Zulfiqar Mirza threatens to kill Geo news reporter

If this story is true then it will show what kind of psychiatric patients people in Karachi and MQM have to deal with. I wonder if people would still eulogize this PPP freak. I wonder if people would still not be able to see that MQM alone is not responsible for Karachi’s violence. Look at the kind of people there are PPP Sindh, controlling the city of Karachi as if it is their ‘jaaidaad’.

KARACHI: On the very first day of taking charge of the Ministry of Works and Services, Zulfiqar Mirza failed to make secret his anger and vindictiveness against the media and launched an undisguised attack on the freedom of the press. While disallowing the Geo News team from covering his tour of the MA Jinnah Road Light House area, **he threatened to kill the reporter on duty and ordered his guards to snatch the media team’s camera, microphone, bullet-proof jackets, helmet, and DVs.

**The minister’s convoy, comprising over-a-dozen mobiles and an army of both uniformed and plainclothes guards, snatched the equipment of the media team at gunpoint. **The minister used abusive and vulgar language against the media. He kept showering profane language at senior anchorpersons and TV journalists.
Later, on his orders, the police tried to bundle the Geo News team into a police mobile and during this fracas, **the minister pulled the office identity cards of reporter Shoaib Burney and cameraman Zubairuddin from around their necks. **

Journalists have termed the senior minister’s behaviour as ‘savage and shameful’ and called the incident a blatant attack on the freedom of the press. Expressing unmitigated indignation, journalists have demanded an appropriate action from authorities against this abuse of power by someone who claims to be a representative of the people.

Re: Zulfiqar Mirza threatens to kill Geo news reporter

Was this an attack on Azadi e Sahafat ?

I believe the camera/bullet proof jacket and ID cards were taken away so the minister in question can return all this with a gold medal for journalism.

so he is doing what Kamal was doing threatening the media.

Her shakh per ullo baitha hay anjaam a gulistaan kia ho ga. :mash2:

I am not sure if Kamal snatched their bullet proof jackets, camera, ID cards etc but if he did than the difference in PPP and MQM is vanishing?

I m fed up of journalists who try to show that they know a lot yet they never tell.

I was watching Hamid Mir's program on this issue and Hamid Mir said

"Mirza sahab was in car with black glasses aur wo bohat ghabrayeey howey theey and he was trying to hide a person who was with him in the car. Mirza sahab did all this because he thought that photographer has took the photo of person sitting in his car beside him. Becharey photographer ko tu nahi pata tha k car main aur kaun hai liken mujhey pata hai wo personality kaun the" - and then Hamir mir smiled meaningfully.

I mean wtf. either tell us or shut the hell up!

He fears for his life or limb may be ? :hmmm:

Mirza is a thug.

Absolutely not. Kamal was provoked by a Jamati journalist. Mirza's outburst was unprovoked and premeditated.
Plus I don't think Kamal threatened to kill the Jamati.

But in either case, would you now as much hatred and ta'assub against Mirza and PPP as you show against Kamal and MQM?

Khoji, I absolutely see no need of you bringing MQM factor in your original post. This incident had nothing do with MQM. When you bring in MQM then people who dont see MQM as a legit movement will retaliate.

Next time, if we can keep it to the context then we can stop side railing a thread.

Another gem by this Mirza ullo ka phatta …

[http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TS5glliP0Yk

A](http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TS5glliP0Yk)nd in response …

[TABLE=“align: center”]

After the fiery speech of Zulfiqar Mirza against MQM chief Altaf Hussain unknown men came out on the streets of Karachi and opened firing and set ablaze several vehicles, Geo News reported.

Reports of firing in Shah Faisal, Gulistan-e-Johar, Gulshan-e-Iqbal, University road, Golimar, Ancholi, Abul Hassan Isphanai Road and Liaquatabad were received while three vehicles were set on fire in different parts of the city.

Shops, hotels, fuel stations were shut after the firing that griped the whole city. Reports from interior Sindh also confirmed the firing incidents and anger against Zulfiqar Mirza’s comments.

[TABLE=“align: right”]
[TR]
[TD=“align: center”]

[/TD]
[/TR]

[reference : geo tv ]

The reason I mentioned MQM here was this thread:
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/pakistan-affairs/509427-how-can-people-vote-for-ppp-which-has-people-like-this.html

Here I was talking of different PPP ministers and one guy instead started dragging MQM into discussion.

Did you guys hear what Zulfiqar Mirza said about Muhajirs? Really really venomous poison coming out of his mouth. After this Karachi needs to become a province now!
Pee Pee Pee always plays the ethnic card. Let's not forget what they did in 1971 now.

That Zulfi is so Jahil to watch that video i just no wonder how Dino could be if he dont have fear to ban again in PA. You guys watched!! how people around him to stop what he was saying, this guy need to go.

