1st ODI : Pakistan vs South Africa - Abu Dhabi (29th Oct)

Alright. I have opened the thread this time. Pakistan is already on the way to victory :k:

Facts
October 29, Abu Dhabi
Start time (Local): 15:00
Start time (GMT) : 11:00
Start time (EST): 06:00
Start time (Pakistan): 17:00

Weather
Sunny with 24 - 31° C

Form guide
(most recent first)
South Africa: WWWWW
Pakistan: LWWLL

Teams
Pakistan (possible): 1 Imran Farhat, 2 Mohammed Hafeez, 3 Younis Khan, 4 Umar Akmal, 5 Misbah-ul-Haq, 6 Shahid Afridi (capt), 7 Abdul Razzaq, 8 Zulqarnain Haider (wk), 9 Umar Gul, 10 Shoaib Akhtar, 11 Saeed Ajmal.

South Africa (possible): 1 Graeme Smith, 2 Hashim Amla, 3 Jacques Kallis, 4 AB de Villiers (wk),5 JP Duminy, 6 Colin Ingram/David Miller, 7 Albie Morkel/Rusty Theron, 8 Morne Morkel, 9 Johan Botha, 10 Lonwabo Tsotsobe, 11 Dale Steyn.

Watch out for…
Younis Khan is back but won’t get much breathing space to ease into the team. The middle order lacks the experience of Yousuf and Malik, and Pakistan will hope that Younis can hold the innings together in the middle overs. He has struggled in the last two years, though: in the 27 games he played during that period, he averaged 25.11 with just one hundred. In the eight matches he played in the last year, he averaged just 11.12. He doesn’t have a great record against South Africa: he averages 25.92 from 29 ODIs at a strike rate of 66.97

Graeme Smith He averaged 28 from three games against Zimbabwe. He hit a painstaking, but vital, 38 in the second Twenty20 game against Pakistan where he struggled against the spinners but didn’t throw his wicket away. It will be interesting to track his progress through this series.

re: 1st ODI : Pakistan vs South Africa - Abu Dhabi (29th Oct)

Hope the batting gets stable with inclusion of younis

:jhanda:

Decent…:smack:

everytime you open thread …do you remember history?

Allah kher karay… Unless Pakistan makes whole sale changes for ODI squad…
don’t expect too much…

OMG! Imran Farhat will open again? Why cant we try Asad Shafiq. He did reasonably well against England. Havent we tried Imran Farhat enough times by now? Someone in the tour team mgmt (selectors dont have a say in final 11 on the tour, as we are told) should have the guts to say you know what, World Cup 4 months away, lets try new blood for opening. Afridi being Pathan, should have those guts but apparently not. Sad!

I agree to most and I said the same …(my post earlier Agreed - see my post http://www.paklinks.com/gs/cricketnama/461425-2nd-t20i-pakistan-v-south-africa-at-abu-dhabi-2.html#post7819327)

I really think to move forward, Pakistan needs to let some of the players from the england tour to keep on the bench for a while…except maybe some like Afridi, Razzaq since they are all rounders and will bounce back either in bowling or batting.
LINE UP SUCKED in the T20s but those are gone.

So send Umar Akmal, Farhat, Hafeez to the bench..
Bring in Asad, Fawad and YK. Let Asad open with Shahzaib (yes he failed in T-20s but atleast it is just a confidence and application issue not baggage from england that he is carrying…)
Put YK back in ODI side to strengthen the 1 down spot. Let him play a slow grinding 40+ innings to get back into the groove.

So my line up would be the following and I would stick with it for the entire ODI series… If yousuf is fit I would replace Shahzaib by promoting Fawad and inject yousuf into the middle order.

1. Shahzaib or Fawad if Mo Yo is playing
  2. Asad Shafiq (has opened in domestic)
  3. Younis
  4. Fawad or Moyo if he is fit
  5. Misbah
  6. Afridi *
  7. Razzaq
  8. Zulqarnain (wk)
  9. Saeed
  10. Gul
  11. Akhtar

Then I would promote Asad to Test opening spot as well along with Taufiq Umar

For tests

1. Asad Shafiq (has opened in domestic)
  2. Taufiq Umar
  3. Younis Khan
  4. Yousuf
  5. Misbah
  6. Azhar Ali
  7. Zulqarnain
  8. Saeed
  9. Danish Kaneria
  10. Gul or Sami (yes I would pick him above Sohail or Wahab)
  11. Tanvir Ahmed

that’s me playing Coach and Captain on the ground…:wink:

:khums:

As if Pakistan was winning with other opening threads.

may be …

may be…

just may be…

ho sakta hai …

i mean who knows…

kia pata…

iss time…

Pakistan jeet jayee :jhanda:

You open a thread and pakistan wins? :nahi:

Is baar mein 3rd aur 4rth ODI ki thread kholu ga shayad woh jeet jaye last time ki tarah :@: :smiley:

Your record is as bad as Decent's.

Yeah may be :bummer:

But at least last time at least we won 2 ODI’s and were on the verge of winning the series

agreed…

but really Afridi’s winning the Toss vs Pakistans win is also as Bad…may be he should pray to loose it…
:bummer:

Afridi will lose the toss tomorrow :wink:

you should have waited to see the result of the first game atleast before making that claim… what if Pakistan is 0 - 2 against Saffies by the time of the 3rd ODI…
:smokin:

Re: 1st ODI : Pakistan vs South Africa - Abu Dhabi (29th Oct)

:aejaz:

Waleed, ho gaee na izzat :smiley:

Haan ho gyi :bummer:

koi gal naheen yaar...
Pakistani team ki izzat is say bhee ziyadah barhee heay :D

In my opinion the ODIs will close ones, pak might win some.
Reason:
1. T20s showed that SA cant play spin at all, afridi,hafiz and ajmal can bowl 30 overs total and have chance to take wickets and restrict scoring. Only Dumnny and Ingram seemed to play spin with confidence.
2. Akhtar and gul arent bad as fast bowler (as long as akhtar dont get tired after 2 overs :D)
3. Our batting is hit or miss....so u never know they might be able to put up a decent score once in a while.
4. Last but not least..pigs may fly..who knows :D

lol :rotfl: :rotfl:

Imran Farhat should be deported the moon. This manhoos insaan is gonna haunt Pakistani cricket as long as he is alive. This should be the playing eleven, but it obviously won't be...

Mohammad Hafeez
Shahzaib Hasan
Asad Shafiq
Younis Khan
Fawad Alam
Misbah-Ul-Haq
Shahid Afridi
Abdul Razzaq
Umar Gul
Saeed Ajmal
Shoaib Akhtar

According to Cricinfo Farhat is opening :frusty: