2nd Test: India v England at Nottingham - Jul 27-31, 2007

Re: 2nd Test: India v England at Nottingham - Jul 27-31, 2007

Zaheer Khan says England’s “insulting” behaviour spurred him on as India closed in on winning the second Test.

Zaheer claimed that England’s fielders had tried to put him off by throwing jelly beans onto the wicket when he was batting at Trent Bridge on Sunday.

The left-arm seamer took his revenge with a devastating 5-75 on Monday to leave the hosts facing a big defeat.
He said: “I felt it was insulting - I wasn’t sure where it came from but it definitely came from a fielder.”

He revealed how he became irritated by one of the close fielders throwing the beans onto the wicket in an attempt to put him off

Zaheer reacted by b*****shing his bat towards Kevin Pietersen in the gully, prompting the umpires to intervene and talk to England captain Michael Vaughan about the incident.

Zaheer said: "We are here to play cricket and that’s what we’re looking to do… for me, it definitely inspired me to do well.

“When I go out onto the cricket field I’m serious and I’m there to play cricket. This is Test match cricket we’re playing.”

It also fired up his fellow paceman Sree Santh, who was fined 50% of his match fee after barging Vaughan during the captain’s century knock on Monday.
Asked about Sunday’s incident, England wicket-keeper Matt Prior refused to elaborate but defended any team’s right to sledge opponents.

But Paul Collingwood, who hit a determined 63 on Monday, made light of the incident, saying: “Zaheer wasn’t too pleased - I think he prefers the blue ones to the pink ones.”

No action has so far been taken, but match referee Madugalle has the power to punish those involved once the Test is completed if he believes the International Cricket Council’s Code of Conduct has been breached.
Players take jelly beans out to the pitch to give them energy boosts throughout the day.

SOURCE: BBC SPORT | Cricket | England | England 'insults' inspired Zaheer

May be thats what English players use to do with Trescothick during net practice which made him so mad that he left them.

Anyway, Congratulations to India on a well deserved victory :clap:

In my opinion, Pieterson and others who are involved with throwing rubbish onto the pitch should be handed a fine or at least a part deduction in their match fees. They are no different than Sreesanth who largely came into the picture because of his brush-off with the England captain. A tail-ender vs. a captain of national team, one can tell which has the most damages written all over it. If this sort of act was done anywhere in the sub-continent, British newspapers would be filled with the types of punishment that should be handed to culprits, but since Zaheer is labeled as a tail-ender, this incident is likely to be let go. Had this been Dravid instead, things could have turned out differently.

What? Mighty 3 down? tsk tsk

Sreesanth should be consistently fined for his antics...He is a desi afterall, aglay match mein bunday ka putter bun kar khailay ga wurna Gujrati pita jee ka joota paRay ga.

Congratulations to India on a well-deserved win. England were playing catch-up cricket all the time. They are now in danger of losing their first home series since 2001 (Ashes)

Looks like the list of black-listed words at GS is pretty comprehensive. Takes care of the desi ones too.

hahaha, aur tv pe tulsi whatever ka next episode bhi aane waala hai...

Okay, I am pretty sure this should be "jaldi" and not "zaldi".
Now is dhobi_bhai an Indian ? Me think not. Now where is the j/z police ?

jz police lol. I still cant get over how sikhs here pronounce Zellers as Jellers.

I was going to say punjabis but surprisingly pakistani punjabis dont have that problem. Is it because pakistani punjabis already have a Z (zaal, zay, zuaad, zoay) that they've picked up from urdu?

One observation:

Indian punjabis cant say Z so they use J instead.
Bengali's can't say J so they use Z instead.

^^ thank god that Pakistanis don't have a major accent problems unlike Indians and Bengalis

It wouldve been even better if Pakistanis had an education as good as the Indians and Bengalis.

ya, indians are more educated than pakistanis but don't know about bengalis