2011 Brides

Re: 2011 Brides

YAY ok so I'm normal! Disney gave me false expectations about how I was to be whisked away by Prince Charming and now I'm not coping so well =/

Also, is it a norm to be sung about? At every other occasion? I mean I get the Dolkis and stuff, but randomly by people when visiting? I appreciate the enthusiasm by my relatives and friends who have a right to enjoy or have fun but what does one do to make strangers act normal instead of letting them turn life into a musical? :S

Congradulations. the sung part is so funny, lol how do they do it?? I'm interested

lol hun... i just found out about a month ago too.. i was supposed to b a 2012 bride!! plus the wedding is in June.. sooo its arriving quickly arghhhh lol
I never thought I would go bridezilla but I am! mainly because my family n inlaws keeps turning it into a bigger and biggger event and that is not what I want at all.
I do go back and forth though... denial 1 day, happy the next, sad the day after, and bridezilla too.

mine is less than 4 months away... I have gotten over the living with the boy part its the living with the inlaws part that I can not grasp.

heheheh I talk about it quite alot.. since I am having to pretty much plan every thing.

hahah i dont get it either.. why does it have to be like a week or two long affair? We should have 1 day and thts all... but nooo they want to have every single eventt! arghhh we are going to have 3 days at the hall which is quite frustrating

Congratulations girls!!!

Oh em gee! things are moving along super-quick & Feb just flew by!!! I just found out that I'll be moving to a different state when we get back after the wedding (fiance got transfered for work)...Thats just causing me STRESS! I am sooo not prepared for this...this means, I'll be the one quitting work and my plans to finish school have been delayed interminably...it just sucks. (I went thru half a bag of m&m's :()

So im getting married in exactly a month! :) and that too, in lahore! Im from lahore, but live in the states. Im so mixed with feelings right now...happy, excited, sad to be leaving my home (ill be moving to another state altogether when we return to the states after the wedding).. overwhelmed would be the right word!!

my main concern, as silly as it may sound is 'adjusting' to the paki 'culture'...not the tradition culture, but what i mean is the paki 'mentality'. the thing is, i prefer a simple low profile personality for myself and im just worried about having to cater to the artificial paki mentality of, oh what is she wearing, what kind of jewelry, what brand is this or that..etc. although i personally do like to be well kept, i dont like to be flashy about it. but i dont know if i should even really be worried about that or not.

after the wedding, ill be staying with my husband at my inlaws for a few months in paki, while my family will return to the states. life is about to change completely! but im seeing it as a new experience that will only happen once in a lifetime so ill be making the most of it!

Gee! You guys are some HAPPY BRIDES TO BE INSHAALAH! Mashaallah :)

I have RARELY come accross girls so happy to get maried !! :P AHHAHA :p

A client of ours was so DEPRESSED!!! :S She didn't bother about her bridal.. n goes like
bas kuch bana dein.... should be red.....*yawn baki jo sahi lage acha sa bana dein....*
I was like :S Whoa!! What a carefree bride! No wonder she has NO BREAKOUTS b4 shadi!! lolll THE TENSON GIRLS MIGHT GIVE U BREAKOUTS so Avoid BEING TENSED!!!

mizsani,awww gooodluck with the prep hun :hugz:

Ladybugs, Im getting married in lahore too my fiance is from london and im from sumwhere in east asia :stuck_out_tongue: i dnno what im gna do where to shop my lengha n stuff ufffffffh im compeletly lost!:crying: do guide me wher did u shop all the necessities.
Also dnt worrry about adjustin in pak n for the mentality jus be the way you are!!

Yeah be who you are. Don't bother with their ways!

@ Madinahme -

Well basically I think they just want mithai and samosay :O I told my mum that and she just whacked me for being rude, but seriously, my relatives and friends etc etc are having fun and going the whole ten yards, which I can understand, but suddenly neighborhood aunties who I cant remember EVER having been around are getting hyper and just as worked up! I think they sing songs about the girls family/guys family, celebrations and this one I dont really get all of but its something like Rasoolay Paak ka saaya mubarak ho?? among others. Its thoughtful and sweet they care but they drop by at the oddest times so its really annoying if you need to go somewhere and POP! random person plops onto your sofa demanding chaai koofee. This ordinarily wouldnt even piss me off but its just the inconvenience of it all happening at a time when I really need to go do things which keep getting delayed :(

@ Mizsani -

HUGE HUG! I can imagine what your going through :O I wasnt supposed to get married till like, years!! My ideal was a small ceremony too but I'm the youngest and everyone thinks they have a "right" to make the most of it. To top it off, all the married cousins are wearing their bridals to my wedding..which means Ill have around (if Im lucky and the groom's side decides to spare me) eight brides (makeup, hairdo, the works) to be compared to. Sigh.

@ Escapist -

I had to delay my studies too!! Missed my spring semester to come to Pakiland and get stuff done :( Which sucks because I'm moving to another city and have to transfer credits and go through the entire admissions process again!! What state are you moving to?

@ Ladybugs -

Please let me know if you find a way to deal with it :) so far Iv found isolating ones self does not work :(

Hi Girls,
I just want to say a big congrats to all of you girls who will be inshAllah be brides of 2011/2012!
I was a bride of 2010 and I had a really special and lovely time at my wedding. One thing I would like to say to all of you is the most important thing to do is while preparing and during the wedding is to say lots of Dua's, it helped me through the preps and during the the whole ceremony. And please enjoy your day and take it all in, because it goes so fast.
If any of you have any questions or need advice please PM me, I would be happy to help.
May Allah bless you with all the happiness, joy, laughter and love throughout your married life. Ameen xxx

@ Nene23

Ive got 3 courses to complete before graduation, so transferring is out of the question. I was on a leave of absence since last year as I began working full-time (wanted the chance to gain experience & save up). I planned on going back Spring 2012 but now thats on the backburner. The good news is I finally filled out the Visa forms (really cutting it close!) and have a couple spa days booked over the next few months before D-day. oh, moving to Ohio.

hey 2011 brides! i only have a matter of weeks left now...
just wanted to ask, is it normal to change your mind/get a bit worried over choice of lengha?
i don't know whether its nerves or me being silly but i'm panicking that what i've chosen isn't traditional or heavy enough...

Completely - it's best not to look at the lengha or the course of the next week and not to check out bridal lenghas on the net or on gupshup threads because there is just SO much available and trends keep changing that there will always be something you like more.. :) What you have chosen is probably very beautiful :)

Oh!!!! I LIVE in Ohio!!!! Advance welcome to our state. lolz.. Though, I really want to get out of here because of the lack of desi community, and Halal resturaunts.

my sister is getting married on 10th of this month :)

^ congrats! and thank you djsidra! lol…the first thing i did was get on zabihah.com to look up places in Ohio! thats a crazy coincidence that youre there!!! and I guess its good that Im only 6 hours or so away from Illinois :slight_smile:

So guys, hows this song for my reception slideshow? is it suited for a slideshow or should I walk in to it on the walima?

need opinions please!

It's taken me MONTHS to even choose a dress and just today I sort have decided on something and I already want to change my mind.
Today my heart broke a little because I finally sent a grand to Pakistan for dress. My student loan money is now being made into a dress :(

Aww, I kno how hard it is to decide on the outfits I keep thinking that maybe I picked something too old school or the colors are gonna look weird. Idk what the jewelry will be and wht if it doesnt go with my clothes etc... but hang it there sweetie. Did you end up going with the one you posted here? and wait, why are you ordering the bridal joray?

[quote="escapist, post:11, topic:237154"]

^ congrats! and thank you djsidra! lol...the first thing i did was get on zabihah.com to look up places in Ohio! thats a crazy coincidence that youre there!!! and I guess its good that Im only 6 hours or so away from Illinois :)
QUOTE]

That's cool that you are able to go to illinois. It is not that far of a drive from Ohio either. It is about 7 - 8 hours depending on the speed and stops on the way. My sister is married and lives in Aurora, Illinois, so I get to visit once a year and eat at Devon Street. Aaah!

Yes, Im from Illinois so, Im glad ill be able to visit :D
Devon is great for food