1st ODI : Pakistan vs South Africa - Abu Dhabi (29th Oct)

Re: 1st ODI : Pakistan vs South Africa - Abu Dhabi (29th Oct)

Why the disappointment .... as u urself just wrote "Pretty much expecting from Pakistan"

that first ball from Shoaib looked pretty batta to me

just the first ball. now he is back to his "classic" delivery motion :)

I think SA will win this one probably between the 35th-38th over.

We dont have enough score to defend :aj:

You are right, there should be no disappointment. Criteria of selection in Pakistan cricket team (or Pakistani administrations) are on 'Who' the player/person is and not on 'What' the player/person can do. As long as player is of right type, he can be great player regardless of his averages or performance on field, but a wrong type of player cannot even make into team how much they score or perform on field. Such country and teams of such country (in whatever field) has to become history sooner or later.

bhaiyoon,
Main bowlers ki kutt lag gayee hai. 5th bowler (Hafeez & Razzaq) will be a disaster.

162/2 off 31.1 overs

Royal chitrol in progress.

after the match afridi will come with his usual verbal diarrhoea and say that we will win the next match, our batting let us down, no one can match my 1 run in this innings. I lead by example, that is leading in crap batting

yeh hummey out tou kar nahi saktey...hum retire hi ho jatey hein...lol

Average of a player (especially over long run) is what they are expected to score in an inning, thus it is mark of their performance. A player may score a century in particular match but low average means that player regularly gets out at low scores. If average of a player is high then even if that player scores Zero in particular match, his high average means that the player normally gets out after scoring lot of runs. So, it is best that a team should have players with high average then low average. But in Pakistan, looks and connections are more important than averages. Thus:

Result of PAK Vs SA is writings on the wall ... unless of course miracle happens.

South Africa:
Amla (32 ODIs): Ave 57.7
Villiers (104 ODIs): Ave 45.8

Kallis (303 ODIs): Ave 45.8
Smith (197 ODIs): Ave 40
Duminy (61 ODIs): Ave 38.5

Other players ... only played few games so should not be included but I am mentioning about them to show potential:

Ingram (3 ODIs): Ave 72
D Miller (7 ODIs): Ave 69

Compare that with averages of Pakistani batsmen and ... well, who should win is writing on the wall, though miracles could happen, something Pakistanis like to believe in everything :).

Pakistan (players playing this ODI in colour):

M Yusuf (287 ODIs): Ave 41.8
Fawad (22 ODIs): Ave 40
Misbah (59 ODIs): Ave 39
Salman Butt (78 ODIs): Ave 36.8
Umer Akmal (23 ODIs): Ave 36
Shoaib Malik (192 ODIs): Ave 34.3
Yunus Khan (202 ODIs): Ave 32
Abdul Razzak (243 ODIs): Ave 30
Karman Akmal (123 ODIs): Ave 27
Shahid Afridi (301 ODIs): Ave 23.8
Hafiz (53 ODIs): Ave 20

Another Defeat :aj:

^^ tumharee har dafa guess ghalat hotee heay…

I quote “Afridi will lose toss”, “Pakistan will win”, etc etc.

:hmmm:

Gussa to ayega na

When will he lose the toss jab series khatam ho jayegi

Let's be realistic

Our current pathetic batting is only capable of scoring

200+/- in an ODI (250 on the odd occasion)
120-140 in T20I (160 at best)
225-250 in a Test Innings (300 on the odd occasion)

Forget Tests and ODIs (the Asia Cup game against india is an exception where we scored 300+ thanks to Malik-Yousuf partnership), I cannot think of a single T20 game over the last 4 or 5 years which we won because of our batting!! Most of our T20 victories have been the result of good all-round bowling display

Is it any surprise then that we have been losing games with such regularity in every format in recent times

Perhaps we need to lower our expectations over the next couple of years atleast

Go afridi Go....
Go afridi Go...

back home

Well i still believe that team aint playing that should be playing

Many players are missing

If they come Situation will be different

Zimbabwe batted a lot better than Pakistan against South Africa.

ehsan uncle ji, aapne yeh post nahi dekhi? :D

Afridi: "Very happy to see Younis back in the team, Hafeez also performed well, but after that we did not do well. Hopefully we will bounce back in the coming games. I am frustrated, yup, about the batting. Tough times, but we will try to do extra practice.. Bowling and fielding are perfect, we need to bat with better plans and last 50 overs.

:rolleyes: