1st Test: Pakistan vs Australia in Colombo

:biggrin: :hehe:
like there was no Auss 2nd inning in first test ? :wink:

Rawalpindi Express

**Rawalpindi Express leaves Australia at station **

By Scott McDonald

COLOMBO (Reuters) - Pakistani fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar said last month he had had enough of chasing speed records and wanted to concentrate on taking wickets consistently.

Australia felt the brunt off that attitude on Saturday when the player known as the “Rawalpindi Express” ripped through their batting order.

In a lightning performance that turned the first test on its head, Shoaib took five wickets in 15 balls as Australia slumped to 127 all out, leaving Pakistan two days to score 316 runs for the win.

Australia were cruising along at 74 for one and looking to set a huge target when Shoaib was handed the ball and began one of his lengthy run-ups with his long hair flopping in the wind.

The first to feel the heat was Ricky Ponting, the first innings century maker with 141 runs, who was out for just seven after edging a ball on to his stumps.

Then there were back-to-back ducks for Mark Waugh and his brother Steve, both battling to hang onto their test spots after being dropped from Australia’s one-day side.

Mark Waugh could only watch as he was clean bowled by a 145 kph first ball, while Steve managed to avoid gifting Shoaib the hat-trick before being judged out on an lbw decision.

After spinner Saqlain Mushtaq took out Matthew Hayden, Shoaib went back to work, bowling Adam Gilchrist for five then trapping Shane Warne for an lbw duck.

Shoaib finished with five wickets for 21 runs after taking three for 51 in the first innings that blunted what looked to be a huge Australian total at one time.

His performance overshadowed an amazing stretch by Warne, who took out Pakistan’s last five batsman for a haul of seven for 94.

Shoaib made his test debut against the West Indies in his hometown of Rawalpindi in 1997 and since then has been considered one of the most exciting players in the sport with his speed and sometimes wild deliveries.

The 27-year-old and Australia’s Brett Lee are regarded the fastest bowlers in the world and had been competing to be the first to reach the 100 mph landmark.

But Shoaib says he wants to control the speed to get more wickets.

“Basically, I am no longer interested in bowling faster,” he told Reuters at last month’s ICC Champions Trophy.

“It is more important to win matches…not to prove how fast I am,” said Shoaib, clocked at 161 kph (100.04 mph), during a one-dayer against New Zealand in April.

But as such feats are not officially monitored, the ICC has said they must remain unofficial.

Lee was clocked at 99.4 mph in South Africa this year, just under the second fastest delivery of 99.8 set by Australia’s Jeff Thomson in 1976.

A good pace bowler would be happy to average about 85 mph.

Shoaib has also been cleared several times by the ICC after accusations of a suspect bowling action.

**The eight wickets give him 77 from 22 tests. **

Its a shame that Pkaistani opener got caught out with just 3 runs to his credit. I guess, the poor fellow didn't get his usual proper breakfast the other day. ;)

OMG :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

I just wokeup and I couldn’t believe my eyes for seeing that.
When I went to sleep Hayden and Langer were hitting Waqar for boundries and now its suddenly changed.
Slap on the face for those who said Pakistan is a bad team, the best batting lineup in the world finally faced the wrath of the best bowling lineup in the world.
There poor batsmans didn’t know what hit them. Though I’m still worried about our batsman chasing the score but I think its very possible. There are 2 full days left and it looks like rain has been coming in the last 15 overs of the day, so Pakistan should chase that score, so its either a win or loose situation.
The target could have much smaller if Waqar had sent Saqlain to bowl out the tailenders earlier on instead of keeping Sami.
It looks like Pindi Xpress is back in Business, along with the big green machine
Thats why I admire this Shoaib Akhtar guy so much, he is the ability to destroy anyside in the world in any day, but credits should go to Saqi as well for bowling brilliantly. But Shoaib should get more credit due to the conditions going against the fast bowlers.

Hey guys, here is an interesting fact, the last time the mighty Australian batting lineup went all out for score 125 or less was against England in 97 :eek:, on a green track in England for the ashes.
Even the mighty Harbajhan couldn’t knockout the side when the Aussies were humiliated in India.
This should tell you something, bowling out the best batting lineup in the world for just 127 runs in a condition which was preferring the batsman.
Pakistan all the way!!!

Pakistan ne bajaya Aussies Ka Band :biggthumb:

Shoaib takes a wicket

[thumb=A]shoaib1.JPG[/thumb]

Aggression

[thumb=A]shoaib11.JPG[/thumb]

Faisal hitting one of his fours off Warne

[thumb=A]faisal.JPG[/thumb]

Mark Waugh clean bowled by Shoaib

[thumb=A]Mark%20Waugh.JPG[/thumb]

Rashid Latif

[thumb=A]Rashid%20Latif.JPG[/thumb]

Its not often the Aussie captain looks worried.

[thumb=A]aussies.JPG[/thumb]

Ah! I’ve been waiting to see Aussies ****ed up like this :hehe:

now when will the 4th day start..i wouldnt be suprised if pakistan looses this one..they have tendency of loosing winnable games against austrailia

*Originally posted by Question: *
Darvaish kanha chup gia hai, I guess u have nothing to bad mouth PAK

:p
kakay itina ziada maat uchlo...abhi australia ki bari rehti hai bowling kernay ki... 315 runz koi aween baat nahin ke aik bat ghumaya aur lo gi 315 runz baan gaye... zara saber kero te daikho hota kia hai... bohat haad tak mumkin hai pakistan 250 se ziada runs nahin bana sakay ga ...

Rab Rakha

DerVaisH

*Originally posted by ^DerVaisH^: *

:p
kakay itina ziada maat uchlo...abhi australia ki bari rehti hai bowling kernay ki... 315 runz koi aween baat nahin ke aik bat ghumaya aur lo gi 315 runz baan gaye... zara saber kero te daikho hota kia hai... bohat haad tak mumkin hai pakistan 250 se ziada runs nahin bana sakay ga ...

Rab Rakha

DerVaisH

Abay Kakay, you say that every match, don't you have anything nice to say, why don't you ever give credit where is due.

What ever u say darvaish will go against u.

Sheraz sahib what ever the case I am sure PAK will win this match. After what PAK bowlers did to the Aussies our batsmen got all the confidence and everyone here let me tell you watch out the 4th and 5th day our youngsters will give a thrashing to the Aussies.

If Imran Nazir doesn’t get to double digits in this match, he should be barred from playing international cricket ever!! :mad: :mad:

If the openers could put up 100 partnership then the Aussies will lose the confidence and they will lose the match for sure. Its a fact if the Aussies bowlers get a lil bit of thrashing they will be underpreasure and then our youngsters can go after them.

Its going to be a real battle on the 4th day.

Koi Allah ka banda match dekha de plz.

Great bowling by Saqi and Shoaib - Onus is now on Young batsmen of Pakistan to stay at the wickets for couple of hours. Bowlers will get tired after that and then it will be much easier to score. So openers need to be patient esp Imran Nazir and stay at the wicket for at least 1st 15-20 overs. Runs will automatically come.

If Pakistan looses early wickets - later batsmen will come under pressure. If the openers survive aussie bowlers will panic.

Both the teams have 50-50 chance to win the match. whoever plays the first session better - will win the match.

Good Luck to Pakistan.

Thanks yaara, I appreciate that very much. Since I hardly have time to walk over to my friend’s place to watch the match. THaks a lot :k:

Aussies are still the favorites but We got a realistic chance of winning it!
I think its time Abdul Razzaq play a good match-winning test inning!

*Originally posted by saby: *
Aussies are still the favorites but We got a realistic chance of winning it!
I think its time Abdul Razzaq play a good match-winning test inning!

In my book PAK is favourite we'll see :)

INSHA’ALLAH!! :k:

Did u see the headline at cricinfo?

The scribe says Pakistan is unlikely to make 316... I think they can, if they concentrate...

Great Work Shoiab Akhter!!!! Aussies ki raid lagga kar rakh di!!!