2011 Brides

Re: 2011 Brides

Thank you very much farahsha; very much appreciated.
However, details there are a lil outdated. I need some recent prices / details about stage decors, dholki venues etc.

I hope IA the jora and the zewar turn out nice - pray for me!!!

Ok thats nice that hes letting you pick out some styles and then he gets to make the final decision - its wayyyyy better then getting a jora and then absolutley hating it then having to put up a fight to wear what you want then having him agree then having to buy your own - so you end up with 2 walima joras -one which you kinda are forced to wear :-( Not to say that happened with me or anything :o I hope IA he picks one that you loveeeeee :)

Yay!! I bet you are sooo excited that you are back now with all your stuff!!! How exciting :-) Dont worry about the small stuff IA it will all fall into place. IA Ill pray for you that everything goes well!!!!!!!!!!

Any of you ladies (from abroad) going to be living in Pakistan after your wedding?? Just found out that I'll be there for a while...and I'm kinda getting worried. The summer heat...the different lifestyle...etc.... plus I don't have any friends there... just cousins but we've grown apart over the years :( I guess we can try to bond again but it won't be like having my close girlfriends there.... sigh

Normally I love visiting my homeland, but this time it will be after "SHAADI" and more than just a month. Omg my nerves are getting worse everyday! and i'm not even the worrying type of girl..... :(

I totally understand, I'm from Canada but after wedding I'm going to go South Africa for 2-3 years until my husband completes his studies then we'll be back since hes from here too. but I'm so nervous I don't know anyone, no family nor friends. It'll be allright inshallah, especially if you know you'll be back. just enjoy and travel around pakistan

^ Oh wow..South Africa!!! I always wanted to go there...enjoy it hun!! And if you get lonely...we'll be here on GS :)

well true....you're right..I'll try to enjoy and travel, I haven't seen most of Pakistan anyways. So it'll be a nice adventure I guess
I'll try not to get too sad there.... and hope I'm able to come back soon.

ahaha I know this is going to sound stupid but I worry about not having an open internet connection. I told my husband this and he was like who cares. when I went to Pakistan, I only got to go on the internet once or twice in my three month trip and while i was checking my email...power was out. lol

Haha. Yes the internet connections are bad! When I visited Paksitan in summer 2007, I tried to log into my university website to check mail, and the site would not even load! Porbably because of all the flash and animations on the web page. Anywayz, when I went to Pakistan again in 2010, I had my cousin buy me a USB internet device. It worked much much better than regular net connections that my other cousins had. Look into it if you need to!

Great idea!! I will still have class work, so I need my internet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

hey girls

question: what are some absolute items I need to take from abroad to Pakistan? I'll be there after shaadi for couple of months...& I know they have most of the stuff there anyways...but wasn't sure about quality. I have some lists made, but any feedback would be appreciated. :)

Thanks!

^medication lol!!

But seriously I think you can find almost everthing over there! :)

So how are you ladies coping with the stress??? Everyone still alive and breathing?? I think I have come to the point that I just want to get this show on the road....I don't know how some girls can plan there weddings for like 2 yrs...its toooo stressful....and then once its over do they not feel a void in there lives??/ Sorry that was random.... lol

Ok back to wedding talk lol...Do you ladies have color themes for your wedding?

hmmm managing stress: How about crying at night??? :( Not because I don't want this...but I'm getting really sad about leaving family etc. Plus I've put my whole life/school on hold and I hope I'm making the right decision....

Well I have just few months to plan it. Mom's taking care of most of it and tells me not to stress, but I don't want her to stress out as well.

Color themes: something classy would work. I have a limited budget, but I love flowers...as long as I can have them...I'll be ok :)

For mehndi, are there any other themes then Moroccan? Seems like everyone is doing that these days...

^ seems like every1 is bzy these days.. :)
personally i dont like moroccan theme.. how about mughal theme for mehndi !! or arabic

^ don't they all have cushions on floor & drapes? hmmm idk maybe the mughal one, but I saw some pictures and I couldn't really tell them apart.

At this point, I'm so stressed about life AFTER wedding that I'm not too worried about the actual mehdni/wedding day. :)

I know before people did the "village" theme, that has its own traditional charm if you are not marrying in your family village.

hmm what else.....

Normal Green/yellow
Moroccan/Arabic
Mughal
Fairy Tales
Peacock
Jewel Tones
Japanese/Asian
Victorian
50's/60's/70's
Beach/Ocean
Seasonal
Color theme

hmmmm idk...nothing really jumps out at me.

sigh. Its just for one day.... guess I shouldn't really lose sleep over this haha. As long as I can have a proper mehndi rasm with my family, and not have to eat too many ladoos...i'll consider it a sucess. :)

Goodnite! This bride2be needs her beauty sleep!

hmm once you R done wth ur beauty sleep have a look on these pics.. thought to share it with you :slight_smile:
hope it helps

http://www.haremnights.co.uk/arabian_nighjts_large_wedding_tent.jpg

i LOVE this one^

http://www.kudosmusic.co.uk/flImages/service2280.jpg

i guess no need to put camel outside heheheh

I agree everyone is doing Moroccan theme for their mehndi now-a-days - I know so many who have used that theme. Color theme's are nice and I agree with you about flowers - there are so pretty maghar kya fyaida - they are going in the trash after the event is done and are soooo expensive :(

Ok that first one is ufffffff so pretty! I wish I could do that but I cant since we are having the mehndi in a hotel - I wish we could have an outdoor function maghar yaha ka musame bhot karab hai - its very unpredictable so we decided just to have in hotels.

For my Mehndi we are doing a hot pink & yellow theme - I know its been done alot of times before but I’m not going to as MonkeyMirch said lose sleep over these events. I was trying to do everything so perfectly shuru shuru mein but now there is drama over one thing or another I’m keeping everything simple and I’m MA happy with it :slight_smile:

Any suggestions with my mehndi theme would be great!!!

I love the traditional ghende ke phool theme especially if the whole stage or jhoola is decorated with these flowers but its very expensive here in the US so we arent doing that but if you can do that it would be pretty. :)

I love mehndi's PERIOD.

hey pathan hmm nice combo :)
what's the color of your dress u r wearing on mehndi ?? how about decorate the stage with earthen lamps ( diya)