Zardari says Pakistanis want Musharraf out

Has zardari just realised it. Shows PPP has finally decided to put the illegal president into touch. Good for Pakistan.

Khus kum jahan Pak

Zardari says Pakistanis want Musharraf out

Islamabad (PTI): Giving enough hints that Pervez Musharraf’s days in office may be numbered, Pakistan’s ruling PPP leader Asif Ali Zardari on Thursday said there is “tremendous” pressure from people who want the President’s ouster and that he has “no choice”.
Describing Musharraf as a “relic of the past”, Zardari in an interview to PTI, however, candidly admitted that the President still enjoys powers under the Constitution to dissolve parliament and dismiss prime minister.
To a pointed query if Musharraf’s days as President are numbered, Zardari evaded a direct reply saying: “I don’t know whether his days are numbered or my days are numbered or our government’s days are numbered. Who knows that?”
“He still has 58(2b) and he has a tremendous amount of power behind him. If he moves, he moves,” he said, referring to the President’s powers under Article 58(2b) of the Constitution that allow him to dissolve an elected parliament and thus dismiss prime minister.
The “bottomline” is that people of Pakistan want Musharraf to go. “And I am the servant of the people, not the master of the people,” the PPP Chairman said.
“The President is a relic of the past and he stands somewhere between us and democracy…He has taken off his uniform thanks to the dialogue by my wife (late former premier Benazir Bhutto) and the world pressure,” he said.
“But that does not make him (Musharraf) into a democrat or a civilian president. That doesn’t mean that his presidency is legal. I’ve got all these issues. I have a tremendous amount of pressure from the people of Pakistan.”

http://www.hindu.com/thehindu/holnus/003200805221623.htm

Re: Zardari says Pakistanis want Musharraf out

Great Zardari admitting what is very obvious!

Jeay Bhutto!!!!

why PM didnt say this thing?

Pakistani Politicians, in general, are not man of words.

I do not believe in all this hoopla anymore :)

Abb pata chala hai isko...itnay din kya so raha tha?
khuwaab mein to election nahi jeetay na...musharraf ko hatanay kay liyeh he election hui thi..
kaash bibi zinda hoti yeh din nahi dekhnay ko miltay.

Oh yea must have been worst then this :D

:biggthumb

Today Zardari is saying this about the illegal President...tomorrow who knows he will cut another deal with him and act opposite to public aspirations...just for his own personal gains...

Because remote controls do not speak.

he is not legal president, but mr zardari has no problem with "muafi nama" by the very same illegal president!!

dont know when we will get rid of these choors.

Yes true......he is just a joker.

I dont think he is not a joker, but very serious person about his aspirations, after a long time he is seeing wished success very near!
to fulfil his ambitions he has been doing everything he could right or wrong.

now if these aspirations are not really good for people and Pakistan, thats their problem i guess. so appreciate the guy who is in great path of success!!

:rotfl::rotfl::rotfl:

Yes he may be on the path for more success another 10% for himself.

The easiest way to get rid of this illegal President was to restore the CJ and judges through an executive order...they would have resolved the laegality issue of the President through legal means...instead Zardari himself fed milk to this snake and made him strong again...just in a hope that he might gain some personal gains through NRO...now the snake is threatening to bite him...still I believe the best way to kill this unreliable snake is to follow Aitzaz's advice and restore the judges through an executive order without delaying any furthur time...it will be the best thing which can happen to the country under prevailing circumstances...

and then what? mushy gone, judges back, what will that change for people of Pakistan. when ganja and zardari have all pakistan free to loot? is that everyone waiting and dying for?

Mushy uncle is very upset hehe! So much for the PPP Musharraf honeymoon!

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/updates.asp?id=46106

ISLAMABAD: The Presidency has decided to end all backdoor contacts with Pakistan Peoples Party after taking notice of PPP co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari’s remarks about President Pervez Musharraf given to an Indian news agency.

President Musharraf will express his reservations over the situation to the Prime Minister Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani in a meeting either today or tomorrow. According to sources, the President has serious reservations over PPP proposed constitutional package and he would not like to be an unauthoritative president.

According to sources, the President has also called his constitutional advisors to discuss PPP’s constitutional package.

Also, great Zardari’s exact words were:

People want to throw Musharraf out

ISLAMABAD: President Pervez Musharraf is a “relic of the past” standing between the people of Pakistan and democracy and there is tremendous pressure on the new government to ensure his ouster from office, PPP Co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari has said.

Though Musharraf still has considerable powers, including the ability to dissolve parliament and dismiss the prime minister, the Pakistan People’s Party-led ruling coalition has to abide by the wishes of the people who want the military ruler to leave his post, Zardari said.

“The president is a relic of the past and he stands somewhere between us and democracy … He has taken off his uniform thanks to the dialogue by my (late) wife (and former premier Benazir Bhutto) and the world pressure,” Zardari told the Press Trust of India in an exclusive interview.

