2 months after marriage Husband wants a divorce

**Urgent help required. Unfortunately i was in a haram relationship with a man for 2 years on and off. He eventually left me for many reasons he is very suspicious by nature and as he has been out with around 100 women prior to me he finds it very hard to accept that im not like them ie smoking, drinking and sleeping around. **
We broke up due to something I had said which he took to heart and after I seeked repentance from my heart and vowed to Allah I would never have a haram relationship with anyone again outside marriage.

A year later as in 2 months ago I met that guy by chance. He apologised for leaving me before and wanted to start a relationship. I refused and gave him an ultimatum he was either to marry me or we go out separate ways.

In my heart there was no way this man would marry me but he said yes and our nikkah was the next day, my parents knew his didnt. We stayed for about 2 months together after marriage. He was a perfect husband and i was very happy.

This is my 2nd marriage and his first. 2 days ago i returned to uk as I had some stuff to pick up in order to move back to his home country he became all distant and cold in the space of a few hours.

I prodded and he told me he wasn’t very happy. His parents are very unhappy with the marriage, he told them as soon as it happened.

His mother wanted a young virgin girl for him not a married old woman, i am 25 he is 23. His dad says he is living with me in sin as the nikkah is invalid as my father wasn’t present, my dad works abroad and there was no way he could come nor did we have any male relatives around but the imam said it was fine as dad had given permission. He also says i have had a child from my previous marriage, i have sworn by Allah that i don’t, this is not enough but he is convinced as i have stretchmarks on my legs and his experience tells him so.

I have told him to call my ex husband and ask him even offered to go with him to the doctor because they usually can tell. He is refusing. This man was having marital relations with me just 2 days ago how how does one change so quickly?

He now thinks we dont really have a future because he cant live with me and these suspicions he wont let me go back to him the UAE and has said if i do without his permission i am not his wife.

He is unhappy with how the nikkah ceremony was carried out even though we both organised it at home, he said he wanted a small function i dont know how within the space of a day I was supposed to have arranged that, basically nikkah is tarha nahi hotay, because only my mum and sisters were there and a number of other male witnesses, even though he organised the imam and stuff, I apparently blackmailed him into marriage. He says now cannot live with me and didn’t want things like this.

He is considering divorce. I have no idea what to do, maybe it is a punishment for the relationship i had with him prior to marriage. It will devastate my parents they are really happy and have told everyone, its only been 2 days since ive got back. When i am with him he is perfect and we are really happy but the second we are apart he just changes apparently he has time to think. his excuse for not letting me come to him is that I blind him and dont give him a chance to think because he loves me so much and we carry on as normal.

Does someone have any advice for me on how to tackle this there is no one I can talk too and its really affecting me. I have told him to do as he wishes because he is not listening to any of my solutions and hes asked me for a few days to think, but i know him and i know he will leave me. I pray 5 times and alhamdulillah i have full faith on Allah but is there anything I should be doing?

From reading your story, seems like you’ve got a good grasp of the situation. You realized you were doing somethong wrong and stopped it.. and prevented it from happening again.

But, considering your relationship prior to marriage was an ‘on-again-off-again’ situ, because of his insecurities, what made you think those insecurities would vanish after the nikkah? :\

Honestly, you’ve given him options and realize that distance makes matters worse. Either pack up and go to him and try and work things out again… or let it be. :bummer: yea it might devastate you and your parents now. But it’s only been 2 months. And it’s much better to wrap things up early than to drag it out for another 2 years with repeate threats.

Then again, you know him best. If he’s worth it and you really think he’ll come around, then do what you can and make it work.

Re: 2 months after marriage Husband wants a divorce

Thanks for ur suggestions :slight_smile: I actually stupidly thought he had changed, for many factors clearly I was mistaken, i cant pack up and leave because hes threatened me with divorce if I turn up there without his permission.

Its just a waiting game now really.

What exactly is this haram relationship. I dont understand can you please clarify you that my mind can also get a piece of it.

^I Think she means when was seeing him before..

OP, if you're Hanafi (like most of us) your nikah is still valid without your dad there or his actual permission if the guy is decent. Culturally it's not acceptable but obviously that's a diff thing..

I don't mean to sound harsh but why did you agree to it without his parents being there? Was it for practical reasons (eg they live far away) or that they wouldn't approve? So many of these marriages seem to end badly so girls nowadays are advised to get the civil marriage as well. He could turn round at any time and just dump you, this is bad enough but imagine if you were pregnant or something..

Because you only had nikah in theory he can now go and marry someone else to keep his parents happy..

I think your fil knows full well you haven't had a child if he says he won't go to the doctor (why do YOU have to prove yourself anyway? His own son was hardly an angel)..

I don't know what else to say apart from do you have any mutual friends who can try and help you patch things up (and help your husband overcome his insecurities and double standards).. Other than that there's always marriage counselling but doesn't sound like he would go.. The bottom line is if he loved you and wanted the marriage to work he would put in the effort to save it..

Sorry, I assumed you were in the UK.. Did you marry in France or somewhere else? Am asking because it might make a difference as to where you stand and what your rights might be..

I dont have pretty much any rights it was a nikkah ceremony in pakistan he is pakistani i am a british national.

Its nt my fil saying ive had children its my own husband! He seems to think ive secretly stashed the child away somwere :/

I was stupid i knew his parents would refuse so did he, they wanted a 15 year old virgin plus they were abroad and we did everything too fast. No mutual friends and marriage counselling is not possible we are in separate countries atm. I cant even tell my mother she told me to wait but i was the one in a rush.

Be brave, and do what is good for you in the long run.

I hope I am wrong...

