1st Test: New Zealand vs Sri Lanka

New Zelans seems in control with the help of Fleming century. And Murli not geting a single wicket after bowling 27 overs seems like he is getting older :wink:

New Zealand 1st innings                                         R   M   B  4 6
MH Richardson                            b Vaas                85 327 260  7 1
MJ Horne              c Dharmasena       b Nissanka             4  40  32  0 0
*SP Fleming           not out                                 112     248 14 0
MS Sinclair           not out                                   4      19  0 0
Extras                (w 1, nb 1)                               2
Total                 (2 wickets, 93 overs)                   207

To Bat: SB Styris, JDP Oram, +RG Hart, PJ Wiseman, DL Vettori,
        DR Tuffey, SE Bond.

FoW: 1-20 (Horne, 9.5 ov), 2-192 (Richardson, 86.1 ov).

Bowling                      O      M      R      W
Vaas                        18      5     44      1
Nissanka                    14      7     21      1
Dharmasena                  22      6     46      0
**Muralitharan                27     10     48      0 (1nb, 1w)**
Lokuarachchi                 9      2     35      0
Jayasuriya                   3      0     13      0

Sri Lanka team:
 ST Jayasuriya, MS Atapattu, KC Sangakkara, DPMD Jayawardene,
 *HP Tillakaratne, +RS Kaluwitharana, KS Lokuarachchi,
 HDPK Dharmasena, WPUJC Vaas, RAP Nissanka, M Muralitharan.

aray yaar, NZ to jeet he jay ga, lekin Bdesh ka kya hoga. SA is murdering Bdesh.
Muralitharan 27 overs 48 runs, not that bad. just need to take wickets.:)

They played too slow and it was so sad to know that two of my fav players , Cairns & Astle didn't play :<

:D undefined, it's probaby Cairns and Astle who up the gears in the kiwis batting linep.

Richardson, Horne etc. (and even Fleming until a few years ago) were always pure test material, in the Hanif/Gavaskar sense.

assalamoalikum :jhanda:

i don’t think that murali bowled to bad, heis figures were gr8t apart from not getting a wicket he bowled soundly.

the wicket isn’t very spinner friendly, the quickies should do well as its worn down in a day or two, kiwi’s lead isn’t much the game is very much open, it depends on how sri lanka respond tomorrow and how the kiwi’s handle the pressure.

*Originally posted by a1kashur: *
aray yaar, NZ to jeet he jay ga, lekin Bdesh ka kya hoga. SA is murdering Bdesh.
Muralitharan 27 overs 48 runs, not that bad. just need to take wickets.:)

Yeah true thats why I didn't even bother to paste the results of SA vs Bdesh.

**CricInfo Comment

Three black crows are sitting on a dead tree branch, perhaps they realise its going to rain harder shortly? :hehe:

Day 2 Still in Progress…

New Zealand 1st innings                                         R   M   B  4 6
MH Richardson                            b Vaas                85 327 260  7 1
MJ Horne              c Dharmasena       b Nissanka             4  40  32  0 0
*SP Fleming           not out                                 195     380 21 1
MS Sinclair           c Sangakkara       b Dharmasena          17      57  1 0
SB Styris             not out                                  49     103  4 2
Extras                (b 1, lb 1, w 1, nb 1)                    4
Total                 (3 wickets, 138.3 overs)                354

To Bat: JDP Oram, +RG Hart, PJ Wiseman, DL Vettori, DR Tuffey,
        SE Bond.

FoW: 1-20 (Horne, 9.5 ov), 2-192 (Richardson, 86.1 ov),
     3-235 (Sinclair, 103.3 ov).

Vaas                        29      8     72      1
Nissanka                    18      8     33      1
Dharmasena                  29.3    7     82      1
Muralitharan                45     16     92      0 (1nb, 1w)
Lokuarachchi                14      2     60      0
Jayasuriya                   3      0     13      0

Sri Lanka team:
 ST Jayasuriya, MS Atapattu, KC Sangakkara, DPMD Jayawardene,
 *HP Tillakaratne, +RS Kaluwitharana, KS Lokuarachchi,
 HDPK Dharmasena, WPUJC Vaas, RAP Nissanka, M Muralitharan.

Stephen Fleming played really well:k:…

Amazing performance from Stephen Fleming, why in the world did he declare, he should have batted all the way to have a chance at 375, it reminds the same when Miandad once score 285 runs and declared.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
Amazing performance from Stephen Fleming, why in the world did he declare, he should have batted all the way to have a chance at 375, it reminds the same when Miandad once score 285 runs and declared.

