Zulqarnain Haider goes missing/ announces retirement/returns back - drama continues

re: Zulqarnain Haider goes missing/ announces retirement/returns back - drama continues

[Quote]
leaving pakistan cricket because get bad msg fr 1 man fr lose the match in last game." The last match that his Facebook status seems to refer to is the fourth ODI of the series, another closely-fought thriller, in which Haider's unbeaten 19 took Pakistan to victory with one wicket and one ball to spare.
[/Quote]

Cricinfo has got it wrong. The "last match" he refers to in his Facebook status refers to the last match of the ODI series (the final), which is being played at the moment. Apparently Haider was threatened to deliberately lose the last match or else... So rather than fixing the match he chose not to play at all. The match-fixing mafia is still at work and authorities are doing nothing.

re: Zulqarnain Haider goes missing/ announces retirement/returns back - drama continues

He showed Toughness when he faced Saffies in final few overs under tremendous pressure...
and in England when it was his debut match and the batting was collapsing...he stood out there to score that 80 odd innings.

What ever happened now, must have been QUITE BIG...or atleast he was made to believe that it was HUGE...very easy for me to first suspect Kamran....
these Akmals need to be sidelined....

The other news was that PCB was thinking of sidelining Kamran even from WC squad....so this THREAT now makes even more sense....

The correct thing for him was to report it to the team management and let them take care of it. Creating drama like this was unwarranted.

That's what it seems to me as well...
and those who are involved ARE IN THE TEAM...either in MANAGEMENT or the players...so HE KNEW STAYING WAS LIKE SUICIDE...so he decided to leave rather than face threats or humiliation....

TEAM MANAGEMENT?????? bhai sahab - this is pakistan....
and there is so much confusion these days, with even most likely the players having no respect for BUTT and his henchmen like management.

I appreciate what you are saying but to just take off and not inform the team or management is just not acceptable. Dow we want such players in our team? I don't think so, being threatened is one thing but to ditch your team and run is even worse.

What if you are getting threats and your impression is that KEY players in the team or management itself is in it deep - he may have fled to tell the YARD what he knows...

And yes if this was not the PCB and its team, then I would expect what you said in regards to ditching the team and going to management instead...but thisis P C B run by a lunatic and the PATRON in chief is nothing less of an ex- gangster Don....

so its hard for me to believe that this an assylum seeking individual who has created drama for nothing...
Allah knows...

I understand what you mean, I think nobody trusts our management to ensure safety of the players and their families. After all great security was offered to Sri Lankans and rest is history.

bhai merray I am with you on this, it is a serious matter, however i am sure he is not the first one to be threatened nor the last. It's just the way he handled the whole thing which leaves a lot to be desired.

Sky Sports have reported that Zulqarnain has arrived in the UK (cricinfo)

*Zulqarnain 'on way to UK' *

WTF... It sounds more like a way to slip over and seek asylum, something a lot of pakistanis had been doing in the past... I cannot believe of all the life-threatening drama unless some concrete evidence is given as proof , which is not there yet.
But yes on the other hand, he's just back from uk tour so he could have done it there. Still it looks more like a drama unless he shows up on media and tell his plans.
Right now my assumption is, he'll make the case that his life is in severe danger and that case will help him in seeking asylum for long term.

Another black mark on Pakistani Cricket!!

^ And why is he running to UK while the rest of his family is in Pakistan? Doesnt he care about his family. Won't the guys who threatened him go after his family once they know he has run to UK? I agree with Sid, there is mroe to it than meets the eye.

He doesn't need to seek asylum. As a cricketer, he could've just easily gotten a contract to play in England. It is clear that he was in a dire situation and felt he had no way out except to leave? What would you do if someone threated you "Lose the next match or we'll kill your family"? What he did is to be appreciated. He refused to throw the match, and he's trying to save his and his family's lives.

You are missing the point my friend... Are you sure he got threatened like that? What have you seen yet to prove it except that stupid facebook status or the story given by his brother.. Please dont be a part of this drama unless you can show something to us.

Even the football team of Pak that slipped in Japan few years ago can make up some funny stories.

Listen, he's not the first player who was reached by bookies like that (if he really was), either in the threatened manner or wutever. Remember what Rashid latif and Basit Ali had done? They took retirement then and there. He had that option. Every cricketer always has option at any moment. But wut he did prefer is to run away to UK in the middle of a cricket tour, leaving every one astonished. Now the anticorruption unit of ICC who just yesterday had given a charge sheet to PCB is high-alert. The media of UK will be waiting to make a masala story out of that. Any layman can easily say that next few days will be a piece of **** for Paki cricket. And guess who'z responsible for all that?

Lets just wait to hear his side of the story (the most important thing) before passing judgments or guessing around.

aap Ehsan uncle hai k Dawood bhai? :D
I am sure this Dawood guy is behind all these, he is running the whole show.

Exactly! lets wait before we start passing judgement as usual or wait...maybe we already have started that.

The guy played an important part in the last game and a lot of people thought he was a hero. After three years of struggle at domestic circuit he has got a chance to partially replace Kamran Akmal. Why would he run like that to the UK before the all important game??? Maybe the magnititude of this issue is much bigger than what we we all are thinking.

That is exactly what I have been trying to say as well...that there is SOMETHING much bigger that he apparent quest for assylum...

I hope this is the last chapter in the match/spot fixing saga and hopefullly a final peg into Igaaz Butts coffin...

There's a difference between a Pakistani cricketer or a footballer/any other athlete. In Pakistan, cricketers are the only ones who are financially stable and have no reason, actually a disincentive, to throw all that away and claim asylum. A footballer, or a gymnast, or a sprinter has no future in Pakistan and has every reason to slip in Japan or other Western countries.

I am on Zulqarnain's side on this one until more information comes through that proves otherwise.

They say if you are approached by suspicious characters, approach the team management. I think he did notify PCB about the threat and PCB decides to conveniently "give him his passport" to find his way. wow! way to go