I don't think you're going to be with this man in the long term...its either that or you'll be living one very unhappy life.

He was in the moment, did something thinking it was right but his family has knocked some sense to him and he's back tracking now.

You should never have married him without his parents' knowledge or without your father present. You should never have agreed to a Nikah the next day. What were you thinking? If you didn't marry him in one day he might change his mind? Because that's the feeling your post gives off.

His actions are making his feelings very clear...he doesn't want you around.

Umm.. since when did stretch marks become a solid evidence of pregnancy?

:rolleyes:

The OP’s husband doesn’t seem the brightest so this is hardly surprising.

Take him to a good Doctor. He seems to be schizophrenic.

-Stretch marks are a sign of rapid weight gain and weight loss, and partially genetic factors contribute also to the elasticity of your skin. So, yes, when you have babies, you’ll get stretch marks, but you’ll also get them if you were overweight then lost weight. There are also stretch marks that genetically you just get. I have pretty obvious stretch marks, and I’ve had them since I was in middle school. And I wasn’t a fat kid, I was underweight. Maybe print out a nice article for him to read about stretch marks.

-Secondly, why are you getting married without families being present and approving??? How the heck did you get married to someone and not know for sure that their family knows and you approved?? And your father couldn’t FLY to your wedding?? I mean you had enough money FOR the wedding, I’m thinking a plane ticket could have been arranged. Or you can have your father on for a three way call with the maulvi so he can be “present” during the nikkah.

You have 200 odd posts so I don’t want to say that you’re trolling, but if this is a REAL story, then I’m sorry, you have seriously screwed up.

This is your SECOND marriage, and you could NOT somehow arrange a proper meetup between families so that everyone was ok. The man’s parents, whether this man is being proper or not is irrelevant, have the right to know about their son getting married, and being aware that he’s marrying a divorced person. Every parent has that right, because sadly, there are many divorced people out there and there is a REASON why they’re divorced.

At time of marriage, all you had to do was get a lawyer, have HIM get a lawyer and do thorough background checks - then his side of the family would know you have ZERO kids.

As for the stretch marks, I dunno, if desis are ignorant, it’s because they’re vastly undereducated, and living in jahaaliat. So we still expect to see bleeding on the wedding night, possibly some vaginismus on the wedding night and zero stretch marks to be assured we got a virgin, cuz dammit, we read some namazein and we read the whole Quran in Arabic without knowing a lick of what any of it means, so we DESERVE A VIRGIN, and by God’, we will GET ONE.

:rolleyes:

The OP might be fasting, so her body is already under stress from the roza. Those of us who are fasting already know this. Oopar se she's worried/scared about her husband wanting a divorce, which would be her second if it happens. Having some idea of her current physical/emotionl/mental state,, let's refrain from scolding her about her past decisions because they are over and done with and most likely she's getting the lectures from her family. She can't undo it, nor are such comments helpful. It's like telling Nadz123 she shouldn't have married her husband in the first place....it has never resolved anything. Takes two to get married. Her husband wasn't a child either. He knew a hasty marriage wouldn't go down well with his parents, so he should have avoided it. Why this surge of love and regard for his parent's opinions now? So, if blame must be distributed, Let's do it fairly. Sure there are two sides to a story and we only have her views to go by......but if what she's telling us is true, then regardless of how hasty this marriage was, he is more to blame because at least she wants to honor this commitment whereas he has no valid reason to break it. Apart from scolding and blaming, let's also avoid playing "najoomi babas" with the fate of this marriage. We're not so certain what path our own lives will take much less another person's, so we can always be wrong. You look at Hassan0007's recent good news of being happily married to a divorced mother....whom his family was very against previously and some members even doubted his ability and maturity level to handle a marriage. That said, we don't know for sure how things will turn out. Awaiting hurling of tamaatar now.

I just don't believe this story. I don't think desi families even do this sort of thing. What family just lets their kid get married without families meeting and talking properly?

And if this is a real story, I am REALLY sorry you're going through this. But let's be adults take responsibility of our actions.

Where is she denying responsibility for her actions? Hmm? Maybe I overlooked the part in her post/s that indicate she's either denying or exempting responsibility...if so, show me. So, should she now start wailing and beating herself up and lock herself up in the past...and do maatam k haaaye mainay is tarha se shaadi kyun ki...main kitni ghalat thi, yaada yaada? She must know already where she went wrong, but right now...she needs to focus on the present situation and current responsibilities......not the responsibilities or mistakes of the past.

It may not be common, I agree. But i know of a guy who ..said to be religious...sports a daarhi and topi....who misled one girl n her family in to thinking he's marry her and then went to another state and got hitched to another girl...(also said to be religious)...without his parents' presence ....and without informing them...at least that's what I heard from the misled girl that his mom had claimed. Who knows how true it is. Again, it's rare...but stranger things have happened. OP might very well be trolling, but being Ramzan...let's give her the benefit of the doubt. I didn't even think Talha777 was trolling...though his thread sounds more trollish that OP's...and even he was given several pages worth of the benefit of the doubt.

Then we as women need to guard ourselves against these shmucks if we as a community have failed to raise good men. No point in opening a thread in a public forum to get what? Suggestions on this issue?

Sure.

OP: Dump his behind, and move on with your life, this guy sounds ghatiya and if you didn't figure it out the first time he took advantage of you and then left, then came back when he needed you because he couldn't dope some other girl into marrying him, at least try and figure that out now. If I were you, I'd serve him his papers now, and get rid of him.

She from UK.

Dude, you’re funny. Now run along before you get egged by the UK members. :hehe:

why did you want to marry this gem again? and why dont you want the divorce?