should come as Fall of 1st wicket. :)
oh yaar...Afridi should not be in the playin 11. He simply cannot survive on these pitches. Its gonna be much better if Azhar Mehmood is played instead.
*Originally posted by Sharaabi: *
oh yaar...Afridi should not be in the playin 11. He simply cannot survive on these pitches. Its gonna be much better if Azhar Mehmood is played instead.
Afridi should be in the playing 11. Azhar hasn't played for a long while now....and it will be too risky to play him in the WC. We all saw how Razzaq was playing after a time off from cricket due to an injury. Azhar is a great player, but unfortunetly, he doesnt have time to warm up for WC.
*Originally posted by Sharaabi: *
Nah nah, on bouncing pitches, Afridi will definitely goes for hit; and in the end he might get few boundaries, and couple of sixers.
Though, Afridi's performance has been poor as a batsman but he has really shape him up as a leg spinner. ;)
Azhar Mehmood is injured.
Afridi should be in the playing 11. Azhar hasn't played for a long while now....and it will be too risky to play him in the WC. We all saw how Razzaq was playing after a time off from cricket due to an injury. Azhar is a great player, but unfortunetly, he doesnt have time to warm up for WC.
AGREE
Afridi has his pluses but his batting is simply blind gambling which isn't good enough at this level. If you want a shot player to open alongside Taufeeq then Imran Nazir would be a better bet, he's far more talented - but he's not part of the squad.
If Afridi plays it should be as a bowler instead of Saqi maybe.