12:30 pm   5th/6th Place

4:00 pm   Semi-Final
 1st Pool 4 -    

6:30 pm   Semi-Final
 1st Pool 3 -   

Aug 4th, 2002 

1:00 pm   Bronze Medal

3:30 pm   Gold Medal

Good Luck to Pakistan. Hope they win the Gold medal.

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited July 26, 2002).]

*Warm-up: PAKISTAN BEAT SOUTH AFRICA *

Pakistan's hockey team defeated South Africa 5-1 in a warm-up match ahead of the Manchester Commonwealth Games, informed a spokesman of the Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) here Wednesday.

Pakistan team has recently won a preparatory 4-test series against Spain 3-0, winning three contests while one ended in a draw. Pakistan team will play another warm-up match against Australia. "All the members of the team are fully fit and in high spirits", concluded the spokesman.

*India's exclusion sparks protests from fans *

ANGRY fans have demanded a refund on their tickets to protest at India’s exclusion from the men’s hockey competition.

*Strange qualifying norms – one team from each Commonwealth region besides the defending champions and the hosts – threw eight-time Olympic champions India out of the competition as higher-ranked Pakistan grabbed Asia’s lone berth. *

Dhanraj Pillay and company were forced to stay at home even as unlikely hockey nations like Wales and Barbados were given entries to the eight-team tournament.

Canada’s men and women’s teams made the trip to Manchester without breaking sweat – it is the only Commonwealth country from the Americas.

“Whoever made these rules is an idiot,” said Manchester resident Avtar Singh, angry that he and thousands of Asian immigrants in this industrial city were deprived of a mouth-watering clash between India and Pakistan.

“We waited in hope that the organisers would finally see sense and take India in at the last minute. I wanted to see India play against Pakistan, not Australia or England. I want my money back and I know many of my friends do too.”

Games organisers, who framed the rules in consultation with the Inter- national Hockey Federation, defended their decision.

“Where else will Wales or Barbados get a chance to play against Pakistan or Australia,” said a Games official.

“These are, after all, the Friendship Games.”

Moves by Indian Olympic officials to gain back-door entry by forcing Barbados to pull out were scoffed at by the country’s hockey administration.

Indian Hockey Federation secretary K. Jyothikumaran said the national team preferred to train for “much more important” events like the Champions Trophy and the Asian Games later this year.

Australia, meanwhile, are set to rule both the men’s and women’s competitons, which get underway at the Belle Vue Hockey Centre today.

The Australian men, who reached the final of the World Cup in Malaysia in March, are favourites to overcome England and Pakistan and retain the title they won in Malaysia four years ago.

It should be an even easier time for the awesome Aussie women, who are the reigning Olympic, World and Commonwealth champions.

In the men’s event, Pakistan play Canada, Wales and England in Group B while holders Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and Barbados comprise Group A.

In the women’s event, Australia are in Group A with Scotland, Malaysia and South Africa. Group B has England, New Zealand, India, and Canada.

India’s booo hoooo

Hockey rules leave out India

India ki aik baar phir duzz!! heh

Pakistan cruised to a cosy 3-0 win over England.

Go Pakistani Go !

Pakistan outclass England in men’s hockey clash

Sohail Abbas scores a hat trick in Pakistan’s 3-0 whitewash of England.

The win puts Pakistan atop Pool 4 after Wales and Canada played a 1-1 draw earlier in the day.

Abbas, the world renowned short-corner striker, scored first in only the 16th minute after England had missed several opportunities. He said afterwards: “Naturally I was pleased with my goals but mainly I was happy because the team won. It was a good performance because England are strong in our pool.

“I practise taking short corners in training, perhaps 400 a week. It varies where I put them, sometimes after I have looked at the goalkeeper."

The second goal followed four minutes later when Pakistan were awarded a short corner for Brett Garrard’s foul on Kamran Ashraf, helping Pakistan to a 2-0 lead at halftime.

Abbas’ short corner hat-trick was completed 13 minutes into the second half, after England were guilty of another foul, allowing Abbas to scoop the ball to the left of England goalkeeper Simon Mason to bring his international goal total to 165.

Pakistan’s superior pace enabled them to break up England’s attacks in midfield, with captain Muhammad Sarwar making a number of surging charges.

England’s best opportunities came from David Mathews, who created several chances but was unable to convert.

