2nd Test Match|Pakistan vs Sri Lanka|At|Gadaffi Stadium|Lahore|March 1-5

Alright guys…I think its time to open the thread for the 2nd Test match between Pakistan and Sri Lanka…the game is only about a day away.

Pakistan have retained their 15 man squad for this match.

Sri Lanka in Pakistan 2008-09

Pakistan retain squad for second Test

Cricinfo staff

February 25, 2009

Pakistan’s selectors have retained the 15-man squad from the first Test against Sri Lanka for the second match, at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore from Sunday. Abdul Qadir, the chief selector, said five reserve players - Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal, Sohail Tanvir, Abdur Rauf and Nasir Jamshed - may also be included to add more depth.

The first of the two-match series in Karachi ended in a draw on Wednesday.

**Squad: Younus Khan (capt), Salman Butt, Khurram Manzoor, Ahmed Shahzad, Shoaib Malik, Misbah-ul-Haq, Faisal Iqbal, Asim Kamal, Fawad Alam, Yasir Arafat, Danish Kaneria, Kamran Akmal (wk), Umar Gul, Mohammad Talha, Sohail Khan

Reserves: Nasir Jamshed, Shahid Afridi, Sohail Tanveer, Abdur Rauf, Saeed Ajmal.**

Re: 2nd Test Match|Pakistan vs Sri Lanka|At|Gadaffi Stadium|Lahore|March 1-5

Pakistan v Sri Lanka, 2nd Test, Lahore

Intikhab satisified with pitch for second Test

Cricinfo staff

February 27, 2009

Pakistan coach Intikhab Alam says he is pleased with the pitch for the second Test between Pakistan and Sri Lanka, starting Sunday at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. "The wicket is firm and looks good to me," he said. "We want a pitch that helps fast bowlers on the first day and benefits the spinners in the second innings, with the ball coming on to the bat. Nowadays, with one-day cricket being played so often, people expect a result in five-day matches with 90 overs being played a day."

Intikhab was among the many critics of the pitch during the drawn first Test, which witnessed a run-fest with four-and-a-half dreary days dominated by the bat. It was tough going for the bowlers on the docile track at the National Stadium in Karachi as Sri Lanka, batting first, scored 644 with Mahela Jayawardene and Thilan Samaraweera posting double-centuries. Pakistan's reply was equally weighty, with Younis Khan hitting 313 and Kamran Akmal scoring an unbeaten 158 before they declared on 765 for 6.

Intikhab refused to be drawn into further comments about the Karachi Test and hoped the Lahore wicket would be similar to those used for the one-dayers. "We always have a positive approach. I don't want to comment more on the Karachi wicket. It was a challenge for every player. If we played like the way we did in Karachi, with every player taking on the pressure, it will be a good match."

He believed the positives from the first Test would spur the players to winning the two-Test series, having lost the ODI series 1-2. He said the leadership of the new captain Younis Khan in the first match gave his side the momentum.

"We will try to win this Test match," Intikhab said. "The comeback in the last match showed we have a lot of character and courage, especially the way the captain batted. There was a plan that was well-executed and every player took up the responsibility. It was a great achievement and towards the finish, we took five wickets in the second innings on the flat track.

"The credit goes to all the players, especially Younis. His triple hundred was a fantastic performance. He is a positive and committed man, and we needed such a captain who is enthusiastic and leads from the front. And the way he led, with commitment, is very good for the team."

© Cricinfo

I have stopped believing what Intikhab says anymore…the guy just makes way too many statements. Plus, Mr. Intikhab…why would you want the pitch to help the spinners after the first day?? Do you really think…on a spinner friendly pitch…Danish ‘big mouth’ Kaneria can outperform Murli and Mendis? You must be dreaming. We should play to our strength and have a pitch which suits our fast bowlers…

I think Pakistan will only make one change…and that would be to bring in Talha in for Khan. I think this change is a MUST. Khan looked extremely raw and he is definetly not ready for test cricket yet…but definetly talent is there.

I would like to see Ahmed Shehzad playing for Manzoor simply because Manzoor’s technique leaves a lot to be desired…especially against Murli and Mendis. I actually like Manzoor’s grittyness and his fighting attitude…but unfortunetly his constant camping on the backfoot against Murli and Mendis leaves him as a sitting duck for them.

And of course…I’d love to see Alam playing for ‘Bhanja’…but since ‘Bhanja’ scored a 50…there’s no way he’s gonna be dropped for the next 10 test matches Pakistan plays :smack:

Plausible changes

(1)- Ahmed Shehzad replacing Khurram Manzoor....it would be a bit harsh though on Khurram to drop him after just one game. He needs to be given a fair run before everyone starts judging his technique etc.

(2)- Mohammad Talha replacing Sohail Khan....as you mentioned above Sohail does not seem ready for test cricket yet

(3)- One of the two Shoaib Malik or Faisal Iqbal will have to make way eventually for Mohammad Yousuf once he comes back into the side. We don't have Yousuf here and both Malik and bhanja played their part with the bat in the previous game. This is also the series decider so it is highly unlikely that the selectors would make wholesale changes in the batting order

The only change that seems plausible is the one you mentioned above (2)

The over-rated Kaneria will ofcourse keep his place in the side for his second innings 'heroics'

I am all for Ahmed Shehzad and Mohammad Talha, even though it woud be unfair to drop Sohail Khan after just one outing on a placid pitch.

I was impressed with Yasir Arafat though. He was the only bowler who held a steady seam and was reverse swinging the ball, as well as keeping good line and length.

*I guess Mr. Alam has indicated that Talha will be in 2nd Test match

Can't wait to see Talha bowl. Hopefully he'll be the next Mohammad Asif (in on-field activities only).

He's bowling wide of the crease so no chance of getting an lbw.

**2 early wickets by Umer gul

Lanka: 55/2

**i've just woke up ..

ne 1 saw talha bowling ??

yup ...... talha is fast .........
but there is some prob wid his run up........... which can/will get better wid expereince....

**At lunch
Srilanka: 89-2

54 run partnership b/w sangakara n jaywardhana

Talha is definetly fast...and much faster than Khan. But his action is kinda awkward. He has bowled some decent deliveries...and has got some good bounce as well.

But...he does bowl at least one rubbish bowl per over which gets smacked...but its still a lot better than Khan...who was bowling at least 4 deliveries per over which deserved to get smacked.

one BIG thing missing from his bowling is swing. He doesnt have an outswinger to the righthanders at all.

** ^^ its just his 1st game ....... he is quite young ....... so give him lil time to atleast settle down........

meanwhile ........
gul lankans kee batti gul ker raha hai :D

**50 for sangakara..........

n 150 for lankans

Too many easy 4's given away ...... Younus ji aggreessive hona bhi achi baat hay but atleast stem the flow of the runs a bit

Last 10 ovs 47/0 RR 4.70 and no wicket in that period :(

Wicket required

yeah very much like Aussies falling :)

hopefully these both depart soon

A quick wicket or 2 needed otherwise this

Current partnership 152 runs, 39.2 overs, RR: 3.86

is already hurting

Is this pitch fast and lively as the one in Karachi or the type the great coach Intikhab wanted in Karachi?