So Zardari is making anti-Musharraf statements every day, and alot of people think hes not taking any actions because his hands are tied by the NRO. He did some explaining finally, about the NRO:
**The PPP co-chairperson got emotionally charged while responding to a question about NRO. He said he sent five years in prison during Musharraf’s rule, Shaheed BB went into exile and his father hakim Zardari was also arrested. He said Musharraf tried to prove allegation against him and spent billions of rupees for the purpose but failed to convict him in a single case therefore NRO is meaningless for him. **
^^^ true so NS and mushy both tried to convict him. but couldnt, this man should be appreciated he didnt leave a single clue behind to make him convicted person. He should be given award for that for how he carried out his operations.
Well, he was jailed w/o being convicted of any crime. If I was his lawyer, or if he was in the US, he would've sued the govt for millions of $$$ for wrongful imprisonment.
make zardari president, substitute one fool for another. seems to me thats where his sights are set.
there will be a time when Musharraf isnt a political force, but cartoons like these will be. then your shilling for them/glossing over what they did will look as unseemly as your Musharraf for nobel prize thread
Ravage, easy there buddy… If you think I believe zardari is innocent, you are sadly mistaken. Also, unless you have problems comprehending, where did I say I want someone like Zardari to be a president?
Yes, I still stand by Musharraf’s actions uptil a certain time (which I based my nobel prize thread on, 6 years ago ), when he wasn’t senile. I still laud the effort he put into Pak-India friendship back then (the high point being his handshake with Vajpayee at the SAARC summit) when he wasn’t bending over and pardoning convicted terrorists to get some international sympathy. Of course, everything else went downhill after that too.
it wasnt entirely aimed at you. there are other people who gloss over the histories of our Musharraf replacements in the understandable desire to be rid of the dictator.
for instance shamraz khan saying that he would sue in the US for wrongful imprisonment. You think a politician with the ubiquitous corruption infamy of zardari would survive in the US anyway?
Bhai whatever I said was based on facts & facts are Zardari was never convicted of any crime & you can't jail people unless you find them guilty of something. That is the whole point of courts and due process of law...and the idea that govt must respect individual's rights and when a govt deprives a person of life, liberty, or property it must do it through proper process.
Bhai jee, eak mulk jahaaN per mukhalif nukta-e-nazr wala hamesha ghalat ho ka culture chalta hay, wahaaN per koun dekhta hay kay koy guilty hay kay nahi...
for instance shamraz khan saying that he would sue in the US for wrongful imprisonment. Y
Firstly, imprisonment and jail time are two diff things. You put someone in jail when you charge him with something, and then you imprison him when the charges are proven in the court of law.
Even in Pakistan I have seen plenty of cases where people kept in jail, or wrongfully accused have ended up filing counter suits. There was a person who was involved in a massive property fraud in Karachi and was doing jail time along with Zardari for less than an year. He got out as they failed to prove any charges against him and he got about 80 lakh rupees from the Govt after filing a lawsuit against them for being wrongfully accused.
sahab are you are making the judgement that the CJ whom we are trying to reinstate did not understand the proper process? I do not pretend to understand what rights the state has as far as holding corruption suspects that are (based on his wife's conduct) a flight risk, but clearly our venerable CJ felt the state was well within process bounds in detaining Zardari, when according to Zardari, CJ rejected his appeal.
whether or not there are flaws in our process does not make Zardari a Pakistani Mandela. Nor should any discussion of his deprivation of life, liberty and prosperity be in isolation with the illegitimate prosperity he is well known to have acquired, whispered and talked about not just in coffee tables but respected media outlets.
spock do you see zardari suing the state similarly? why chase after reconciliation if you can get more from the state?
The broader point is that BB did not negotiate the NRO for no reason. It is a political statement, but I cant see how anyone can buy it.
Firstly, imprisonment and jail time are two diff things. You put someone in jail when you charge him with something, and then you imprison him when the charges are proven in the court of law.
Zardari spent about 12 years in jail between 2 NS terms in govt and Mushrraf. Now, life imprisonment in Pakistan is 14 years. So, 12 years is pretty long time to keep someone in jail waiting for trial & when nothing was proved against him he was let go....and of course Mushrraf gave him gift of NRO...
spock do you see zardari suing the state similarly? why chase after reconciliation if you can get more from the state?.
Its not like Zardari will be convicted if the reconciliation/NRO goes away, its just that hes afraid of the charges coming back to haunt him. As far as conviction is concerned, it never happened in 15 or 20 years, and its very unlikely they'll find anything now to convict him, NRO or no NRO.
Zardari spent about 12 years in jail between 2 NS terms in govt and Mushrraf. Now, life imprisonment in Pakistan is 14 years. So, 12 years is pretty long time to keep someone in jail waiting for trial & when nothing was proved against him he was let go....and of course Mushrraf gave him gift of NRO...
Though he suffered under the NS regime, the jail time that Zardari served under Musharraf was also in those A class jails, where they have air conditioning, freedom to goto places etc... Big waste of money, if they couldn't convict him of anything in Pakistan, why did they waste so much money on keeping him jailed, if all they did in the end was let him go free after so many years.
Its not like Zardari will be convicted if the reconciliation/NRO goes away, its just that hes afraid of the charges coming back to haunt him. As far as conviction is concerned, it never happened in 15 or 20 years, and its very unlikely they'll find anything now to convict him, NRO or no NRO.
correct. i dont believe he will be convicted, we arent competant/honest enough for it.
agree to that, it never happened in Pakistan's history that a ruling leader was convicted and it will not happen. The charges are always dropped coz of lack of evidence.