Simple as mentioned before by other guppies. Match winning is most important than breaking records or making records.

Yeah the best thing about the innings was that he didnot care that he was near his 300 very unlike Javed Miandad who is always found crying for that becoz wiining is most imp ! !

it reminds the same when Miandad once score 285 runs and declared.

Undefined-- Umair quoted just one of the examples when he declared when he could have scored a triple ton! Before having a go at Miandad kindly get your facts straight , theek? coz you definetly have missed the double tons Miandad scored as captain and declared in late 200's!!

I feel he shouldn't have declared until he got his triple 100. How often are you going to be 26 runs away from 300?

Oh well... I guess personal records don't mean much to some.

I think Stephen Fleming needs to know how cricket is played on subcontinent. When you have 2 strong sides batting on lifeless wickets then the result is mostly a draw, and he was only 26 runs away from 300, not many people have accomplished that feat. And only 100 runs away from 375, I don't know what Fleming was thinking. Looking at the current scorecard, the match is going towards a draw.

Sri Lanka 1st innings                                           R   M   B
MS Atapattu           lbw                b Tuffey               0   3   5
ST Jayasuriya                            b Bond                50 163 110
WPUJC Vaas            c Fleming          b Bond                 4  24  15
KC Sangakkara         c Oram             b Wiseman             67 150  98
DPMD Jayawardene      not out                                  58     144
*HP Tillakaratne      not out                                  71     135
Extras                (lb 14, w 1, nb 2)                       17
Total                 (4 wickets, 84.1 overs)                 267

To Bat: KS Lokuarachchi, HDPK Dharmasena, +RS Kaluwitharana,
        RAP Nissanka, M Muralitharan.

FoW: 1-0 (Atapattu, 0.5 ov), 2-11 (Vaas, 5.6 ov),
     3-114 (Jayasuriya, 36.2 ov), 4-134 (Sangakkara, 39.6 ov).

Tuffey                      14      4     39      1 (1nb)
Bond                        16      3     64      2 (1nb)
Oram                        15.1    5     39      0 (1w)
Vettori                     21      6     59      0
Wiseman                     18      4     52      1

Sri Lanka 1st innings                                           R   M   B
MS Atapattu           lbw                b Tuffey               0   3   5
ST Jayasuriya                            b Bond                50 163 110
WPUJC Vaas            c Fleming          b Bond                 4  24  15
KC Sangakkara         c Oram             b Wiseman             67 150
DPMD Jayawardene      c Hart             b Oram                58 207 148
*HP Tillakaratne      not out                                 126     294
+RS Kaluwitharana     c Sinclair         b Wiseman             76 117
HDPK Dharmasena       not out                                  19      65
Extras                (lb 20, w 1, nb 3)                       24
Total                 (6 wickets, 137 overs)                  424

To Bat: KS Lokuarachchi, RAP Nissanka, M Muralitharan.

FoW: 1-0 (Atapattu, 0.5 ov), 2-11 (Vaas, 5.6 ov),
     3-114 (Jayasuriya, 36.2 ov), 4-134 (Sangakkara, 39.6 ov),
     5-267 (Jayawardene, 84.5 ov), 6-374 (Kaluwitharana, 112.2 ov).

Tuffey                      17      5     54      1 (2nb)
Bond                        24      6     86      2 (1nb)
Oram                        29     13     58      1 (1w)
Vettori                     30      7     82      0
Wiseman                     34     11     96      2
Styris                       3      0     28      0

Sri Lanka is also fighting back well throught their captain:k:…
this is a high scoring game:k:..

I think Stephen Fleming needs to know how cricket is played on subcontinent. When you have 2 strong sides batting on lifeless wickets then the result is mostly a draw, and he was only 26 runs away from 300, not many people have accomplished that feat. And only 100 runs away from 375, I don't know what Fleming was thinking. Looking at the current scorecard, the match is going towards a draw.

I am sure than few would have started to blame him for not going for a win instead making his own records. :) Ofcourse you can't tell the future all you can do is be prepared.

Remember how some guppies were blaming Agarkar that he looked so happy when he scored a century against England and didn't look bothered at the end when India lost the match.

Aren't these dudes tired of so much batting....what a boring match.

Actually I watched the highlights of the match on Prime TV news on day 1 of the test, and the pitch had no bounce and nothing for the spinners.
It was a draw before the match started.
If I was Fleming, I would have continued with my inning, I'm sure he would have been criticized but the match is now drawn.