1st Test Pak vs Eng - 2010 in Eng -Nottingham - July 29-Aug 2

Disappointing day for Pakistan as they were in a really good situation to put England under pressure with a low 1st innings total.

Poor day for Akmal, not only in terms of missing two simplest of chances but also not helping Pakistan with their two reviews. One of the jobs of a keeper is to give a good advice to captain before going for a review upstairs. Akmal should have done a good job especially with the ct behind review of Pieterson. The loss of two reivew really cost us big time as both Collingwood and Morgan were not given out later on LBWs and Pakistan could have dismissed one of them using the reviews.

Though reviews have not been used a lot in Test cricket, but so far I have noticed Pakistan struggling with them. They need to take this system seriously and learn pretty quickly how to use their reviews carefully and wisely.

Re: 1st Test Pak vs Eng - 2010 in Eng -Nottingham - July 29-Aug 2

its really a dead pitch.. ball reaching keeper standing at stumps after bouncing twice.. :mad:

disappointing day indeed...inshallah hopefully tomorrow we could get them all out!

u see this type of pitch on 3rd day not 1st day :aj:

Swann is gonna have a field day with a pitch like this!

lol ya he also needs 10 wickets to complete his 100 wickets

Very disappointed considering we had them 118/4, what a recovery for Eng! If the pitch deteriorates this fast then its going to be spinner friendly on 4th/5th day.

Agreed. He bowled his best at the end of the day. good spell that was. Too bad he could not do it earlier in the day.

Hoping for a good day tomorrow.

Fahad, I think those LBW reviews were REALLY close and deserved a decision review from Pakistan side. Pieterson one was really close too considering there was clear noise and even commentators were quite convinced.

Yes we havent used our reviews well in the past but today all reviews were REALLY close.

The only comment I have on the first day’s play is that it is so nice to see kamran Akmal once again at his best behind the stumps. :mad:

Saby, I am ok with the first LBW referral but the second ct behind was just a sound and David Llyod without looking at the replay said that he didn't think it was out.

Yes we all got excited hearing the sound but when we saw the actual replay, the bat was several inches away from the ball.

Now I know there is a difference between watcing in realtime vesus replays, but still one man who gets the best view of such a clear distance between bat and ball is always the wicket keeper. I have been a wicket keeper and at least one thing I can tell you is that wicket keeper can always tell, especially for such straight forward cases, when the ball nicked the bat and when there was enough doubt as the ball was several inches away from the bat.

I hate Kamran Akmal!

lol no one loves him :nahi:

Couldn't catch any of the game because I was at work. The scoreboard tells me Pak started well but then Colly and Morgan took it away.

Great to see KP bowled by Asif haha.

ENG bat deep.. thats one of their strengths.

Time for some highlights.

Fahad, I am a wicketkeeper too and wickeys can tell most of the times.. but not always.. (although this one i agree he could have called) but considering the situation, review was an obvious choice then.

‘Catches win matches’

Kamran Akmal I believe dropped three catches today :mad:

Pakistan up against it now…

He dropped 1 n n missed 1 stumping

**Shukkar hai ke maine match nahin dekha phir :cb:

England will be looking to bat only once in this test match given their strong position after day 1

Pakistan will be playing catch-up cricket from hereon in this game

It is going to be a great nerve test for pak batting line.