2nd Test: India v Pakistan at Kolkata - Nov 30-Dec 4, 2

Greetings from Mumbai, India.

I opened this thread to help Pakistan level the series and bring joy to my friends here.

Having watched the 1st Test in its entirety, I will just say the following :

(1) India will be stretching its luck by retaining Munaf and expecting to dismiss Pak twice again with only 3 REAL BOWLERS (Munaf has become a benign and innocuous bowler - only serves to make a long batting tail - longer).

(2) Shoaib Akhtar and Umar Gul (if fit) would be a handful for India in Kolkata…given that the Eden Gardens wicket would be livelier than Kotla’s.

(3) Kumble is NOT such a great captain , we will soon find this out (even if India go on to win this series). His love for Munaf and Ganguly, withholding Harbhajan for too long, weird bowling changes during pressure situations ---- he is just lucky that the Pak batsmen made him seem like a genius. His body (and facial) language often suggested that he would get panicky in tight situations.

(4) Bring back Irfan Pathan for Pete’s sakes…or at least Praveen Kumar. Praveen swings the ball bothways and is a capable batsman.

BOTTOMLINE : If India somehow conjures up another win with the same manhoos bowling attack, I will say that the Pak team deserve to drown in chullu bhar paani.

Re: 2nd Test: India v Pakistan at Kolkata - Nov 30-Dec 4, 2007

^ bottom line **kabool **hai :hehe:

I am not holding my breathe for this match at all. We 'll have to just take this match as it comes. Thats the best we can do I guess!

chak deeeeeeeeeeeee…o’chak de indiaaaaaaaaaaaaaa :dhimpak: :balley:

Ahooo Chak De India Noooo :mocking:

balkay .. India de Phattay Chak De ( in second test )

ok guys … not expecting much … but hope for good :sunnyboy:

i just wish and pray that AKMAL is DROPPED! :smack:

tars khaney ki zaroorat nahi hai ...

Paki cheetahs will win it themselves, not by ur thread

i don't understand why Munaf patel is there. why can't they bring Irfan pathan ,a better bat as well .

go AKMAL go ................. :p

go musharaf go jingle is still ringing in my ears :D

politics

Shoaib in hospital/Gul fit/Malik injured/Sami not injured
November 27, 2007

Shoaib Akhtar has been taken to hospital complaining of fatigue caused by a fever after Pakistan arrived in Kolkata ahead of the second Test against India which starts on Friday.
"He was suffering from fever and got very tired after arriving here from New Delhi," a team official told Reuters. "So he has been taken to hospital, probably to be put on a drip." However, he isn't expected to stay more than a couple of days and the management are confident he will recover in time for the Test.
Shoaib impressed during the first Test with six wickets, including four in the second innings, but couldn't prevent India taking the opening contest. He isn't the only fitness concern for Pakistan as they aim to bounce back with Shoaib Malik, the captain, trying to shake off an ankle injury he picked during a game of football after the match.

There is better news about Umar Gul who has overcome the back problem which kept him out of the New Delhi Test. "Gul will be available for selection," said the official. "His scan report was seen by the Pakistan medical board and it has cleared him." Gul will put pressure on Mohammad Sami who was expensive and wicketless last week.

Here we go again. Bad luck..

• Malik looks to be injured (ankle problem)
  • Akhtar is sick (fever)
  • Gul is fit (but you never know)
  • Sami is not injured

hopefully akhtar will play in the 2nd test along with Gul. So chances are we will not see Sami in the final 11 :dhimpak:

A very interesting situation will develop if Malik will not play the 2nd test due to his injury.

i think they said he was fit (malik)
just a small injury

but gul and akhtar should do some big damage, really impressed by akhtar, not totally convinced by his action at times, but A+ for effort

on the indian side
sreesanth was ruled out of the entire series
rp singh might come back for the 3rd test which is good news

till then i think munaf bowled well in patches, probably not a bad idea to let him play the remaining matches to see if he gets better, when he puts some effort in, the result are there for everyone to see

and I thought football (american) was an intensive sport... cricket is full of injuries!! in football you barely see any..

This is good luck ! :balley:
Oh no! :bummer:

May be they are working on some consipracy against Indian team... a la Salman Butt :p

With or without Shoiab Chucktar, The Indians are going beat the Paki team up.......Barey dino ke bad strong Indian batting line up ka dhmaal dekhey ko mil raha hai. All we have to do is replace Karthick with yuvi and we are all set.

If you guys have a manhoos bowling attack, we have one of the weirdest and most bizarre batting line up and hence we complement each other again. Just imagine the worth of a team who cannot even face ganguly with the new ball! No matter whom you guys choose to play, as long as he or she can swing a little bit, Pakistani batting will simply succumb to him or “her”.

Pakistani batting line up is literally a shame and I really don’t care if we end up scoring 500 in next two test matches. That won’t solve the long term problems. The fact remains that for last four years, we simply don’t have enough depth in our batting and inzi’s departure has literally handicapped us strategically. A miraculous batting performance by yoyo/younis for last two years (I think yoyo’s average is close to 80 and younis’s is close to 70 in last two years) did not reveal the sorry conditions of our batting line up but not any more. And I am glad that the truth is exposing.

I have always said this and the current series has again confirmed that Pakistan and India play the most pathetic cricket when they play against each other. The last test match was an excellent example. We tend to get so emotional in an India-Pakistan match that we forget to pay attention to the technical nuisances of the game. Kotla wicket was not a bad wicket by any means. It just required a little bit of application and discipline. Bring Aus or SA on this pitch and they will score over 500. The wicket was actually playing straight and did not break till the very last day.

What really disappointed me that even tough the match was evenly poised for most part, it was not due to brilliance of both teams, rather it was due to pathetic display of cricket by both teams. When India lost their last 4 wickets on third morning for less than 20 runs, it was because Indian batsmen were trying to play shots left and right. Kaneria did not bowl any special except his ball to Kumble. Pakistanis returned the favor on the fourth day by losing 5 wickets for 30 runs, again due to poor shot selection. Even Ganguly was getting wickets!

In essence, in an India Pak contest, the best team never wins, the worst team always loses. And I don’t buy the pressure theory anymore. Both teams are playing against each other quite often, so the pressure has decreased.

And by the way Some1 (I relly mean it), if India (read tendulkar 141 tests, ganguly 97 tests, dravid 120 tests, kumble 120 tests, laxaman 75 tests+Zaheer 50 plus) cannot beat this Pakistani team (yoyo 75 test, younis 51, forget rest of them) on their own soil, then they should literally drown in challo bhar panni.

I am an Indian ,but i want to request u that don't call Shoaib chuckthar it is a derrogatory word ,annoying word .And no need to show such arrogance over a single test .Cricket is a funny game ,any thing can happen .Indians were also played some crappy cricket .Infact both teams played badly and pakistanw played more played badly ,hence they lost . What was Indian batting in the first innings? Mediocre at its best .

Phoenix desi ,there is a thing called Law of averages .By that theory ur top batsmen MoYo and Yk should perform in the next test .Wait for that .Also Indians have this tendency to be complacent over a victory just like some fans .All is not over .