Re: 2nd Test: India v England at Nottingham - Jul 27-31, 2007
way to go Zaheer! good going India… hope it doesn’t rain tomorrow and India gets its win! :k:
Zaheer is the man...he always was. I have been his avid supporter.
I know a *kabootar *when I see one...example Sreesanth...replace him with in/out-of form Pathan...and all will be good.
I've got to admit, have been extremely disappointed by the level of Sreesanth's idiocy in this game. High-spiritedness, maybe even immaturity is one thing, but the kind of crap he was pulling was beyond excuse. Still think he has the bowling ability, but with this mental makeup, only one direction he is going. Someone in the Indian team needs to take this kid out to the woodshed and beat some sense into him.
Sreesanth fined for breaching ICC code
Sreesanth, the Indian fast bowler, has been fined half his match fee for breaching clause 2.4 of the ICC Code of Conduct which relates to “inappropriate and deliberate physical contact between players in the course of play” during the fourth day of the second Test at Trent Bridge.
Sreesanth was charged for shoulder-barging Michael Vaughan during the first session of play on the fourth day. He pleaded guilty at a hearing convened by the match referee Ranjan Madugalle at the end of the day.
“Cricket is a non-contact sport and any deviation from that fact is completely unacceptable, a point I made to Sreesanth in handing down my verdict,” Madugalle said. "I have no problem with players being combative on the field but there is a line they cannot cross and Sreesanth crossed that line when he barged past Michael Vaughan, a collision he had every opportunity to avoid.
“I am pleased that Sreesanth accepted he was in the wrong by pleading guilty and that he apologized for his actions and I hope he learns from his mistake here.”
In December 2006, Sreesanth had been fined 30% of his match fee during India’s tour of South Africa for “showing a lack of respect” towards Hashim Amla after dismissing him at Johannesburg.
SOURCE: http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/engvind/content/current/story/304521.html
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/imagehosting/thumb_2632346ae5831ba71f.jpg
Michael Vaughan and Paul Collingwood give Sreesanth a stare, England v India, 2nd Test, Trent Bridge, 4th day, July 30, 2007
I've got to admit, have been extremely disappointed by the level of Sreesanth's idiocy in this game. High-spiritedness, maybe even immaturity is one thing, but the kind of crap he was pulling was beyond excuse. Still think he has the bowling ability, but with this mental makeup, only one direction he is going. Someone in the Indian team needs to take this kid out to the woodshed and beat some sense into him.
Deep down, I was hoping he would come good. But his endless theatrics is getting on my nerves.
This from Cricinfo :
It was as if he was bowling in blindfolds, he lost his action, overstepped, and once, delivered from about four feet behind the crease. He was too wide, too wayward and, until late in the day, didn't look like he would get a wicket. He changed his action almost every ball - sometimes holding the ball like Merv Hughes, sometimes trying an Imran Khan-type sidewards leap and sometimes imitating Damien Fleming. None worked. His over-done theatrics only made him look sillier and that shoulder barge against Vaughan, which cost him half his match fees, summed up his day.
Once dropped...maturity will dawn upon him pretty quick.
kyon kay kapray badalnay kay lyay nanga tu hona hee hota hay na
Point taken..
Let me rephrase :
"jo log sheeshe ke ghar mein rehte hain...woh Light On kar ke kapde nahi badalte"
Sky Sports 1 broadcasted the highlights package, and after it was over, it was all about Sreesanth. They showed his shoulder brush-off against Vaughan, and it was probably the most deliberate thing he has ever done. After that, Pieterson played one down towards the bowler, and Sreesanth picked it up and aimed as if he was going to kill Pieterson with it. The very next ball, a complete beamer, sailed over Pieterson's head and landed in front of Dhoni. Then they showed that no-ball of his. Huge, huge no-ball. Of all the deliveries that they showed he bowled, his bowling action seemed very different in each delivery. It was not his usual action. Half of his match fees is not doing justice. Should be been the complete match fees plus a hefty fine on top of that.
In order for England to win, we are being told to expect the following:
A massive earthquake;
17-inches of non-stop rain, floods all over Nottingham;
Bob Willis made a comment on the Lords test and the decisions which could have gone in favor of England, which they didn’t and denied England an early victory.
OR their coach should be found unconscious in the hotel room.....
That was uncalled for...
India is finally playing with an attitude.
Cricinfo has details of what the English players were doing while Zaheer was batting yesterday that had him all worked up - throwing jelly beans on to the pitch. Why ? Supposedly part of the tactics of the new management (Moore and co) to enhance mental disintegration. Of a tail end batsman ?? Pretty sad, this dearth of good sledging ideas (on both sides).
Sachin wasn’t out, admits Taufel
As the battle between India and England is getting louder and sharper, umpire Simon Taufel is slowly becoming its first victim.
The 36-year-old Australian, who had blundered twice on Sunday, conceded that he had wrongly given Sachin Tendulkar out.
“I always look at the big screen after giving a decision. The minute I saw replays of Sachin’s dismissal I knew I had got it wrong,” he said.
Taufel insisted he couldn’t be faulted in Sourav Ganguly’s case. “I would have given him out every time,” he said.
“As the ball crossed his bat there was a sound. Even non-striker Laxman heard it.” Yes, but the bat was at least two inches away from the ball.
Taufel told *Sky Sports *that he was very upset with himself for giving Tendulkar out. He, however, didn’t make any effort to speak to the third umpire or call Tendulkar back, as he had done in Kevin Pietersen’s case in the first Test.
Taufel had lifted his finger when MS Dhoni claimed a thick edge off Pietersen. He, however, succumbed to the pressure when TV replays showed that the ball had hit the turf before Dhoni caught it.
Seeing Pietersen coming back, on instructions from the English dressing room, Taufel consulted colleague Steve Bucknor and overruled his own decision.
Tendulkar was too stunned to react. He didn’t come to the press conference even though he was the day’s best performer.
Refreshing to see an Umpire admitting to his mistake. To be honest, this does not have anything to do with the competency of the Umpire. “LBWs” are designed to be error-prone when judged by human eye and unless Hawkeye is adopted, nothing will change.
What's interesting is that he is acknowledging that the replay (Hawkeye) helped him determine what the right decision was. That's what is so sadistic about the current setup - everyone else has the access to the best technology to second-guess the decision, except the ones responsible for making it. Who then have to suffer in public over their errors.
^That was a horrible decision from Taufel, but things happen so fast sometimes. ICC had this 2 referral per inning idea before the champions trophy in India, where a team can refer 2 decisions per innings to the 3rd umpire. havent heard about it since, but i can see how that could affect an umpires confidence and even authority. I think we have to stick with what we have currently.
Good stuff from India, more specifically Zaheer, just lead the team on his shoulders. Tomorrow they should be able to wrap it up with a well deserved win. I was thinking about selection for next test. I back Sreesanth's talent and looks to be the future of the Indian pace attack (not atm ofcourse) but his peformance was shocking. He doesnt deserve to play International cricket right now...unfortunately i couldnt think of anyone to replace him. We saw that sharma and bose were made of, they are not even options...pathan needs time to regroup and get his form back. So Dravid might be stuck with him.
India @ 31/0
poised for a victory
Z*affer pulled one from outside the off-stump after Ganguly had signaled from the dressing room - *Aao zaldi, chai thandi ho rahi hai.
India won by 7 wkts ![]()
we won we won
“Phoren” mein jaake Test match jeetney kaa mazaa hee kuch aur hotaa hai…
Cheeers ![]()