1st Test : India v Pakistan - Delhi - Nov 22-26

Re: 1st Test : India v Pakistan @ Delhi - Nov 22-26

How was Indian bowling guys? I couldn't follow the match and notice very little comments here about that. Cricinfo is prasining Gamguly's bowling a lot !!!! What happened to the regular bowlers?

Hoping not to see another game like this one :slight_smile:

http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/64083.html

Indian bowling wasn't all that great. Batsmen played stupid shots to get out.

Omg, ye kya hai? 210/8!!! Is that an ODI ya Testmatch?

^ It could've been a lot worse. They were 142/8 at one point.

yar seriously itney key bhi chance nahi thay

Looking at the big picture, bowling from the Indian side was very decent. Munaf Patel was experimenting too much with what he was given, and at times it looked like the experiments worked, but at other times, it mostly backfired. He has seriously lost his pace, even the bouncers went for ~132 kph. Zaheer, Ganguly and Kumble were the ones that kept on doing regular checks. Ganguly especially, bowled with very good maintenance and so did Kumble. Zaheer was neither here nor there.

On the same note, Kaneria's performance have to be counted as a major part in all this. (Performance = bowling + fielding).

:flowers:

I was on my way to chicago last night. Deep in the middle of nowhere on a highway in michigan somewhere it hit me that i should check the score. I logged into cricinfo mobile through my cell phone and the very first thing i saw on the screen was Pakistan 144/8. Needless to say the remaining 4 hours of my drive were very sad :( But it was some consolation when i reached home to see that theyre at 210 and still for 8.

:hug:

Hope you had a safe and an eventful drive to Chicago, Cheegum Bhai. :slight_smile:

Hmm jee dhobi bhai it was uneventful mostly, except for this patch of snow.

Indian batsmen will eat us alive :( But i'm not scared, we have Mohammad Sami!

The old news!!!

How long our batsmen will take to understand the test cricket!

Quite disappointing ...

i would not blame them at much,, cause the playing conditions were not very ideal from the begining,

90% humidity,,, temperature under 10-25C,, and then foggy/gloomy atmosphere.
it was not that easy at all.

The gloom is not cuz of the fog, its cuz of the smog

Although Misbah and Sami batted well, 210/8 is still a hopeless position. On these placid sub-continental pitches 350 is the minimum you need to stay in the game. Their stand may have just delayed the inevitable. But Akhtar’s presence gives some hope. He is someone who can get 4 or 5 wickets in no time. Pakistan and Akhtar can draw inspiration from this game in 1999. They won despite being bundled out for a paltry 185 in the first innings. The only problem there is Kaneria and Sami are not quite as good as Saqlain and Wasim respectively!
Scorecard - 1998-1999 India v Pakistan - 1st Test - 16/02/1999 - Eden Gardens, Kolkata - Test No. #1444](Scorecard - 1998-1999 India v Pakistan - 1st Test - 16/02/1999 - Eden Gardens, Kolkata - Test No. #1444)

^^ India have almost the same team (6players) whereas we only have 2 players who experienced that game.

can u please keep driving .....maybe this way reach 300/10 which will be a huge success

Never, ever, ever judge a pitch based on one team's batting alone. Let's just wait till the Indians have finished batting (and hopefully Shoaib and Kaneria have run through them).

Even though these two did well, commentators were criticizing Misbah. I haven't heard Ramiz say any thing positive about Pakistan so far this series.

Delhi was always bad right since 1985 inpollution matters.Australians always refuse to play in delhi.Pune is best city in pollution control.lady in the video was recommending using bicycles will she be the 1st one to set an example.problem with these people is they give extreme comments in mass media and they r the ones who themselves dont follow their extreme thoughts.Hypocrisy at its best.