A dissapointed Simon Mason conceded: “To say he is quite good at what he does is the understatement of the afternoon. If he puts it in the corner there is not a lot you can do about it.”

Other results:

Pool 4:  Canada 1 (0) - Wales 1 (0) Final   

Pool 3:  South Africa 10 (6) - Barbados 1 (0) Final   

Pool 3:  Australia 6 (2) - New Zealand 1 (1) 

ballay ballay…saray lug gaye thallay…

thanx 4 posting te sharing…

God bless u all…

DerVaisH

Ai khuda jazba-e-ehsaas na bakhsha hota…
Acha hota ager pather ka tarasha hota…
Waja-e-tehQeer hon insanon mein insan ho ker…
Pather ka hota to inhe insanon ne pooja hota…

LoLzzzzzz

Nice…

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/Fireworks-01.gif

Pakistan Zindabad

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/Fireworks-002.gif

—=::´´¨¨º¤ Raja Pakistani ¤°¨¨``::=—

[This message has been edited by RajahPakistani (edited July 28, 2002).]

Todays Results

Pool 4: ** Wales 0 - Pakistan 3 **

Pool 4:  Canada 1 (0) - England 2 (0)  

Pool 3:  New Zealand 13 - Barbados 0    

Pool 3:  Australia 4 (1) - South Africa 1 (0) 

All the best to Pakistan

Pakistan 3-0 Wales

Pakistan, 3-0 winners over England in their opener, were made to work hard by relative minnows Wales.

A goalless first-half saw few chances with Sohail Abbas unable to reproduce the form that helped him grab a hat-trick against England.

But in the second-half Pakistan showed their true class.

First Nadeem Muhammed scored from a penalty corner followed by two great strikes from the sticks of Kamran Ashraf and Zeeshan Ashraf.

Josh Smith and Simon Organ came close for Wales in the dying moments, but to no avail.

pakistan..

God bless u all…

DerVaisH

Ai khuda jazba-e-ehsaas na bakhsha hota…
Acha hota ager pather ka tarasha hota…
Waja-e-tehQeer hon insanon mein insan ho ker…
Pather ka hota to inhe insanon ne pooja hota…

Pakistan topped Pool 4 with a convincing 2-0 win over Canada on Tuesday, with a maximum nine points from their three matches.

Pakistan’s Muhammad Saqlain scored in the first half and ace short corner marksman Sohail Abbas scored in the second half.

Pakistan have now won three from three and have not had a goal scored against them, beating both England and Wales 3-0 prior to Tuesday’s 2-0 win against Canada.

The first half began with both sides battling hard but without being able to capitalise on a number of opportunities until the 21st minute when Pakistan’s Saqlain put his country ahead with a successful shot from open play.

Just a minute later Pakistan were down to ten men after Waseem Ahmed was given a yellow card.

Canada’s Sean Campbell had a chance to equalise in the 30th minute but keeper Muhammed Qasim reacted quickly.

The second half saw Abbas return to his goal-scoring ways, after failing to get on the board against Wales, with one of his world renowned short corners in the 62nd minute.

With just four minutes remaining Canada had another chance but Robert Sshort’s pass to Bindi Kullar failed to reach his stick.

Canada now await Tuesday’s last Pool 4 match between England and Wales to determine their final position in a tight group.

I think our Hockey team is doing better than Cricket

AOA

Question
I think its quite opposite of what you are saying.
Our Pakistani hockey team is yet to win against big teams like Netherland, Germany and Australia.

In cricket our Pakistani team have won some big matches against Srilanka and Australia.

I think that when it comes to sports, these are high times for Pakistan, not as good as 1994 though (when we had so many titles). I mean we have our cricket team playing so well, hockey team also doing good, representation in tennis, womens representation in squash!!! Pretty good!!

7-1 by NZ and doing good

AK

Asif I dont normally get involved in your trivialities but at least our team was there, yours didnt even get a look in. So think about it. They only took the best team from Asia and that happened to be Pakistan. Now dont come back and post that you were only replying to Spock.

Look who is here (atlast) and what is he talking about. Someone whose Team didnt even qualify for the games

and yes Pakistan played bad. It was supposed to be a good contest but Pakistan ended up loosing by difference of 6. I guess we need some MAIN changes. Specially we have to giveup relying on Sohail Abbas.