“But that does not make him (Musharraf) into a democrat or a civilian president. That doesn’t mean that his presidency is legal. I’ve got all these issues. I have tremendous amount of pressure from the people of Pakistan.”

The public, Zardari said, is telling the PPP that “we don’t want bread, we don’t want electricity, but we want him out”. Zardari’s comments came as a presidential spokesman asserted that Musharraf would not step down in the wake of reports that the government was finalising a package of constitutional amendments that was aimed at curbing the president’s sweeping powers. Sources close to the president also dismissed reports that he had offered to resign if the government validated actions taken by him during last year’s emergency rule.

Pointing out that he is a politician who is “amenable to my people”, Zardari said the PPP was working to “come up with a live-able formula” for ushering in full-fledged democracy because “after all that has happened, you cannot have an unelected and non-democratic president”.

“You just cannot,” he emphasised. “Now, no matter whether I like it or don’t like it, or whether he (Musharraf) likes it or anybody else doesn’t like it, I have no choice.” “For two months, I have been trying to do a whitewash or whatever you may call it to dialogue with the people of Pakistan and my party. That’s okay, let’s have national reconciliation, but people are not willing to accept my position on that.”

Asked if Musharraf’s days as president are numbered, Zardari replied: “I don’t know whether his days are numbered or my days are numbered or our government’s days are numbered. Who knows that?

“He still has 58(2b) and he has a tremendous amount of power behind him. If he moves, he moves,” he said, referring to the president’s powers under Article 58 (2b) of the Constitution that allows him to dissolve an elected parliament and thus dismiss the prime minister.

“So like my little daughter Bakhtawar would say, if you move, I move,” Zardari said, adding that the “bottom-line” is that the people of Pakistan want Musharraf to go. “And I am the servant of the people, not the master of the people,” he said.

Zardari said he had not seen the constitutional package that was being prepared by Law Minister Farooq Naek but indicated that it would curb the president’s sweeping powers and address “core issues” like the Article 58 (2b) and the need for an autonomous election commission.

“It’s a very complex issue after all. You’re talking about the future of Pakistan, the future of democracy and about the future of the Constitution. So lots of ‘ifs’ and ‘buts’ have to be counted,” he said.

“There’s no point in me working hard, giving my life, fighting terrorism, asking parliament and the Pakistani people to make sacrifices if you’re going to be sent home in two years,” he said, in an obvious reference to the president’s power to dissolve parliament.

Zardari also indicated that the issue of reinstating the judges sacked by Musharraf during last year’s emergency would be tackled through the constitutional package. Asked if the coalition is still strong, Zardari evaded a direct reply and said: “Any political relationship is always based on self-interest. Coalition politics is a very selfish phenomenon. Obviously, the popularity game and the game to win hearts is a two-way race and whoever wins, wins.

“So, therefore, everybody does, some less and some more, these (things so) that they can show a perspective of themselves that can get them more populist positions. That jostling between our party and Nawaz’s party goes on.”

Zardari said that while he considered Musharraf’s acts during the emergency as illegal, he would “not do another illegal act to (change) the last one”. “So instead of going for a police action to restore the judges as is being suggested, I’d rather take another path towards democracy and engage the present incumbent president (and say), ‘That’s fine, let’s talk shop and give me back all the rights that you hold against the parliament’; and that also by dialogue.

Mariana Baabar adds: Asif Ali Zardari said that Pakistan had sought India’s support for the UN-led probe into the assassination of Benazir Bhutto.

He said it would be a “monument in history” if the two countries came together on a resolution in the world body. PTI correspondent in Islamabad says Zardari made a request to visiting External Affairs Minister Pranab Mukherjee for India’s support to UN probe into the high-profile political murder.

“I’ve requested your foreign minister to help us get it (the request to the UN) through. So hopefully, in her death, (Bhutto) will bring us together on a resolution which would be a monument in history,” Zardari said.

“For the first time, India and Pakistan will be demanding a resolution together,” he said. Asked about Mukherjee’s response to his request, Zardari said, “I haven’t had official confirmation but he was sympathetic to my position.”

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=14864

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2008\05\23\story_23-5-2008_pg1_3

A powerless Musharraf to resign’ LAHORE: President Pervez Musharraf will resign rather than becoming a ‘toothless president’ like Chaudhry Fazal Elahi or Rafiq Tarar, Dawn News quoted Musharraf as telling PML-Q leaders on Thursday. Musharraf told Shujaat Hussain and Hamid Nasir Chattha in a meeting on Wednesday that the removal of Article 58 (2b) would pave way for military intervention. daily times monitor

It never rains but it pours! :hehe:

Thats what will happen and the cycle of looting will continue.

Pakistan will continue to go from strength to strength ...........

but they do the work ea :wink:

Lets hope for the better!