Re: 2006 South Asia report for World Development Indicators
^ ..and also a swedish forging company Imatra Kilsta AB. forgot it
Tata Motors subsidiary to buy UK design firm INCAT for Rs.411 crore
**Mumbai: **Tata Motors Ltd. said on Thursday its unit, Tata Technologies, has agreed to buy UK engineering and design firm INCAT Technologies Inc, giving it greater scale in North America, Europe and Asia.
Tata Motors’ subsidiary Tata Technologies will buy INCAT for about US$97 million (Rs411 crore), paying 220 pence a share in cash, and having already received an undertaking from shareholders owning 35.9 percent of INCAT’s shares
http://www.domain-b.com/news_review/200508aug/20050819newsa.html
Tata motors also took over one german design firm to fill its shorcomings in design field.
and mahindra & mahindra, a auto maker in india, took over plexion technologies based in US, which specializes again in design and analysis of automobiles.
Inspite of all this, again, india is not a developed country which i whole heartedly acknowledge.
*35% of India's population lives on less than $1 a day, which is comparable to Bangladesh's 36% and much worse than Pakistan's 17% and Sri Lanka's 6%. *
It is India that needs to learn from it's neighbours and pull itself upwards.
In the mean time, the level of poverty deteriorated to 34 per cent of the total population at present as against 30.6 per cent in the 1990s. This tells us that the poor in Pakistan are getting even poorer.
http://www.chowk.com/show_article.cgi?aid=00005009&channel=civic%20center
you upgrade your knowledge
Now tell us what Chini bhai produced in 10 years and what have you produced in 15
China's exports are close to reaching $1 trillion.
India cannot even reach a 1/0th of that figure.
**Powergen shuts India call centres **
Energy firm Powergen is to close its Indian call centres, with staff in the UK dealing with customers instead. It said the move would create 450 new jobs by the end of the year and reduce the number of customer complaints. Powergen began using call centres in India five years ago citing, like many other businesses, the financial benefits it brought. But the firm said it was “not prepared to achieve savings at the risk or expense of customer satisfaction”.
Customer confidence
“Offshore call centres may have their place for certain industries,” said Powergen’s managing director, Nick Horler. "However, we believe that we can best achieve industry-leading customer service by operating solely in the UK. “When customers contact us they need to be confident that their query will be fully resolved quickly.” The new jobs will be created at the centres in Bedford, Bolton, Leicester, Nottingham and Rayleigh in Essex. Customers ringing Powergen will now be answered in the UK though calls to customers will continue to be made from India for the rest of 2006. Powergen is owned by German utility group E.ON.
^ this is what you guys do. now bringing china
I whole heartedly acknoledge china is ahead of us.
and yeah i agree with Abdali :D :D
Check your facts.
It was an Indian who first brought up the comparison with China - which happens every time in these dicussions.
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showpost.php?p=4197741&postcount=7
we need a few more nice people like you.
which he got it from one of your own articles in this thread. isn't it?. even if he brought it, that was just one small area where india might be doing well.
then why would you unnecessarily bring up old news to counter the unrelated arguments ?
The thread is now heading for closure!
silly billy, can you please copy/paste your browser's bookmark list here?
i think it will be a very interesting list to see. :)
Yes, he chose to pick out and highlight the part about China and try to make a comparison. Indian's should stop obsessing about China especially when *35% of India's population lives on less than $1 a day, which is comparable to Bangladesh's 36% and much worse than Pakistan's 17% and Sri Lanka's 6%. *
It is India that needs to learn from it's neighbours and pull itself upwards.
I agree that India should learn from us and other countries in reducing poverty/slums and what not but I think our focus on their bad side is because they are in headlines for their economic growth and being considered future super power, had they been anywhere like Afghanistan we wouldn't be "focussing" on them as much, would we? Leave it upto them if they want to learn anything from us, lets put our focus on our actions, growth :)
The thread is now heading for closure!
old news?...this is not old news. post number 4 and also same old stuff in post no:2 or 3, if i am correct, prompted me to respond. when something positive was said about india, nobody was seeing it. anyways...it was expected rather. so i felt, let's do 'thumka' as someone said.
also,
from the topic, India's per capita income has risen to $620 and has overtaken Pakistan's $600; and the relative gap with Sri Lanka, which now has a per capita income of $1010, has narrowed.
I dont obsess china. I want india to learn the positive things in them, which india is doing.
Nice to know that poverty and starvation of others makes you happy. I am sure you would be lot more happy if there were more poor people dying in India. After all it satifies your ego. Shabash mere achche Musalman. Good job.
Excellent!!! … this is exactly wot i was thinking Captain while reading their tu tu mai mai in posts comparing each other. Captain atleast showed his guts to admit the reality. Im also agree with him coz this is the only ground reality. India has got some status reputation, a some kinda power in whole world thats why other countries atleast think before speaking something against India compare to pakistan. I think India’s media is playing a major role in this n on the other side pakistan main problem is they hate western countries n they have more extremist compare to India. People who are fanatic n not educated mostly they think negative about others, but one thing we cant ignore without western countries Pakistan or INdia could never get success. We will have to walk with whole world. Dont ever think that Pakistan cant do all these wot India has done… Self confidence is must for everyone n ya dont listen to extermist, they r eating our countries like hell… Be a good bacha
tu tu mai mai chora karo kuch kaam ki baat bhi kiya karo… Jealousy can never bring peace.:bash: