2002 Commonwealth Games -: Hockey Matches

Jin ke ghar sheeshey ke hoon (OR WAIT, SINCE YOUR HOCKEY TEAM NEVER QUALIFIED, YOU DONT EVEN HAVE GHARS) they should not throw stones…

I remember the brilliant statement the Indian hockey team coach made before the hockey world cup… “Only a team like India could defeat India”

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/dixsi.gif

Ehsan bhai, dont worry about him…

[This message has been edited by Spock (edited August 02, 2002).]

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited August 02, 2002).]

oh man then its difficult coz it takes a lot to make this bad of a team

Ehsan Bhai - Ye aaplog India ko kahan se le aaye beech me ?? I was talking about Pakistani Hockey Team.

BW ji - Rassi jal gaye par Bal nahin gaya

AK

AOA

Asif_k That was definately uncalled for and you're the one who complains that we are Indian bashers.

So before you write next time atleast think about what you are saying.

I'm not going to sink that low by insulting the Indian team.

i could have easily humiliated you people after the embarassing beating you took in England but again I won't sink to your level.

[This message has been edited by Xpress (edited August 02, 2002).]

Asif it was the way you presented the statement. I would have no problem if you had criticised the performance of the team objectively, but it seems to me that the whole point of this post was to provoke and hence the irritation.

oye asif atleast learn to use the slangs properly…seems like you know few urdu slangs but you are never sure where to use what slang. What this “Rassi” slang suppose to mean here? I am unable to understand the reason to use that slang here, care to explain?

Originally posted by ehsan:
** Asif it was the way you presented the statement. I would have no problem if you had criticised the performance of the team objectively, but it seems to me that the whole point of this post was to provoke and hence the irritation.

Common Ehsan Bhai - you didn't have any problem when spock issued one statement 'India ki ek baar phir duzz' or one moderator posted 'India Boo Hoo on this thread itself ? You didn't find that provocative ?

On other threads when people insult Indian teams and then I tell them Pak is no better now a days - everyone jumps at me as to why I am bringing Pak into it, and now that I said something about pak hockey team which annoyed you - what did you do ?? Bring India into the discussion , Why ?

AK

Oh, Asif, you beautiful piece of work!

Asif, I think you are a gift unto us by God Himself.

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited August 03, 2002).]

Brother xpress, There are so many things which are uncalled for, you should read this thread you will know what I am talking about.

I wish I could be like you. May God bless you.

AK

hey,
I am not banned. !!!!!
Just that I had a very late realization that its not worth the time.

[This message has been edited by andha_qanoon (edited August 02, 2002).]

Originally posted by Asif_k:
** Common Ehsan Bhai - you didn't have any problem when spock issued one statement 'India ki ek baar phir duzz' or one moderator posted 'India Boo Hoo on this thread itself ? You didn't find that provocative ?

On other threads when people insult Indian teams and then I tell them Pak is no better now a days - everyone jumps at me as to why I am bringing Pak into it, and now that I said something about pak hockey team which annoyed you - what did you do ?? Bring India into the discussion , Why ?

Asif this is my last post on this issue. Before giving the above examples you should also have remembered that I have on a number of occassions left your statements which other people have objected to untouched as well. So lets not start all that. The reason I commented on your post is that even by your standards this established a new low.

OK lads, let the issue rest and only post if you have got anything to contribute towards the debacle of the teams performance.

NEW ZEALAND THRASH THE PAKIS 7-1

Great News !!

I heard indian women hockey team won the final…amazing…indian womens taking over indan men…can’t get any better than that.

[This message has been edited by Question (edited August 04, 2002).]

Look who is talking?
Your team didn’t even qualify and you are saying like you beat us 7-1.
Get a life!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

www.bbc.co.uk

Pakistan 10-2 South Africa

Penalty corner expert Sohail Abbas showed his class as Pakistan comfortably claimed the hockey bronze medal.

He drag-flicked five out of five penalty corners, and was the difference between the sides as he moved on to 171 international goals in only 138 games.

But he missed the chance to claim a sixth as a penalty stroke with a minute to go crashed back off the crossbar before the keeper had chance to move.

Abbas’ nap hand was the best individual performance at the Games and took him second in the top scorers list with nine from five games.

After a good start against England, Abbas has been relatively quiet.

But he rediscovered his form just in time to save his side further embarrassment following their shock 7-1 hammering by New Zealand in the semi-final.

The first went in after just 11 minutes - an 85mph-plus rocket into Chris Hibbert’s top left-hand corner - before Muhammad Nadeem added a second moments later.

Gregg Clark pulled one back from a 25th-minute South African penalty corner and the Springboks were right back in it when Emile Smith forced in another set-piece.

Abbas then stepped up to flick one high and one low in the space of two minutes as Pakistan led 4-2 at half-time.

He added a further two after the break with Mudassar Khan, who had earlier missed a penalty stroke while Abbas was off the field injured, Kashif Jawad,Ghazanfar Ali and Muhammad Shabbir all getting on the scoresheet.

Pakistan coach Tahir Zaman paid tribute to the efforts of Sohail.

“Sohail is our strength. He is our weapon - secret and open as well - and we are using him as much as we can,” said Zaman.

“He is one of the best flickers in the world and when he is in good touch he scores goals for the team.”

Zaman said the bronze medal would help his team bounce back from their shock 7-1 semi-final trouncing by New Zealand.

“(The New Zealand game) was a wake-up call and I am very happy with the boys,” he said.

"They do have the capabilities to display very good hockey and that is what they showed today.

“The players are trying to win back their pride but it will take time.”

God bless u all…

DerVaisH

Ai khuda jazba-e-ehsaas na bakhsha hota…
Acha hota ager pather ka tarasha hota…
Waja-e-tehQeer hon insanon mein insan ho ker…
Pather ka hota to inhe insanon ne pooja hota…

Ye Indian women team kahan se aa gayi beech me ? Remember we were talking about Paki Hockey team. BTW, kam se kam hamari women team ne to GOLD MEDAL jeeta, tumhari na to men’s team na women team ne gold medal jeeta.

AK