Can I tell you the truth.
This is always a dirty play, People sitting with Mirza for three years are more now not ready to listen him.
Na Khoji jhoota na Dino
Dino and me always little afraid of the mods
But truth comes out late everywhere especially in Pakistan
And in Pakistan no body cares of the consequences.
because nothing happens to them.
I tell you the real stories,
Result upto you.
Some have experience since Ayoub time. I have not seen that , Iwas not living in Karachi that time, Many knew
During 1977 they started it from Banaras Chowk
(Center point of AliGarh/Qasbah/Kati Pahari /Orangi)
Agitation of PNA started.
One Pashton praying in mosque was killed by direct fire from law enforcement (No ethnic tension than).
Next day more clashes, more ,more.
Result on 5th July.
Same area
An operation in Sohrab Goth by ........ in search of narcotics, Pashton were removed by force from their homes.
Next day they were protesting on the road dividing Ali Garh Colony and frontier Colony. There was a dispensary at that time at the corner of AliGarh Colony. Some unknown person reached on the roof of that dispensary and fired on protesting people . At about 10am. Two died at spot and many injured. Police was present at metro Cinema but they didn't come out and later went back to their police station at Orangi 10. (Army was at about 15 minutes drive) . At about 4 pm some 50 to 60 armed men attacked Aligarh colony and same happened at the point of Banaras Qasba middle area.They burnt many houses but causalities were three or four. The people were never identified but same time creation of Punjabi Pakhton Itehad led by Ghulam Sarwar Awan created a hype and MQM became some popular. It should be mentioned that son of Ghulam Sarwar Awan was under custody due to involvement in Tipo's hijacking case and Ghulam Sarwar dis this all for his son.
This is the same dirty play and players are same.
Revival of the past.
And you know, you all forgot
Raymond, Khrotabad, PNS Mehran, Osamah Bin Laden,Sarfraz Shah ,Saleem Shehzad, many other cases
*Now enjoy the dog fight of Altaf and Mirza

Pasha ji whatever the dirty game in politics is different thing what I am talking about here Zulfi bad TONGUE, everyone have right to critises anyone what I am talkig about is the manner how u doing it!! I dont think so GS ban you if you either bring and post here all White papers hiden in somewhere no body stop you to bring truth whatever it is. I am talking about the lanaguages/words/behaviour and IF Zulfi is that from PPP what we shoud accept from a Jiyala like Dino! some Gul-e-Fishani?

This is not party of Shaheed BB now.
These third class people are enjoying friendship of Zardari.

Its all about power (Ikhtiyar) ka Nasha, Jis ke paas bhi ikhtiyaraat hain wo zaban ki shaistgi, aurton ka ihtraam bhool kar sab bol deta hai. No one is doodh ka dhulla!

(Look at the tone and wording)

Aur hamara so called azad media they are there just to instigate ppl. Lagai Bujhai fitna baazi and then claims ‘we are the first who aired this gand bala sab se pehle!’. I don’t support Mirza’s action (he is indeed crack at times), if there was anyone, who that James Bond Hamid Mir knows, and his channel was all curious to know that, what was the need for following them. Media should come ahead to create awareness on real issues instead of indulging in issues creating sensation (Sansani) for obtaining TRPs.

Moral of the story: These all politicians and Media personnel should teach some etiquette in addition to learning lessons of humanity & patriotism.

Mirza only threatened while MQM killed the journalist, Wali Khan Babar.

The details mentioned in the report indicate that Babar Wali was not on good terms with some of the colleagues in the channel who wanted to safeguard the interests of MQM in the organization. He was a crime reporter and was working on criminal links between political parties and the criminal elements. He was reported to have some critical information. With increase of tension between the ANP and MQM, Babar was under huge pressure as he was connected with anti group of local pro-MQM journalists and also had a family link with ANP.

The feud erupted among the rival groups reportedly belonging to MQM and ANP and it prompted the rival group to keep him away from crime reporting as according to the sources, he was about to reveal some criminal links between few MQM activists and the criminal elements, sources confided. Meanwhile Shahid Motu (a code name) approached an MQM sector office with the complaints that “Pani Ser se guzar gia hai, ab isay khamosh krna goga” (water is over the head and ‘he’ would have to be ‘silenced’ now), sources added. He also informed the MQM sector office that Babar is the main source of ANP in Karachi journalism and he is about to reveal some sensitive information.

The complaint of Shahid Motu (actual name is not mentioned) was then sent to London Secretariat and on the arrival of a go-ahead signal, the next move was planned. The car belonged to a colleague who was actually not aware of the plan, the report suggests according to the sources. The execution was perfect; the victim was chased from I. I. Chundrigar road and was shot in front of Liaqatabad police station as the whole Police Station was considered to be apna (own).

http://www.cpj.org/killed/2011/wali-khan-babar-1.php

Abbas told CPJ that Home Minister Rehman Malik has named the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (United National Movement), or MQM, in the killing. “The arrests in the case so far are linked to the MQM, and the MQM has not distanced itself from the killing,” Abbas said. “The onus is now on the MQM to say if it was involved or not.”