Zardari gets 24-hr ultimatum to end deadlock.

ehtasab bhaijan. The EX CJ Iftikhar Chaudhary deemed the 1999 actions legal, as did the Parliament. What makes you think the BB's killing was not illegal, or for that matter any killing? I hope there is full UNSC inquiry and people that killed BB are brought to justice, because Pakistan has been robbed of potentially the greatest female leader in the world since Margarate Thatcher.

I guess aap ko thoree urdu parhney main mushkil hote hai. All I said k wo loog jo musharraf per tanqeed kertey theey (right or wrong) are now bilkul hee :expressionless:

And don't you guys (supporters of coup) think of the CJ as a thug, criminal who abused his power? Ask Saleem bhai ;)

ehtasab bhaijan. Please feel free to ask them yourself. EX CJ should be feted for deeming former President Great Pervez Musharaf's rule legal, and allowing him to cement his place as the greatest Pakistani leader since Quaid-e-Azam. :)

Mashallah. Good to see the man of peace, Great Zaradri, President of Pakistan, is continuing to put national interests first. :k:

News
**President has accepted two PML-N demands: Asfandyar **

ISLAMABAD: Awami National Party (ANP) chief Asfandyar Wali Khan claimed on Thursday that President Asif Ali Zardari has accepted two of the demands put forward by the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), “and modalities are being finalised to launch the reconciliation process” – but refused to give a timeframe.

Asfandyar told journalists outside Parliament House that there was a need to improve the system, and this could only be done if personal differences were put aside for the sake of national interest.

“We need to do something in the larger interest of the country and expedite our efforts to make the system better,” said the ANP chief, who is playing a major role in trying to settle differences between the government and the PML-N.

About governor’s rule in Punjab, Asfandyar said he had already condemned the move. He said people’s mandate should have been respected, and the party with the majority in the provincial assembly should be given a chance to form government in Punjab.

Re: Zardari gets 24-hr ultimatum to end deadlock.

Zardari is buckling! hahaha!

CJ is going to be restored :hula:

^ says who?

Which pml demands have been accepted then?

Congrats, CJ has been restored, loadshedding has also stopped and hunger is gone. Laaaang maaaaaaarch was a huge success - now you can go back to your sugar mills.

PM, COAS meet President
Updated at: 2000 PST, Friday, March 13, 2009
ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani and Chief of Army Staff General Ashfaq Parvez Kayani held separate meetings with President Asif Ali Zardari to discuss country’s overall political situation here on Friday.

According to sources, important decisions are expected to be made following these meetings.

The Prime Minister held an important meeting with the President and apprised him of prevailing political tension in view of the long march. Sources told that long march and subsequent sit-in were consulted in the meeting.

Later, Army chief Gen. Kayani also met with President Zardari to exchange views on tense political situation.

^^ fraud hee fraud..... soon he himself will be lifted,,,, either in a box or by Army...

Many active and old PPP stalwarts are demanding the restoration of CJ Iftikhar. Some of them have said that this is not a movement to overthrow Zardari but to reinstate the CJ and they will be part of the 'dharna'.

The Problem with Pakistani politicians

Is that they have blood feuds with other politicians

All they ever do when get elected is try to marginalize the other

What needs to happen is for all these bozos to retire and get out of politics

and a new generation of educated, urban politicians to step into the forefront

Its quite apparent that Pakistan is headed for a total disaster if the Army does not intervene every 10 years

^ stop blaming the pakistani politicians, this is the people vs the Govt…

By Tariq Butt

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Army Chief General Ashfaq Parvez Kayani has asked Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani to defuse the current political situation and the PM is about to undo “all the wrongs” in a grand historic move to make his place in history.

This is the gist of what PM Gilani told a group of senators during a private talk. He told them he wanted to “decisively deliver” in the present crisis even if he might have to lose his coveted post.

“Prime ministers come and go, but what they do remains in the annals of history. I want to do something worthwhile to break the prevailing logjam,” an outgoing senator quoted Gilani as telling him.

He was sitting beside the prime minister at a meeting with outgoing Senate Chairman Mohammadmian Soomro at Wednesday night’s dinner for the retiring senators at the Prime Minister’s House.

“What did Chief of the Army Staff (COAS) General Ashfaq Parvez Kayani tell you to do?” the outspoken senator asked the prime minister. Gilani replied that the COAS expressed his concern over the prevailing situation and wanted him to defuse it.

“You should play your constitutional and legal role in calming down the situation,” General Kayani was quoted as telling the prime minister. “What is the solution?” Gilani asked another senator. “Shah Sahib, you should restore the Feb 25 position by reinstating Shahbaz Sharif as the Chief Minister, undo the disqualification of the Sharif brothers by the Supreme Court and sack Governor Salmaan Taseer,” the senator replied.

“The exit of the governor would take some time to materialise while the other things can be done without any major delay,” Gilani was quoted as assuring the lawmaker. Another senator said that the prime minister made it clear that he was not a “product or beneficiary of the NRO” (National Reconciliation Ordinance).

The parliamentarian said that the prime minister was conscious of the fact that Washington, London and some other powerful capitals wanted the political situation in Pakistan to stabilise and their representatives had communicated their concern to him and other top leaders of the country.

One senator suggested to the prime minister to use his legal and constitutional powers to resolve the confrontation-ridden situation or nothing would be left for the politicians to salvage.

In a chance encounter with PML-N MNA Abid Sher Ali in a corridor of the National Assembly on Wednesday, the prime minister sounded as if he was going to accept all the demands of the lawyers and opposition.

“Abid Sher, what do you want? You certainly don’t want Abdul Hameed Dogar as the chief justice. You want Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry as the chief justice, you want the implementation of the Charter of Democracy, and you want lifting of governor’s rule. Will you be happy if all this is done?” the prime minister asked.

The MNA said that not only the PML-N, civil society and opposition parties would be satisfied but also the entire Pakistani nation would be happy if the steps were taken by the government.

“When contacted, an official spokesman told this correspondent that there was no doubt that the prime minister was making sincere and hectic efforts to do away with the crisis-like situation. Everybody has such a strong desire.”

He said that it was well known and the prime minister had also repeatedly publicly stated that he wanted political reconciliation. He added that this was what Gilani conveyed to the senators on Wednesday night as well.

PM ready to act even if it costs him his job

he would listen to no one i can assure you untill they come to show him the door.

You are absolutely correct. However, the events of past twelve months have shown that from now on an intervention may need to be done sooner to save Pakistan from a disaster, rather than after 10 years. :(

for once I agree with you... but your unprecedented Uncle Mush,, brought this mess (Zardari) to Pakistan..

Mush was fine and accepted..,, until he started the CJ, Lal masjid and then final nail in the coffin NRO thing..

LOL, how quickly we forget.

Lets let it go now.

I agree with the CJ part but not with Lal Masjid

The Army was totally correct in taking actions against these Lal Masjid Idiots