1st Test: Pakistan vs Australia in Colombo

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
And his very first ball against Shane Warne.

**47.6 Warne to Faisal Iqbal, OUT: from round the wicket and it worked,
ball turned across him to find a thin edge and mark Waugh dove to
his left to hold a low catch one handed

Jiska dar tha wahi hua... !!!I hope someone supports rashid and they save follow on.

One thing I never understod why WARNE is always so successfull against Pakistan where as he struggles badly against India.any explanation??

*53.1 Warne to Rashid Latif, FOUR, a good looking sweep over the umpires
head at square leg

Rashid on a role!!

Keep it up, I see a 300 if he can stay throughout this inning.

Saqlain can bat a little, he scored a century against NZ, so he is not that bad.

Another one! :D :D

*53.2 Warne to Rashid Latif, FOUR, Superb! a sweep cum pull to mid
wicket, one bounce over the rope

here we go w/another one

55.3 Warne to Saqlain Mushtaq, OUT: went back to the wrong ball, hit on
the back leg, ball turned and just looked to be clipping off stump

im out...cya all later

Bye Bye :wave: :wave:

Pakistan require 29 runs to avoid follow on with 3 wickets remaining, still very possible.
Latif needs to be on strike most of the time.
And Waqar should avoid playing any shots.

Pakistan 255/7 (59.0 ov)

Pakistan trail by 212 runs with 3 wickets remaining in the 1st innings

Batsmen: R B 4s 6s S/R   
Waqar Younis (RHB) 8 9 2 0 88.89  Striker 
Rashid Latif (RHB) 57 92 10 0 61.96 

Pakistan require another 11 runs to avoid follow on, lets hop we get to 300.

**59.4 Warne to Waqar Younis, SIX, slam! hits it over the square leg rope

OK Waqar bhai, lets not get carried away with this.
We need to have Latif on the strike not you.

59.5 Warne to Waqar Younis, no run, drives it back and in frustration,
Warne fields and unnecessarily throws Waqar’s stumps down

I think Waqar bhai has lit someone’s chaddi on fire! :hehe: :hehe:

**60.1 Lee to Rashid Latif, two runs, dropped again! outside off and goes
for it, thick edge to Hayden who tries with hands above his head
and cant hold

OK this is the third time Latif has been dropped, how long is he going to play like this. Don’t take any risks.

**60.6 Lee to Rashid Latif, FOUR, over pitched driven over the covers

Pakistan has now successfully avoided follow on, which I though would never happen yesterday.
Well done Rashid!

**61.1 Warne to Waqar Younis, OUT: misses a full toss trying to hit it out
of the ground, struck on the back pad and Warne has a 5fer for 88
runs, good spell by him

What the hell is he trying to do. Why was he being so aggressive, he completely threw that one away.
Shame on Waqar, could have stayed their till Latif taken to 300.

waqar gone after some adventurous batting :p

267/8 and the captain just sees thru the follow-on danger.... :d

61.2 Warne to Shoaib Akhtar, no run, defends to gully as Pak still need 1 to avoid the follow on"

dont tell me shoaib and sami wont help latif to get that ONE.....

Abay yaar, I'm dissappointed in Waqar as he was a better tail ender batsman than Shoaib and Sami.

*63.5 Warne to Rashid Latif, OUT: going for another sweep, but straight
to martyn at short mid wicket and he catches it to send latif back
after a fine 66

I think Latif was trying to get a quick hundread because all other batsmans were falling around him.
Good knock!

Well, we can either lose or draw this match now :(

Pakistan all out for 279.
Warne took 7 of those wickets.
Lets see if Saqi is capable of doing the samething against a much stronger Australian lineup.

Both Waqar and Shoaib are bowling dangerously and attacking the batsman, swinging the balls and staraight inswing yokers.
Thats the kind of bowling I need to see instead of short pitched deliveris being hit for boundries.

**1.6 Shoaib Akhtar to Hayden, no run, 94.4mph, fast and outside off, one
feels Pak should have more than the two slips in if they want to
brek through early
1.5 Shoaib Akhtar to Hayden, no run, ayorker right onto his toes, just
gets a bit of bat
1.4 Shoaib Akhtar to Hayden, no run, left alone outside off
1.3 Shoaib Akhtar to Hayden, no run, outside off, 90.5mph, swings in
and the keeper and slips move back
1.2 Shoaib Akhtar to Hayden, no run, an appeal for deliberate padding,
hit outside the line
1.1 Shoaib Akhtar to Hayden, no run, fast and outside off, got lots of
bounce

Good bowling and it seems Pak have decided to keep the ball up
    today rather than the short stuff on opening day"new bowl 10**

2.2 Waqar Younis to Langer, legbye: five runs, on the pads, missing
leg, ran to Taufeeq who throws wildly at the stumps at the bowlers
end, five leg byes

Signs of poor display even by the fielders, that was uncalled for!

well already 210 runs lead...
we need wickets and so far no wickets... :(....

Chalo ji, lagta hai ke pitai wapas shoro hogayee hai

45/0 in 11 overs....
233 runs ahead already....
aussies shud think of piling up 400-500 quick runs lead and put pak in the middle....

*Originally posted by *Zaalim: *
Well, we can either lose or draw this match now :(

There is no draw in this match !!!

Even if the Aussies give PAK 600+ runs lead don’t matter much. But I am looking forward to see what our youngster are going to do in order to achieve those 600+ runs I am sure that will be a treat to watch. The match is into 3rd day and I guess Aussies will bat till lunch on the 4th day and put PAK back into bating. Then our young guns can either start hitting and try to achieve the target or heads down and 1 run per 2 overs to bat till the end of the inning to draw the match. Goodluck to PAK :k: